We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Ghost Tour

This is a really interesting place to visit but my favourite thing is the ghost tours run by APPI... read more

Reviewed 19 August 2021
Ezzmay1972
,
Sydney, Australia
Great place for a day of family enjoyment.

Not wishing to add to all the other comments or feedback with positive attribution, other than to... read more

Reviewed 15 June 2021
Greg R
Read all 110 reviews
  
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
75
30
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
75
30
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day trip ghost tour lolly shop beautiful grounds great value tractor ride cheap entry plenty of open space damper bbq picnic attractions granddaughter hawkesbury camp hunts inn
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2019 via mobile

2 hours is sufficient for the kids to see and enjoy little train and tractor ride was great small fee ... bigger train was out of use on this Sunday . Heaps of photo opportunities if u like that sort of thing ! Volunteers were really friendly and we will be back a must visit and has a cute lily shop as well

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank Feirce8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleyG281, Public Relations Manager at The Australiana Pioneer Village, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2019

Thankyou so much for your kind words - all our Volunteers are very passionate about The Village and it obviously shows - thankyou and we hope to see you again at The Village . . .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2019

Travel back 150 years to experience what it was like for the early settlers. A complete authentic village with so much to see and to get involved with.
Especially good for children who can get their Convict Identification Cards....but no Freedom Certificates!
And most cottages and shops are staffed by volunteers dressed up in authentic clothes.
Don't miss the school master keeping the children in discipline with his cane....whilst telling how it was for young people in the past
Choice of food ranging from traditional damper to modern burgers and steak sandwiches....or bring a picnic under the trees

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank TimH3854
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleyG281, Public Relations Manager at The Australiana Pioneer Village, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2019

HI Tim - thankyou so much for taking the time to write about your day at The Village - we are so glad you enjoyed your day and found there was so much to see and do . . .

The kids always enjoy - and are quite alarmed to hear about school back in the 1800s - the cane always brings some gasps from them - and memories from some of our older visitors !!!

I will pass on your review to our wonderful Volunteers and hope we see you again at The Village - there's always something happening here . . .

Many thanks,
Lesley George
Publicity Officer for The Australiana Pioneer Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2019 via mobile

Hadn’t been to this place in over 20 years but was certainly not disappointed when we took our grand daughter there today.
This place is run by volunteers who are so amazing. They are so helpful and so good with the kids.
The buildings are all very old and bought to this site before that were lost in history. Rose Cottage dates back to the early 1800s. It is great history lesson for the kids.
That volunteers run lots of activities for the kids.
A must do very close to Sydney.
Loved it.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank MarkG1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleyG281, Public Relations Manager at The Australiana Pioneer Village, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2019

Thankyou very much Mark - the children always find it fascinating to see how life was lived in the past - we are very glad you enjoyed your day with us at The Village - please come again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2019

We had a wonderful day at the Australiana Pioneer Villlage today. The volunteers that run the place were friendly, knowledgable and very generous with their time. We had 4 children with us, and they had a fab time, grinding flour, churning butter, writing with old-fashioned pens, riding on the hay -wagon, sitting in the stocks, getting convict ID cards. We had a delicious lunch at Oxboro Inn was delicious! Super cottages, shops, and school with a very in formative ‘Headmaster’. Well wort visiting!!

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank siluki
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleyG281, Public Relations Manager at The Australiana Pioneer Village, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2019

Hi Siluki - what a great review - thankyou for taking the time to write it, I will pass it on to our amazing Volunteers.

Your day sounds terrific - and you did so much which is fantastic - there's plenty to do to fill in an interesting ( and educational ) day at The Village - children love it for sure and spend the time at The Village learning so much about history without even realising it - our School's Headmaster gives a great insight into school life in the 1800's for sure and it's always funny to see the look on the lid's faces when they see the cane !!!!!

Many thanks for your review,
Lesley George
Publicity Officer for The Australiana Pioneer Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2019

We’ve visited the pioneer village a few times over the last couple of years with our young children.
It’s a great day out and quite close to home. The entry is quite cheap and to be honest I think it’s too cheap. It’s run by volunteers who have a genuine love for the village.
We’ve eaten at the small restaurant each time and have never been disappointed with the quality and quantity of the food.
Overall a great family day out.

Date of experience: May 2018
2  Thank ladybeetles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleyG281, Public Relations Manager at The Australiana Pioneer Village, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2019

Thankyou Ladybeetles for your special words - it is a magical place isn't it . . . and yes, our Volunteers are amazing and we love what we do . . . and it shows for sure !

We keep the entry cost down so more people can come and visit - The Village is NSW Heritage Listed and we want to keep our local history alive for all to come and see and enjoy - and learn about !

Thankyou again - we hope to see you again soon - there's always something happening at The Village . . .
Lesley George
Publicity Officer for The Australiana Pioneer Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews