We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Interesting Area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knights Inn Harbour Resort Lagoon City Brechin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brechin
Reviewed 15 October 2017

As usual my rating is based on what we paid which was next to nothing as we got an unbelievable deal on Groupon. We had never heard of Lagoon City but saw this ad and as we were coming up anyway for a concert at Casino Rama we decided to extend our visit an extra night. While other readers have commented on the age and need for refurbishment, we realize that if this hotel were to get a makeover to a very modern upscale level, the price would become out of some people's reach due to the excellent location. Our room was very spacious and clean. The carpet seemed pretty new and the bathroom was spotless. We had a generous sized fridge and a lovely view on the lagoon side. We had a queen bed and a large couch to sprawl out on. No issues at all. It is such a neat area and lots to see. While we were there in October, I am sure this area is hopping in the summer! The breakfast that was included with our deal was fine.... it was served to us when we handed in vouchers, as opposed to the free breakfast bars in many hotels. As opposed to the typical powdered or fake eggs at these bars, we were given real scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, toast and potatoes and coffee or tea. For a free breakfast I am not sure why others complained. You could order off a menu if you wanted to pay and have something else. The pool is large as is the hot tub, which my husband likes quite hot so he found this one just warm. The pool however, was a reasonable temperature for an indoor pool and was nice and large.
We were quite happy we added this night to our travels and if this deal were to be offered again we would probably go again!

Room Tip: A room with a view of the water is nice, some of the ones on the first floor have patios also along...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2017

I was here decades ago and nothing much has changed except for new hotel chain owners. Now, no more suite stove tops or microwaves, although their stands remain. The hall carpet is still the same, worn and garish. There's new beds, but that's it.
Location and rates are a draw. There's lots to do around here if you're even a little bit outdoorsy. There's the adjoining beach, the shallow lagoon, fishing, boating, hiking and more. Within the hotel there's a pool and hot tub. The onsite restaurant and patio are both features and access to the water is metres away.
But, the hotel is tired. Needs some genuine revitalization

Room Tip: Avoid #108 - noisy fridge. Ask for lagoon view rather than garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AMsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We had a very pleasant stay, must get a Lagoon view. Room is also very nice. Breakfast is good and resonable. Staff is pleasant and helpful. Took a nice drive into Beaverton through the side roads and the next day to Orillia. Would recommend to my friends and I would come back again

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Manchester4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding a few weeks ago. When we woke up in the morning, we found a blood stain on the sheets at the bottom corner of the bed. We inspected our feet and legs and could not find a place on our body where it would have come from. This was our mistake for not checking the sheets before going to bed. We brought it up to the front desk and the employee told us we would be contacted by a manager and our credit card would not be charged until this happened. I called back the following morning and we were told that the blood came from us and that the bed had been individually inspected before our stay by the housekeeping manager, who said the sheets were clean, therefore they would not offer us a refund. They also mentioned because we were there for a wedding, we already got 15% off, so the room was already discounted. We settled that the situation was not handled well by the front desk staff who should have checked for sure while we were still present at the hotel, but there was nothing offered to us for our trouble. In the following few days, we discovered bug bites all over our arms and torso. Apparently we brought bed bugs home from the hotel with us. I now believe this might have been where the blood came from in the first place. Again, our mistake was not checking the bed before sleeping in it. This "discounted" room has now cost us almost $400 in cleaning products, mattress bags, clothing steamers, and dry cleaning costs, not to mention the electricity usage from having our washing machine and dryer running almost constantly since our stay. I do not expect their customer service representatives to be of much help with this new complaint as they were not helpful before, but I wanted to let other potential customers know about our experience since staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wen zhong G, Front Office Manager at Knights Inn Harbour Resort Lagoon City Brechin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Hi Melissa, thank you for your feedback it was nice to talk to you finally. I was disappointed to hear that you did not have a pleasant check-in experience and can assure you I will be personally investigating the matter, to assure satisfaction for our guest next time. I know our front office team will do everything in their power to check our guests in as soon as possible however, on the occasion our guests arrive earlier than 3PM, it may require a few phone calls to our housekeeping team to clean the room. And I'm sorry to hear the rooms weren't up to the standard you've come to expect from us. I have personally addressed this with our housekeeping staff to ensure this won't happen again. As we spoke about on the phone, we have refunded you amount which should be showing up on your online banking within 2-3 business days. I apologize again for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

First time actually staying at this hotel. Had visited 20 years before. Nice room overlooking the canal with beautiful boats cruising by. It was cheap and cheerful.
The staff were friendly and the breakfast was simple, delicious and not expensive.

Room Tip: Great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brechin
18.5 km away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 14 in Orillia
607 reviews
27.8 km away
The Briars Resort & Spa
The Briars Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Jackson's Point
509 reviews
27.8 km away
Ramada Jacksons Point
Ramada Jacksons Point
#2 of 2 in Jackson's Point
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 km away
Fern Resort
Fern Resort
#4 of 14 in Orillia
317 reviews
17.3 km away
Maples Motel
Maples Motel
#7 of 14 in Orillia
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Harbour Resort Lagoon City Brechin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Harbour Resort Lagoon City Brechin

Address: 1 Poplar Cres, Brechin, Ontario L0K 1B0, Canada (Formerly Harbour Inn & Resort Club)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Brechin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brechin
Price Range: AU$106 - AU$171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Harbour Resort Lagoon City Brechin 1.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knights Inn Harbour Hotel & Resort offers cozy and unique studio suite rental vacations in the Lagoon City region of Southern Ontario, also known as Canada's Little Venice, an ideal setting for family holidays, romantic couple's getaways, and group retreats. Other amenities at the resort include indoor swimming pool, sauna, whirlpool, and casual fine dining at Lakeview restaurant. Boat tours, and BBQs are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Knights Inn Harbour Resort Lagoon City Brechin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing