We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but peaceful retreat.”

Western Colorado Botanical Gardens
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Small but peaceful retreat.”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

This is a very small facility but it is a great place to relax. We often stop in on a weekend when we're getting overwhelmed with running around doing errands. We stop in to recharge and it happens immediately. Often you will have the place to yourself. They also have butterflies in one of the rooms. Beautiful orchid display too.

Helpful?
4 Thank mtntrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    17
    13
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“serene and so beautiful”
Reviewed 22 October 2011

I had not been to the gardens before. We were there for a wedding. The next day, I went to the Botanical Gardens to spend some time. Now I know why my nephew says it's so nice to go and sit and think. Beautiful gardens. Beautiful scenery outdoors. You find this little gem in the middle of no where and so full of surprises. Loved it! And will visit again on my next Grand Junction rip.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Level Contributor
124 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Not Much to It”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I can see where it would be great for kids but for someone wanting to know more about plants in Western Colorado its pretty much a bust and while I'm always glad to support worthy causes not really worth the price of admission. Very small. Pretty good cactus garden but thats about it. No butterflies when we were there, didn't ask why or how long. Apart from cacti plants not well labeled at all. In fact, the best labeling is on the walk from the parking lot to the door.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So Much Fun!”
Reviewed 31 May 2011

They have gorgeous plants and I was pleasantly surprised by the cute castle and play area for the kids! They also have this thing called Watson Island. It's, I guess theirs but, behind the gardens. On the island, my family was able to walk right next to the river. It was so much fun! They even let us have our small dog on the property and they gave her a treat. It was all just wonderful!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank mariedream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not too small at all”
Reviewed 24 April 2011

western colorado botanical gardens is just small enough to keep an eye on the kids! it actually enabled my wife and i to personalize the experience that much more with our children, by staying close to the trails and each other. we were all able to enjoy the many features of the gardens!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Zonacanyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Western Colorado Botanical Gardens also viewed

 
 

Been to Western Colorado Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing