We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
8
5
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
5
1
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed two nights this weekend with our nieces and nephew. It was easy to find and very nice and shaded. The camp host was very friendly and accommodating. There were multiple sites that were first come, first serve- we arrived early Friday afternoon and there were three left. We'll definitely come back!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank Becky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2015

This summer our family (total of six people) stayed a week at Olive Ridge Campground during July. This is our families favorite Colorado campground and we visit here everytime we are in the area. Reservation system worked perfect and the site was well cleaned when we arrived. We had a wonderful experience and our entire family looks forward to returning. The close proximity to many of Rocky Mountain National Park trails around Wild Basin, makes this an ideal home base. The hosts were very friendly and had the safety of the campers in mind as they would go around the campground and visit every evening to remind everyone to take precautions to "Bear Proof" their site for the evening. Most of the sites are large and have enough space between them that you are not bothered by noise from the campers next to you. The only draw back to the campground is there is a problem with the water system and you have to bring any and all water that you will be using for cooking, bathing, putting out fires, etc. Hopefully the National Forest will be able to correct this problem in the near future.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank smokeater50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2015

The campground is in a beautiful location and the camp sites are large, especially those that are on the outer portion of the loop roads. This year's campground hosts are not good at all. When arriving for an August reservation that we had made in March, there was a sign on our site that it was reserved the weekend after our reservation, but not for ours. We stopped by the camp host's RV, but they were not there. So, after hiking the rest of the afternoon, we returned and later the host stopped by and rudely asked if we had our fee envelope. After telling him we had a reservation, he said 'well if you leave for more than 24 hours, your reservation is canceled. Where is your fee envelope?' Let's see, we arrived at 3pm and returned at 630pm. After showing him our printed reservation (good thing we brought that), he said he'd update the reservation sign. That didn't happen til the next day. Then the following evening, the hosts stopped by again and told us 'you need to put that cooler in your car'. Well, it was 7pm and we were still using the cooler (and were going to put it in our car, just as we had done the previous night- I am born and raised in Colorado and have camped for many years, I know about not inviting bears into a campsite by leaving food out or in a tent). Of course, there seemed to be no issue with the numerous other campers who left cooking utensils, coolers and other stuff out all night.

In addition, we were told back in June that we would receive a partial refund due to water not being available at the campground for the summer. Still haven't received that.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
3  Thank coloradocamper15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015 via mobile

This is the 3rd year my husband and I have chosen to come and stay in this spacious, luscious green wooded campground. You're really couldn't ask for more! It is a beautiful hidden gem, with campsites that are shaded, large, clean, and you can be as secluded as you want to.

It's location is ideal, A few miles from Rocky Mountain National Park, and A few miles from Rocky Mountain national Park, and only 15 miles away from as Estes Park. There are many hiking trails that begin right in the campground, or others that are not far away.

Their hosts Jeanne and Rich are most gracious and they do a terrific job maintaining the area clean! This is my number one choice for camping! Do not hesitate to make a reservation here. Whether you have a tent or an RV you will not be disappointed!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank Patagonia2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015

We camp as a family every summer, and this was, so far, the most beautiful location we have been to. As another reviewer noted, you can hear the traffic from the nearby highway which is a bit of a downside. However, you can neither see, nor smell the traffic, so this is easy to over look. It is bear country, and the first night we could hear a bear bumping into things, BUT they do provide bear boxes, and bear proof dumpsters, which is reassuring if you camp with kiddos. (although, not all sites have their own box, you may have to share) Two major downsides: there is no hand sanitizer in the vault toilets, so be sure to bring plenty with you. Also dogs are allowed on site, but the dog owners let their animals go wherever, and didn't clean up after them. I didn't much enjoy removing dog poo from the campsite so my children could run around and be kids. The camp managers are selected every season from a list of applicants, and the women who were in charge were very friendly, happy to be there, and helpful with all of our questions.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KSep86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews