We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Econo Lodge(Pagosa Springs)(Great Value!)
USD 141
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Juan Motel(Pagosa Springs)
USD 134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillside Inn(Pagosa Springs)
USD 174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Pagosa Springs)
USD 179
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain Landing Suites & RV Park(Pagosa Springs)(Great Value!)
USD 195
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Inn(Pagosa Springs)(Great Value!)
USD 98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Keyah Grande(Pagosa Springs)
USD 381
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyndham Pagosa(Pagosa Springs)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
First Inn of Pagosa(Pagosa Springs)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (661)
Filter reviews
662 results
Traveller rating
434
147
48
16
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
434
147
48
16
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswolf creekhiking traillog cabincoffee machinewood stovehot springsbiscuits and gravygreat place to stayroad noisebreakfast roomfront porchhard boiled eggstwo queen bedsbreakfast was deliciousbagelsski areafire pit
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 662 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

On a long road trip to the Grand Canyon. One of our stops was supposed to be Glenwood Springs, unfortunately snow shut I70 down causing us to reroute to Pagosa Springs last minute. Our children were initially disappointed but then we booked a cabin here last minute (very easily done online, with no issues). It is just outside of town, nestled on the side of a mountain (or hill, but mountain to us flat landers). While it’s not the Hilton, we weren’t expecting or wanting that. The cabin was cozy, and spacious enough for our family of 4 (listed to sleep 6). While we didn’t get to use it due to a short stay, we all agreed the wood burning stove was a great option. They have an outside hot tub that looked very inviting. We highly recommend taking a moment to appreciate the night sky here as well-less light pollution. In the morning, the breakfast was amazing and the atmosphere in the room was even better with a warm cracking fire! Staff was friendly also. Overall, this was not in our plans but we sure were happy we were rerouted this way! Will be recommending to friends and family going out this way.
The only negative: we always check the reviews on TripAdvisor before booking anything. If we weren’t in a tight spot and needing last minute lodging, the responses from the staff/owners/whoever is responding to reviews made on TripAdvisor would have made us look elsewhere. It is completely understandable how frustrating it can be in the hospitality industry, but the responses are unprofessional and in our opinion a dangerous business choice.
We are happy we looked past this and gave the cabins a chance as they did not disappoint (again, we were expecting rustic), but as a potential customer they were intimidating and caused us to expect harsh and unfriendly staff.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank shellharman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for your kind review. It really makes our day when guests let us know how much they enjoyed their stay and that they appreciate the whole package we try to deliver at High Country Lodge.Keeping our guests happy and helping them make great memories here is always our goal.

In response to your concern over our replies to some reviews, after being in customer service, sales, and hospitality most of my life, I can say that we have seen a vast change in attitude in the last couple of years. Some people now feel they are entitled to get their way at all times, whether they act properly or not. When the smallest thing is not to their fancy, they immediately threaten retaliation in social media to get their way. We tell everyone at check in that if there is any concern of any kind, to immediately let us know so we can address it. Many of the review replies which disturbed you have been to people who never approached us or gave us a chance to help them, then went home and wrote a negative review. The other replies were to people who trashed our facility, broke furniture, let their pets destroy cabins, ruined hundreds of dollars worth of new linens, and more, then were angry when we expected them to pay for the damages.We have endured unbelievable attacks on social media from these individuals and we reserve the right to speak up and call them out on their unacceptable behavior.

That being said, the majority of our guests, such as you and your family are wonderful people we are happy to welcome back at any time. We look forward to hosting you and your family the next time you are in this beautiful corner of Colorado!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Year after year we return. Good location, clean rooms, hot tubs and more. Have never stayed in one of their cabins, but, I would recommend it for families. The breakfast put of has a good selection in a comfortable dining area.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jpapson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

We always appreciate our long time return guests, and its always a pleasure to see familiar faces. On one of your trips, you might want to try one of our rustic cabins-they're habit forming! Thanks for your kind review-we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

The cabin we rented was nice. Quiet and quaint which with a family is golden! A few years ago this place was awesome but I think there is a new owner and some things are not so great.
1. Cabin slept “6” it said. The two queen beds were nice, but the couch bed was terrible. They had an “air bed” as the mattress for the sofa sleeper that kept deflating and causing you to sleep in a dip.
2. Our towels were dingy and had holes in them. Noticeable holes so I am not sure how it went without notice from the staff.
3. Our shampoo/conditioner that comes with the cabin was half gone. I had to go get more at the store.
4. The breakfast isn’t terrible, it’s just normal microwaved liquid eggs, etc. The waffles are just as good as ever but unsure why there was a Texas Shape waffle maker in Colorado? Silly observation that I thought was funny.
5. In order to get towels for the hot tubs (they have three tubs) you have to take your ID, leave it at the desk, relax in the tubs, dry off while still wearing your wet suit, then go back in and get your ID and return the towels. My poor kids were freezing as it was winter time.

Overall it wasn’t terrible. The cabin was quiet and the location is out of town and closer to the ski area. Some things were just not what they used to be. Probably won’t return as condo rentals, etc are same price.

I’ve seen the owners comment back on negative reviews so I am sure I’ll get it too just thought maybe you’d wanna know where you might improve.

Best of luck!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Erica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

When our guests check in, we always tell them if they find anything not up to standard in their room/cabin, they are to bring it to our attention immediately so we can fix the issue right away. We want everyone to have a great stay here. However, you never once called or notified the front desk of any problem, and kept the "do not disturb" sign on your cabin every day you were here, so the housekeepers could not come in and replenish toiletries, or replace towels. You also did not notify us there was a problem with the sofa bed, so that we could repair it. We have to know there is a problem before we can fix it. We are here 24/7 for our guests and will always do our best to make everything the best it can be, and your stay as pleasant as possible.We do apologize for any discrepancies in housekeeping, as we had just replaced a housekeeper who was not up to our standards. Any problematic linens are normally removed from service immediately and housekeepers have been counseled to do this.

Since the owners are from Texas, and have other Texas decor in the lodge, they thought a Texas waffle plate would be fun, since about 70% of our guests are from Texas, and appreciate Texas hospitality.

Regarding the hot tub towels, we do require an id to be exchanged for the towels until they are returned. However most people find it more effective, and warmer to wear the towels (or their robes) back to their room, dry off, get dressed, and then return their towels and retrieve their id.

As for our comments, we find complaining from a distance after you failed to notify us of any problems while here, or to give us a chance to remedy anything, to be rather cowardly as well as unfair. It's unfortunate, as we would have been more than happy to help you.
Best of luck, and thanks for writing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

There wer nice people at the front desk. The breakfast was fresh and warm with lots of variety. Our cabin was perfect for the two of us. We had all the dishes we needed in the kitchen. There was a wood burning fire place and the floors were radiant heated. The cabin was quiet.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kspencer18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Our small king cabins are great for a getaway or a ski weekend-cozy and warm with everything you need to make your stay a memorable one. Thank you for your kind review and choosing High Country Lodge for your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed in one of the smaller log cabins and enjoyed the cabin itself!

Did not enjoy the “spring breakers” until 11pm each night outside in hot tubs and at the fire pit. You can make as much noise until 11pm without a worry of other guests!

Breakfast was really bland. No variety. Powdered eggs, luke warm meats, fruit, toast, make your own waffles and cold cereals. Ate at lodge 1 time and that was enough.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Dano L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

We're glad you enjoyed our log cabin. However, if you choose to stay with us on a super busy time like spring break, you have to know that even though we let people know that quiet time starts at 9pm, there are always a few who choose to break the rules. If you immediately let us know there is a problem, we will always go out and let the revelers know they need to quiet down for the sake of other people.We want everyone to have an equal chance for enjoyment of our facility and for a good nights sleep.
As for breakfast, we serve real freshly prepared scrambled eggs, with sausages, potatoes, pastries and muffins, hot belgian waffles, and also alternate with biscuits and gravy, and homemade quiche, made with real eggs. Cold cereals, fruit, oatmeal, toast, and bagels are an everyday staple.
Thank you for your review, I hope this answers your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews