We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Great Escape”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Pagosa Springs, Colorado

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul E
Hereford, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The Great Escape”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My wife and I had never been to Colorado and we wanted to get away from the flat Panhandle of Texas, the Chalet outside of Pagosa Springs was our decision. We enjoyed our stay, our dog on the other hand couldn't get down a method to navigate the stairs. The Chalet had stunning views and some wildlife. We had a hummingbird that would show up at Dusk, and we had a doe that would show up in the morning. She would be outside eating from the large window in the kitchen area. Plenty of Chipmunks and squirrels to keep you entertained. If you are looking for a complete disconnect from the world this is the place. The drive is long to and from town, however you get to see some stunning views going up and down the mountain. If you like hiking there is plenty of hiking to be done fairly close to the Chalet. Peacefully quite at night once the dark has seized the area. All in all we enjoyed our stay, we recommend it for the ones wanting to get away from the world. I would recommend buying some groceries prior to arriving at the Chalet, a few markets in town. Pagosa springs is a beautiful city to visit also.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
Dear Paul,
Thanks for the review. Also glad you got to partake of the wildlife in the area as it is abundant. I am guessing you also got the cooler temperatures as we are higher than the town of Pagosa Springs. Come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billytatu...
Wynnewood
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice stay outside of Pagosa Springs. ”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We booked this rental about 2 months in advance and was a perfect stay for us and the kids. The cabin was perfect for 2 adults and 2 kids. The nights were nice and cool and the days were beautiful at the nearly 9000 ft altitude. A little bit of a drive to get back and forth to town even though it's only 12 miles it takes about 30 minutes. But all in all a great stay and would book it again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views! Cozy chalet!”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The chalet is cozy with great views. The bathroom is downstairs, which is a little bit inconvenient. However, the house is well equipped and furnished. The road to get to the chalet is about a 10 mile drive up to the national forest..great views! No wifi or television so get ready to disconnect and relax!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maddog37j...
Franklin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Great Escape”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My wife, 10 year old grandson, and I had a magical stay and trip. An excellent place for seclusion yet a good jumping off spot for sightseeing road trips. The drive from Pagosa Springs up to the cabin is quite spectacular in itself and views that reveal more each time. We saw far more wild animals to and from the cabin as well as sitting on the deck than the rest of daily road trips combined. Cozy yet adequately comfortable with all necessary conveniences. The night views from 9000 ft are quite awesome. We were graced with thunderstorms as well as clear starlit nights. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy
Liked least: Didn't book it long enough
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kryten41
Amarillo, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Isolated”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Very nice property. The chalet is in superb condition and is very clean.The kitchen is large and is well stocked with dishes, cookware, even tea and cocoa. Plenty of towels were provided. The chalet is situated in the woods, with a view of the valley and small lake below. The deck on the rear of the chalet is where we took most of our meals, as it is in the woods, has a covered area, as well as plenty of of open space, and provided a nice view of the valley below. There is a nice view of the mountain from the bedroom. The chalet stayed cool even in July due to the cool nights and the location in the woods.

The chalet is isolated--no cell phone reception, and no functioning telephone. The drive from town to the chalet takes approximately 1/2 hour over a winding gravel road with wonderful scenery. The manager provided excellent directions on how to find the property.

A few negatives. The shower is a bit small. The toilet is downstairs and the bedrooms are upstairs (though there is a futon to sleep on downstairs if this is a major problem for you). The kitchen door locks behind you when you leave, so it is easy to lock yourself out (keep your key in your pocket at all times). Noise from the houses in the valley below, and from the bulldozer working on another nearby property do carry up the hill to this property.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this chalet to someone looking for a place to spend some peaceful time with the family, not so much if you are planning on running back and forth to town several times per day. We especially enjoyed the hummingbirds (kudos to whoever put up the hummingbird feeder).

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2014
Thanks for writing a review. The chalet is a great way to get away from the world and really relax. Please come again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing