We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cosy cottage with stunning views”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Dairy Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
The Old Dairy Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Timble, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
janegg201...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cosy cottage with stunning views”
Reviewed 18 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I think this is the fourth year I have stayed in this 'lovely haven' in January and I truly love coming here. Clearly a lot of thought and care goes into this delightful cottage which is spotlessly clean with attention to every detail. Dawn is a kind and helpful lady and nothing is too much trouble plus her cooking is absolutely delicious. It is also a perfect location to visit many attractions in this beautiful county.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elvernon
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A haven in the Dales”
Reviewed 18 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A return visit for us and pleased to see that the cottage was as warm and welcoming as ever (appreciate the new sofa too). It's in a fantastic location and in our week we managed to visit Whitby, York, Harrogate and Skipton with ease. Dawn and Barry are welcoming and very helpful hosts and I recommend the Catering in the Cottage too. A home away from home and would love to head back there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, furnishings and hosts
Liked least: Having to leave :-)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveandS...
Portchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"Middle of nowhere"”
Reviewed 2 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Beautiful cosy cottage in the middle of nowhere,we used it as a base to visit the christmas markets at Harrogate and York and it was perfect.The weather was'nt at its kindness for us but that did not take away the position of this well equipped and secluded cottage.If you are looking for somewhere which gives you peace and quite with amazing views this is the place. Thanks Dawn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyColl...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Stayed for 6 days and we could not have been happier. The location is beautiful and the cottage stunning, equipped with every comfort to make this a real home from home. Thank you to our lovely hosts for making this a fantastic break in the stunning Yorkshire Dales.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOCHINVAR...
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
1 review
“A remarkable Find!!!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

With much good luck did I find Timble,
A Yorkshire village would fit a thimble
And there I spent the best of weeks
Thanks due to Dawn and Barry Meeks

The Courtyard Cottage with all its charm
A roaring fire will keep you warm
Tho’ I have travelled for many a mile
Be hard to beat this place for style

Go there in Spring to find these thrills
Cuddly wee lambs and daffodils
The Yorkshire dales, such glorious views
A better place you could not choose

Perhaps the thing that I liked most
The friendly manner of my host
They quickly put me at my ease
And did so much for me to please

So with these words I recommend
For I was sad when week did end
You need a great week and get away?
Surely this must be the spot to stay

Alec Kelly April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: I had to leave too soon
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing