We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A nice place for a getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
GPS location . Stóra Knarrarnes. 64°00´28N  22°19‘54W
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
GPS location . Stóra Knarrarnes. 64°00´28N  22°19‘54W
The Cottage View from the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
GPS location . Stóra Knarrarnes. 64°00´28N  22°19‘54W
The Cottage
View from the house
View from the house
Private Beach - View from the house
Master bedroom - King Size bed
Bedroom - Queen Size bed
Bedroom upstairs
Bedroom upstairs - extra bed
Living room
Family room - wireless Internet
Kitchen - Fully equipped
Dining room
Bathroom with shower
View from bedroom
Private road to the house - free parking
Neighborhood
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Vogar, Reykjanes Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
butterfly...
Ocoee, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice place for a getaway”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I picked this house on a sparsely populated stretch of coastline between the airport and the capital because I was hoping for a better chance to see the aurora borealis. On the two nights out of seven when the sky was clear for us, we were able to observe the phenomenon--exciting! The house is not in perfect darkness at night because there is a street light nearby, and you can see the lights of Keflavik to the south, but it is dark enough.
There was plenty of room for our party of four, with two separate bedrooms--each with a double bed--downstairs, and four single beds upstairs in the loft. As others have noted, the stairs to the loft are unusually steep, but they weren't too difficult for our 61-year-old family member to climb. My bed downstairs was very comfortable.
The owner, Elias, was very helpful. He told us about a nice indoor pool not too far away. He also came to the house to help us figure out how to lock and unlock the front door (it fit very snugly in the door jamb) and to show us which buttons to push on the remote to turn on the t.v. (not obvious to me).
From the kitchen window, you can look across the lava field and see steam issuing from a vent in the ground not too many meters away. Very different from the views in our home state of Florida!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath S
Harthill, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cozy, well located and well equipped”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Close to Keflavlik Airport and Reyjavik this cottage couldn't be better located, it's close enough to the airport and the main tourist attractions to be a convenient property. Far enough away from the airport and the town to be a great location for seeing the Northern Lights as there is no light pollution. It is only a few steps to the beach and has a deck with a table should you wish to sit outside without being disturbed by other people.
The cottage is well equipped with every home comfort you might want or need. The kitchen is small but as there is a separate dining room it's perfectly adequate for cooking a meal for everybody in the house plus guests. It's warm and comfortable and I would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NR63
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with very helpful owner”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a great time at the house. It was very comfortable and had plenty of space for my husband and me and our 4 children aged 17,15,14 and 12. It was a lovely location right on the shore and near a field of Icelandic Horses. It was near the airport and the Blue Lagoon and the owner was very welcoming and helpful. I would definitely recommend it.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pgwinegar
Palm Bay, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“THE BEST! Cute, Overlooking Water, and Birdwatcher's Delight!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We can't say enough about how exceptional a host Elias is (owner), and how much character and charm his wonderful home has. It is close to the airport and Blue Lagoon, and Reykjavik is only a short drive away. In June this home is an unbelievable delight for birdwatchers. It sits in the middle of a bird nesting area, so there is constant activity (especially arctic terns). It is an utterly peaceful location. One of our favorite vacation days of the entire trip was touring the surrounding area of the Reykjanes Peninsula. We saw lighthouses, birds, horses, historic churches, and scenic coastlines. We'll remember it always, and look forward to a return visit sometime.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali0417
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal Base House for exploring Iceland”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Arrived at the house and we were met by Elias who was extremely welcoming and helpful. The house is brilliant - close to Keflavik airport - set on a beautiful property with amazing views. Very quiet location yet not to far to shops, restaurants etc. There were four of us staying in the house and we had plenty of space. The views out the windows are lovely. Even if you just wanted a few days relaxing in the house you could sit there and look out the window and feel chilled out. The house was lovely and warm, great having internet and good assortment of channels on the TV. Very comfortable place to stay and we had a fantastic time in Iceland. Highly recommended!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet, views and easy access
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing