We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to stay”
Review of Hotel Denver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Denver
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2005

We had our anniversary in July and went to Glenwood springs. My in-laws booked us 2 nights as a gift. When I looked up the hotel on trip advisor I was dissapointed. It looked to be old, (which to me means musty) and the furnishings looked to be antique and old. I was pleasently suprised when we arrived in our room. Furnishings were nice, room was clean, fresh smelling, marble in the bathrooms, bed was very comfortable. The shampoos and soaps were very nice and had good scent. More about the bed, it was kind of like being at grand-ma's. It had a sheet, light blanket, another sheet, then a quilt. Very comfortable, we stayed in bed as long as possible. I don't know about the dining in the lobby, I was told to stay away.
I would stay again for sure. Very central in location.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

914 - 918 of 928 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Knoxville, TN
487
Reviewed 3 March 2005

My wife and I just returned from 3 nights at the Hotel Denver. We really enjoyed staying here. Just to have a different sort of ski trip, we took the Amtrak train from Denver to Glenwood Springs. Great fun and we were pleased to find that the Hotel Denver was just accross the street from the train station. This is a small hotel that is about 100 years old. It is fully updated and modern, however.

They have a variety of rooms in several price ranges. We had a "Colorado" room, which is one of the more expensive rooms. The room was on the 3rd floor (the top floor) overlooking the historic train station with the Colorado river, the Hot Springs Pool and the impressive Hotel Colorado in the background. The room was was *huge* and very much like rooms found in bed and breakfast inns. It had a mix of antique and reproduction furnishings with really nice linens, a full-size writing desk, and a large comfortable sofa. The room and bathroom were kept very clean. The only negatives were that the room had modern "drop" ceilings and the bathroom was a bit worn. Except for the sound of an occasional train, the room was extremely quite.

The hotel has a small staff, all of whom are friendly and helpful. There is no bell staff. The hotel doesn't have a resteraunt of it's own, but an excellent brewpub next door is open for lunch and dinner. We had breakfasts in a nice little cafe about a block away.

When I booked, I got a package of sorts that included a food credit at the brewpub and passes to the Hot Springs Pool, which is a short walk away. Ski tickets for nearby Sunlight Mountain are also available.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Colorado Springs, CO
119
Reviewed 30 September 2003

I've stayed in the Hotel Denver twice and it really is the best location in town. Don't waste money on the Hotel Colorado, it is too pricey and the Denver is actually better. It also has a very nice brewpub on the ground floor. The hotel is fairly old, but if you are into that sort of thing this is the perfect place.

19  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
656
Reviewed 7 April 2003

First of all, the place is well-located. It's right across the street from the train station, and right across the river from the hot springs. Stay on the north side of the hotel and get a wonderful view of the station, river, hot springs, and Hotel Colorado. Each room seems to be different. Some are quite small, and others large. Each room has a bit of a personal touch. The place is thoroughly modern and clean, but it has a kind of 1940's feel to it. Great spot.

36  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank gilstef29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
1.1 km away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
645 reviews
0.7 km away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#5 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
903 reviews
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
335 reviews
3.7 km away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
362 reviews
1.6 km away
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
#8 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Denver

Address: 402 7th St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-3406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glenwood Springs
Price Range: $171 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Denver 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Denver offers premier Glenwood Springs lodging and natural Western hospitality. It was recently transformed into an elegant modern hotel while preserving its historic heritage and grand appearance in the center of downtown Glenwood Springs. At the Hotel Denver, we know it's the delight of unexpected touches that sets us apart. Little things make the difference between the ordinary and the extraordinary. The Hotel Denver is pet friendly and offers walking convenience to the Hot Springs Pool as well as dining, nightlife and shopping in Glenwood Springs, which is approximately half way between the Vail Valley and Aspen, Colorado. This makes the hotel a perfect place to base your Western Colorado visit and we encourage you to make plans to visit us soon. Part of the fun at Hotel Denver in Glenwood Springs is choosing from the variety of special hotel rooms and suites we have to offer. Some have special views. Others a private hot tub. Every room at our hotel has a style of its own. We look forward to pleasantly surprising you when you come to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Hotel Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing