We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Ghost Tour

This is a really interesting place to visit but my favourite thing is the ghost tours run by APPI... read more

Reviewed 19 August 2021
Ezzmay1972
,
Sydney, Australia
Great place for a day of family enjoyment.

Not wishing to add to all the other comments or feedback with positive attribution, other than to... read more

Reviewed 15 June 2021
Greg R
Read all 109 reviews
  
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
74
30
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
74
30
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day trip ghost tour lolly shop beautiful grounds great value tractor ride cheap entry plenty of open space damper bbq picnic attractions granddaughter hawkesbury camp hunts inn
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2018

Come and see the “Past” run by volunteers who saved it from being permanently closed down... Local and hand made goods. Heaps of activities, shearing, blacksmith, etc etc. Great food - reasonable prices and only $5 entry per person.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Pakre59
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleyG281, Public Relations Manager at The Australiana Pioneer Village, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2018

It's always good to hear that the public is so supportive of all the Volunteers at The Village - thankyou very much for sharing your kind words with us . . .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2018

My great nieces just loved it here, they ran around till they tired us out, they were very inquisitive as to how things used to work in the olden days. The adults enjoyed it too, the food we had was really nice, and we enjoyed a couple of demonstrations

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Seaside13786406411
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleyG281, Public Relations Manager at The Australiana Pioneer Village, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2018

It's always great to hear that everyone has enjoyed their visit with us at The Village so thankyou for taking the time to write your review - it's also amazing at how much the children learn while having such fun when they visit us , , ,

Some of the questions we have had from children when going through the houses include . . .

" where is the bathroom ? "
" how could they plug their computer in ? "
" where are all their bedrooms ? "

The Village truly lets them see what life was like in houses that people actually lived in - no bathrooms, no electricity and certainly not a bedroom for each child with a TV in it . . . they are learning from the minute they come through our front gate about life in a totally different era - and having fun doing it !!!

Thankyou again - and please come again . . .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2018

Australiana Pioneer Village is one of the very few local tourist attractions that is still around from when I was a child, only due to the fabulous volunteers who run it. I had forgotten how much I enjoyed being here, so when I saw there was a twilight market held there last friday evening I decided to visit. Apparently so did everybody else judging by the traffic lol, but we didn't wait too long and parked close to the buildings for a $3 donation. There were some great stalls and the village shops were as amazing as ever. I definitely will be back very soon, bringing the rest of the family. There are plenty of places to picnic around the grounds or have lunch in one of the lovely cottages onsite. Thank you to the fabulous volunteers who keep this place running.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank Lyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleyG281, Public Relations Manager at The Australiana Pioneer Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2018

Thankyou so much for sharing your delight with us Lyn W - your kind words are much appreciated by all our fabulous Volunteers who keep The Village open and running for the public on Sundays and the school children who come to our School Education Program on Tuesdays and Wednesdays . . .

As for that traffic hold up - The Village has held our Twilight Market on the 1st Friday in December for many years but this year Council changed it's event from a Thursday to a Friday and the clash meant local traffic was certainly much heavier than usual sadly . . . even Mrs Claus got held up in the traffic !!!

However all was well and our night was a HUGE success thanks once again to all the Volunteers and everyone who supported the night - The Village is such a special place - we look forward to you visiting us again . . .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2018 via mobile

Read about this place recently, decided to take the camera & spend a few hours. What a wonderful little spot ! Am always fascinated by the history of places, loved chatting with the volunteers working there, knowledgeable & very friendly; had morning tea in the “Damper Camp” & can recommend the warm apple slice & coffee, although the whole menu on the board sounded “yum!” Stuff for the kids to do, plenty of open space to run about, animals, bbq/picnic areas... got the lot ! Cost me $5 to enter & Park the car... I learnt some more history, picked a few quirky little gifts for Xmas & snapped a few lovely pics to boot... money well spent !!

Date of experience: December 2018
3  Thank Frapps2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleyG281, Public Relations Manager at The Australiana Pioneer Village, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2018

Thankyou so much for your review - we're so glad you enjoyed your day with us at The Village.

All our very special Volunteers are enthusiastic and just love our Village - it's such a magical place and like no other as our buildings have actually been lived in by local people many years ago - a visit to The Village gives our visitors a truly authentic Colonial Experience . . .

With so much space to run about in for the kids and with lots to see and do, everyone learns a little bit more about our Colonial History without even realising they are having a History Lesson !

Thankyou once again - we are so glad you enjoyed your day with us and hope to see you back again soon . . .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2018 via mobile

We love the Pioneer Village. It is becoming very popoluar for weddings and is busy every sunday with families picnicingon the grounds. We especially love the TWILIGHT MARKETS in December before Chritsmas and the Australia Day Festivities.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank caseyvansoest
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews