We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fell in love with Sugar Loafin'”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leadville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sugar Loafin' Campground
Carmel, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fell in love with Sugar Loafin'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

We first stayed at Sugar Loafin’ Campground the summer of 1974 and fell in love with its natural high country setting, close to hiking, fishing ( river & lake), ATV & bike rentals and beautiful views of Mt. Elbert and Mt. Massive both of which are over fourteen thousand feet. Family owned and operated since the 1960’s they are really concerned about your camping experience and want you back. They have a wonderful, helpful and knowledgeable staff to help you with your stay. Every evening there is an ice cream social for everyone to get together and talk about what they did that day and to make plans for tomorrow. We met many nice people interested in the outdoors.

We have a 33’ motorhome and there was a variety of sites for us to choose from with water, electric ( 20A, 30A, 50A), sewer & dump station. The restrooms, showers and laundry faciltity were all neat and clean. We stayed from “Boom Days” through the “Leadville 100 mile Mountain Bike race” and “Leadville 100 mile Mountain Run” and are planning on returning again this year.

We have no problems recommending Sugar Loafin’ to anyone interested in being close to nature in the high country.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eazmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    19
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
26
11
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

I realized this week that I've been staying at Sugar Loafin at least once each summer for the past fourteen years. I may have missed a summer or two along the way, but I've been staying there since at least 1996 when I tried my first shot at the Leadville 100 mountain bike race.

This campground is just that, my friends. A campground. NOT an RV resort like one you might find at Breckenridge. Don't expect a lot of concrete and asphalt. This place is a basic high mountain property. They have snow for 9 months of the year and it's very cold, thus hard to do a lot of maintenance before opening for the season. The spots are all roomy enough and when the rain is good the vegetation stays green and lush. Hookups are all in place and the staff is friendly and willing to help. Give this place a shot if you're wanting some high mountain kickback time.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TommyC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2008

This campground is fantastic! Exceptionally clean--and the staff goes out of their way to make your stay memorable. Only one mile from Turquoise Lake, and a quick drive to Leadville. Terrific hiking, shopping, fishing and sightseeing nearby. The campground has a nightly Ice Cream Social--with the best ice cream around! Lots of fun to say "hello" to fellow campers. We've already booked another stay at Sugar Loafin!

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank TurquioseLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2007

Okay, we traveled there in a motorhome and the the sites were very close together which is not something we are used to, but, the staff was very very nice, the facilities and the grounds were very clean. The only other RV site with full hook ups is in the town of Leadville and I would not recommend that all. We did take a ride to the lake and there are a number of campgrounds there that are very very nice but there are no hook ups. For us, that would ahve been fine but we traveled with another couple who had a motorhome and they are in their 60's (we are in our early 40's) and they wanted to stay only at places with full hook ups. We prefer a little more space and a more "camping" expereince even though we travel now in a motorhome with all the ammenities. So, I would recommend this campground as long as you are aware that you will be close to neighbors.

  • Liked — friendly people
  • Disliked — Sites close together
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank km7travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUEBLO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2005

We spent 8 enjoyable days at Sugar Loafin. The campground has been there since 1965 and is smaller than some, but it accomodated our 48 foot trailer with no problems, and parking for our truck, Jeep and motorcycle.. The campground is still owned by the same family, and the 82 year old woman who founded it entertained us with stories and pictures after one of the daily ice cream socials. Turqouise Lake is just up the road with fishing and hiking very convenient. We are planning on spending a week there again next year.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truxellm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leadville
6.0 km away
Delaware Hotel
Delaware Hotel
#1 of 8 in Leadville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
4.3 km away
Super 8 Leadville CO
Super 8 Leadville CO
#4 of 8 in Leadville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
6.8 km away
Columbine Inn & Suites
Columbine Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in Leadville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.7 km away
Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins
15.8 km away
The Twin Lakes Inn
The Twin Lakes Inn
#1 of 2 in Twin Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Loafin' Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Loafin' Campground

Property: Sugar Loafin' Campground
Address: 303 Highway 300, Leadville, CO 80461-9750
Region: United States > Colorado > Leadville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Leadville
Price range (per night): $6 - $7
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing