We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Mexican Food at a Great Price”

La Mariposa Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 26 Restaurants in Lyons
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Reviewed 14 June 2016

Dinner for two on a weekday. Typical Mexican family restaurant. Fajitas were flavorful with tender meat and freshly-made garnishes. Chimichanga was crunchy on the outside and accompanied by the standard rice-&-beans. Drinks are large and reasonably priced. Ambience was pleasant and clean. Food was totally satisfactory for two tourists at the end of a long day of driving.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2016

The decor is the highlight of this restaurant. The staff is friendly, but they have to serve very boring food smothered in tasteless sauce. My food was cold in the middle which shouts " microwave cooking" to me. If you find yourself in Lyons, look around. There are much better choices near by.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank breathablemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

We were the only people in the restaurant when we got there. Our waitress was fine but not attentive; were had to ask another waitresses to help us a couple of times. They missed out on me ordering a second margarita because they just didn't come over enough and ask.

Don't try the low carb margarita; it was watery and bland.

Chips were good salsa not so much. Shrimp fajitas were good; I thought portion size and amount of shrimp was perfect.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank mimimsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2016

The atmosphere is nice inside. The food is usually overpriced for the quality. The staff is friendly and the service is average to slow. I go here because it is the only Mexican restaurant in Lyons.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank sheflew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016

Our server left the restaurant for about a half an hour, and no-one covered for her, so we were abandoned. The hostess didn't appear to care at all. The food was average at best.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Fisherman01Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to La Mariposa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing