We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Mountain Cabin!”
other travellers have booked this property
Both cabins
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Both cabins
South side of main cabin with bunkhouse in left background South side of Cabin 2012
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
3 reviews
Both cabins
South side of main cabin with bunkhouse in left background
South side of Cabin 2012
South side of Cabin 2015
Winter 2015
Winter 2015
North side of Cabin
Entry 2015
Winter 2016
Main cabin living room
Main cabin
Main cabin living room
Main cabin living room looking into dining area
Main cabin dining
Cabin kitchen & entry
Cabin kitchen & entry
Cabin master bedroom with new queen bed
Cabin bathroom
Cabin 2nd bedroom
West side of bunkhouse
West side of bunkhouse - Autumn 2015
Winter 2015
East entry to bunkhouse
Bunkhouse - new double mattress with antique headboard
Bunkhouse - twin sized bunkbeds
Bunkhouse kitchette
The property with cabins in background
buck deer reunion just feet away from bunkhouse
wild turkeys nearby
elk grazing in owners nearby pasture
natural landscape
1st sign of spring
view of Star Peak from owners back yard
enjoying the Rampart Hills
overlooking the Mancos Valley from Helmet Peak
Remnants of  metal mill in La Plata Canyon
Winter scene from owners back yard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Mancos, Colorado

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Duluthy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Mountain Cabin!”
Reviewed 13 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

This was a well maintained and very clean cabin. The deck is a great place for watching birds and deer and is very peaceful. The cabin is centrally located between many activities: Mesa Verde, multiple mountain bike trail heads, wonderful restaurants in each direction and horseback riding just down the road.
Not to mention that the owner, Rollin, was a wonderful host. We will definitely be back and highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RundleRid...
The Woodlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing Oasis in the Mountains”
Reviewed 10 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We recently had the pleasure of spending 30 days at the lovely La Plata Mountain Cabin. Our retreat truly was one of the most enjoyable and relaxing vacations we have ever had. Attributes of La Plata include:
- The cabin is beautifully crafted, with high ceilings, natural light, and charming fixtures. You can tell it was built and is maintained with pride. It was also spotlessly clean.
- The location is perfect – private hideaway in the mountains but with 10 minute access to town and centrally located between Cortez and Durango.
- Every attention has been paid to make sure everything in the cabin is comfortable and well-appointed. There is the perfect place for everything and everything in its place. We felt AT HOME but better from Day 1 to Day 30. We could just relax and enjoy.
- Beds were very comfortable, shower was hot and water plentiful, and all appliances worked great.
- Our hosts, Rollin and Robin, were delightful and very informative.
- The porch was our very favorite place to hang out – enjoying the daily visits by the deer, including two sets of twin fawns. Some days this is all we did and it was enough.
- At night the stars were breathtaking.
We had another couple join us for several nights and the cabin very easily accommodated four people. We each had space but could hang out together; talking, cooking, or playing cards. It was much better vibe than having separate hotel rooms or cabins on a cruise ship – we spent time and made memories.
Our daughter also visited with our three grandgirls during our stay and we opted to also rent the bunkhouse for those nights. The grandgirls were overjoyed – they were so excited to be staying in their own “tiny house” in Colorado. The bunkhouse is truly a marvel in efficiency; functional and also very comfortable. It is also beautiful, with cool touches like the kitchen window created out of a pick-up truck windshield.
THERE IS SO MUCH TO DO within easy driving distance of the cabins. There is a wonderful horse-riding stable just down the road and the National Forest is only 5 minutes away. In Durango we went river rafting, enjoyed Purgatory Resort, hiked some of the Colorado trail and took the amazing train to Silverton. Mesa Verde is less than 20 minutes away. Pagosa Springs has hot springs, waterfalls and river trails. There was fly fishing, kayaking, and mountain biking just short drives away. Arches National Park was an easy day trip along with the San Juan Skyway, Black Canyon of the Gunnison, and Monument Valley.
Truly, we cannot recommend the La Plata Mountain Cabin enough – it was so hard to leave this magical place. We are already planning a return trip in the winter and will not even consider staying anywhere else. Thank you, Rollin and Robin, for creating such a peaceful and wonderful place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the fact it truly is a cabin
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2016
Thank you for the kind words. You were great guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redztiki6...
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Living in fast paced houston texas this was the perfect getaway!
Cabin was very nice and clean. Very we'll equipped . Very secluded and peaceful.
I recommend it . It was worth the long drive.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2016
Thanks for the kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing