We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Newbies”
Review of Granby Ranch

Granby Ranch
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Granby
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Granby Ranch is one of Colorado's best kept secrets and great for that family getaway. Located in Granby Colorado, Granby Ranch offers 35 ski trails covering 2 mountains, six terrain parks, ski and ride school, rentals, and convenient ski-in ski-out lodging. Granby Ranch Grill at the base of the mountain features delicious food for the whole family.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
delaware
Level Contributor
185 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great for Newbies”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I've always wanted to try skiing and was intimidated at age 57 to trying the sport. After much research, I opted for Sol Vista, now Granby Ranch. It was a perfect choice. It is small and the advanced skiers and snowboarders have their runs, and the beginners have easier runs. The pricing was good and we had a cool and laid-back instructor in Sean. He was patient with our inability to control our upper body and master the lower body. We only took a two hour session but I was exhausted with the weather, tension and physical exertion. We had a third person in our group lesson. This young lady came back for the afternoon and moved up to a higher elevation. Maybe next time for us... I want to try skiing again thanks to Sean and Sol Vista.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank bahiadreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    51
    14
    7
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, CO
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Sol Vista is a great place. The resort is small so when you go with a group, it would be very hard to lose any members of the group. The group we went with had skiiers/snowboarders in a variety of levels . . . beginners to expert. There was plenty to keep everyone happy! It is not crowded, the food is good, and the price for food, etc. is half of what you would pay at the major resorts. Because it is not at elevation, the snow melts faster when it is warm, so conditions are not always as ideal as you would want them. But still a great time and place!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MammaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillipsburg, Kansas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We just returned from a ski trip to Granby Ranch. We traveled with our family (teenage daughters) and family friends, who have kids ranging from 10-20. Though the ski conditions weren't great due to the warm weather and lack of much snow this year, we had a fabulous time. This resort is a great value and is MUCH cheaper than any other ski area in Colorado. It was family friendly and we liked how how the ski runs met at a central location. It made it nice to meet up with our family & friends. We enjoyed the deck area and the lodge room. We appreciated that we could bring our own food/drink to the lodge. We can't wait to return!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank rbwildcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best unknown ski place in Colorado!”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

No lift lines, wide, open runs of all ability, and great condos that are truly ski-in and ski-out with you own private lift to get back to the slopes made this the easiest and most fun ski trip for us to introduce the kids too. Ski school was great! My son got a private snowboarding lesson because he was the only snowboarder and had a blast...it was his first time and he was doing it by the end of the day (not falling down once down the slope!) My daughter was in a group of 8, and loved it. We couldn't drag them off the slopes. The condo was a nice size, hot tub was perfect, and it was a very affordable vacation. Skiing in to use our own bathroom mid-day was such a luxury. We want to return for a full week next time!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank abbyc0dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Easy greens and blues, enjoyed skiing in and around trees, fun and small place to take the kids, perfect for joyride skiers. Wish there was more seating on the outdoor deck.

Helpful?
Thank leapfrogllp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Granby Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Granby Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing