We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moderate to difficult but beautiful trails worth hike”

Horsetooth Mountain Open Space
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Horsetooth trails in Ft. Collins, CO were very scenic but somewhat difficult hiking trails for over age 50 in good health. Less strenuous options available but map n signage somewhat confusing. Took wrong turn where there was no sign when one needed to make a definite choice so ended up hiking for over 3 hours until I asked locals hiking for directions. Lovely views and well worth the time for sure.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"falls trail"
in 10 reviews
"state park"
in 11 reviews
"great place to hike"
in 8 reviews
"beautiful hike"
in 7 reviews
"great hiking"
in 13 reviews
"quick hike"
in 5 reviews
"beautiful area"
in 12 reviews
"close to town"
in 11 reviews
"rock climbing"
in 5 reviews
"paddle boarding"
in 7 reviews
"boating"
in 32 reviews
"trickle"
in 8 reviews
"hikers"
in 21 reviews
"deer"
in 18 reviews
"picnic"
in 28 reviews
"scenery"
in 24 reviews
"beauty"
in 18 reviews
Filter

45 - 49 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2017

We had a wonderful day for a short hike on the well marked trails. Lovely boulders and several boats out on the water added to the beauty of this area. Very close to Midtown Fort Collins.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Penny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Really beautiful place for all types of recreation. Hiking, boating, picnics, etc. Great place to spend the day with the family and friends.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank donnaj49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

You have to experience the location as it offers hiking trails, biking trails, boating and water activities as well as getting out and running the trails if you like. There's something for everyone including a great top-down view of Fort Collins and surrounding areas. What are you waiting for as it is a 365 area to visit and enjoy?

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank dgrobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

I was visiting Fort Collins and had heard that this area is beautiful but that it can get crowded. I went on a Thursday morning about 10 am. My friend and I hiked the Horsetooth falls trail and completed the loop back to the parking lot by spring creek and other connecting trails. We probably saw a dozen people either as singletons or small groups. We spent about 2.5 hours, but we dawdled and also spent a long time at the base of the falls. Nobody expected it to be flowing, but a recent snow (three days previous) resulted in a lovely falls. The hike was very easy, with beautiful views and rock formations.

Date of experience: October 2017
2  Thank Hoosier1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horsetooth Mountain Open Space also viewed

 

Been to Horsetooth Mountain Open Space? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing