We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
206
28
5
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
206
28
5
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews picnic basket each morning breakfast basket art room mike and sally blue room tile work hot tub different theme homemade muffins sunset room egg dishes grounds are beautiful morning glory room secret garden tour of the grounds hot breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed here based on reviews on trip advisor, but what a mistake. We have stayed in B&Bs around the world and this was really not a good experience. The breakfast was delived to your room, robbing you of the experience to meet other travellers and this, for us, is one of the great charms of B&Bs. The breakfast was essentially the same every day, an egg dish in a cassarole, with muffins, juice and coffee. We didn't bother to complain as I had seen their response to someone else who complained.
The bathroom was great for me because of my mobility impairment, but they took a shower chair away I was using and put in a bench, I couldn't get up and down on. They never said why they did this. The bed is a queen, and not very comfortable, the pillows were like flat rocks and I kept threatening my husband with a shopping trip to buy pillows. The sheets were rough and overall I don't know what the other reviewers were thinking when they writing their reviews, but don't stay here!

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mellonball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueSkiesInn, Owner at Blue Skies Inn Bed and Breakfast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

As innkeepers, we have seen guests arrive in many moods. When the folks from Philadelphia arrived, it was evident that their long flight to Colorado had been wearisome. We tried our best to make them comfortable as soon as possible after their arrival. We know that traveling with a walking disability is exhausting.

We are proud to have ADA capability at our inn. Our off-street parking is excellent for those with special needs. We set aside a special parking space for the folks from Pennsylvania and signed it for their exclusive use. The walk to their suite’s door was less than twenty feet with no steps to climb. Once inside their space, there was plenty of room for a wheelchair to maneuver, had they been traveling with one. In fact, a wheelchair can roll right into the shower that is five glorious feet by five glorious feet.

We advertise our quirky little inn for what we consider to be its most appealing points, one of those being very private suites. Our custom-designed suites include a very large bedroom, a sitting room for breakfast or lounging and a giant bathroom. Our suites are beautifully, decoratively painted - don’t expect beige rooms at Blue Skies Inn! Downstairs suites have private entrances and upstairs suites are up a short stairway - we respect your privacy, but if you _want_ innkeeper contact, come find us in the garden pulling weeds or at the other end of your room phone. We are ready to entertain you with stories or history of the area. We love to give tours of our themed suites if you want to see all of them.

We also prominently advertise our full breakfast that we deliver to each room every morning. I described breakfast delivery to the husband when he booked by phone, and he liked the concept. Our guests leave outrageously fun reviews of how much they love “breakfast in bed” in their jammies. We know from guest comments that the general public is not all that fond of showing up at a designated time in a B&B’s dining room to dine with strangers. We have lush gardens with waterfalls for outdoor breakfasting, or you can dine with your sweetie or family in your suite. Our guests choose us for our room service feasts which are complete with fresh fruit, a hot egg dish of varying recipes, muffins baked from scratch like your grandmother did (cappuccino and blueberry are this month’s guest favorites), juice, milk and freshly-brewed coffee. If the Philadelphia wife was surprised by her room service breakfast when she actually wanted to dine with other B&B guests, maybe we should chalk that up to less than perfect spousal communications since her husband knew about our huge breakfast baskets.

When we built our inn, we custom-designed several suites to be handicapped accessible. Every feature was planned to make those suites completely compliant with the ADA, and they are, 100%. We notice in online reviews that these folks from Philadephia have traveled to another Colorado city where their inn did not have grab bars and had a bed that was too high.... and that is just our point: no inn is perfect, as hard as the innkeeper has worked on it. One guest may love soft little pillows while another loves fluffy or firm pillows.

Our beds have custom-built Serta mattresses and our sheets are soft cotton. If a guest is uncomfortable, we rely on the guest to call us to ask for other pillows or whatever else will make the stay perfect. Just for fun, can you *imagine* how many pillows are at a B&B? At our inn, it’s hundreds and hundreds! Long, short, fat, thin - we have them all. Among all those pillows, we know that we had just the “Goldilocks perfect” pillows for the Philadelphians. But really, let us know if you have a hard/soft/too fluffy or whatever pillow in your suite that is not going to be your friend while you are here. Even with all of our many innkeeper talents, mind-reading is not one of them.

We have many ADA shower chairs and shower benches, and they are indeed interchangeable as far as ADA regulations go. We noticed that one of the Philadelphians was using a cane, but on the last day of their stay, we had another ADA guest arrive with a *much* more profound disability. We switched an ADA shower bench for an ADA shower chair. Our giant showers are completely ringed on all sides with grab bars, and our ADA consultant explained to us when we built the inn _that_ is the needed feature.

We notice that the guest is discouraging others to stay at Blue Skies Inn for reasons beyond our control. At most B&B's, and especially ours, if you can express what you need, we will stand on our pointy little innkeeper heads to make it happen for you. : )

And now to address what we think was *really* the Philadelphians' disappointment at our inn - despite the complaint that they have written, on the third day of their stay, they asked to add a fourth day. Maybe their stay wasn't that bad after all? Since our inn was fully booked for the following day, we could not extend their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

By far my best experience at a B&B EVER! Romantic, quiet and comfortable. We stayed in the Morning Glory room. LOVED the arbor over the bed with the lights on dimmer switch! Enjoyed the jet tub and I now can't imagine having to get up and get dressed for breakfast anymore - is there anything better than that beautiful basket discreetly delivered in the morning? We felt like the ONLY couple staying there - it was so quiet. Can't wait to go back for another stay!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueSkiesInn, Owner at Blue Skies Inn Bed and Breakfast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2014

Uh-huh, another lovely review about our full hot breakfast that we deliver to each suite in the morning. It is all "baked from scratch" with wholesome ingredients, and we can tailor it to special dietary needs. Allergic to gluten? Allergic to eggs? We have a breakfast for everyone. We are totally committed to delivering an amazing breakfast every morning. Eat it while still in your jammies, go back fo bed to snooze a while longer, enjoy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed as a family of 4 in the Indian Paint II room. The grounds were beautiful, the breakfast was fantastic, and the location was convenient and quiet. My children said the trundle beds were a little lumpy but they loved having separate beds. The king slept great. The shower was delightful. The microwave, coffee pot, and fridge were convenient. The free dvds to borrow were fantastic as the children were often worn out by mid afternoon with all the nearby hiking and the altitude change. I would highly recommend this suite for families.

Room tip: Has a Hot tub, no swimming pool. Indian Paint II great for families
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayahdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueSkiesInn, Owner at Blue Skies Inn Bed and Breakfast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Just a note to say that we have a lovely memory of your family stay with us. Your children were very *interesting* as well as being very *interested* in their daily activities. As is tradition in the mountains, they left the walking sticks that they had fashioned under our ancient apple tree for the next hiker to need one. What a fun reminder for us of meeting you! It was excellent to visit with the four of you because you chose many educational activities which we will share with other families who visit us. We think that our area is a great home schooler opportunity. Looking forward to your next visit to Colorado!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

My wife, son and daughter got to spend only one night at this outstanding B&B. The owners were totally accommodating as well was the rooms and amenities on their property. We loved out two rooms which were clean and decorated very nicely -- the tile work in both bathrooms was amazing. We loved being close to downtown Manitou which has great shops and restaurants and spring water flowing from decorative fountains for all to enjoy. The owners were also great at telling us where to go to enjoy ourselves, such as the horseback ride they suggested to Garden of the Gods. They were also a phone call away to assist with directions to the property and to the Academy where we went horseback riding. Breakfast was excellent with a crust-less quiche, muffins, fresh cut fruit, coffee and all the rest. We are vegetarians and have not had a better breakfast. Agree with Steve-BEADG, read the history of the proprietors and the property when there. We will definitely go back and stay at Blue Skies if ever in Manitou Springs. Thanks Mike and Sally -- your are wonderful hosts!

Room tip: All rooms seemed to be excellent given location of the B&B
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueSkiesInn, Owner at Blue Skies Inn Bed and Breakfast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

It makes innkeepers happy to have happy guests! We have room books in which guests write us fun-to-read stories about their stays, and online reviews are just as much fun, too. We are pleased that you liked our breakfasts since we have designed them to appeal to almost everyone. We find that the biggest question about breakfast is whether there will be meat or not, so we have learned not to include it. We can meet other dietary requests as well - just ask Sally, the innkeeper cook.

Years ago, we started bragging about being "The Muffin Queen of Manitou" because our baked-from-scratch muffins are the *Star* at breakfast time. A guest suggested that Royal Title for us. Repeat guests request muffins by their favorite flavor - fresh blueberry, pineapple/coconut, apricot/orange, applesauece spice, pumpkin, date and our irresistible Magma Cappucino Muffins. Why "magma?"... because they are served hot and the chocolate chips' yummy goodness is still melty, like magma in a volcano.

Please visit again: we've baked over half a million muffins in 16 years, and we'd like to reach a million!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

My family and I (husband, myself, children ages 12 & 9) just returned from a lovely 7-night stay at this B&B. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! The room was immaculate and beautifully decorated, the grounds are enchanting, the hot tub is relaxing, and the breakfasts are a vegetarian feast (eggs, muffins, fresh fruit, coffee, milk, cereals, juice)!

Date of stay: July 2012
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank iceblink_322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueSkiesInn, Owner at Blue Skies Inn Bed and Breakfast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2014

We still remember this little family and their interesting, home-schooled children. Each day of their trip had a theme or goal, and the children absorbed every detail of the places that they visited. In true western tradition, the children fashioned walking sticks for hiking trips. Just as early pioneers did upon their departure at the end of their stay, they left their hand-fashioned walking sticks here for others to use. The walking sticks leaned against the apple tree where they had been left until other guests took them to use. It was very sweet and was a lovely teaching moment about how people took care of each other in the Old West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews