We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not your typical Mexican food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Monte Grill & Lounge - CLOSED

El Monte Grill & Lounge
Price range: USD 9 - USD 18
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: College and Prospect
Transit: Future development will have the Mason Street corridor at our back door. RTD bus stop with-in 3 blocks.
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
129 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not your typical Mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

More up=scale and creastive. Not your bean burrito. Great drinks. Nice dinning room and bar. Try it. it is a cool place with good food.

Helpful?
Thank Gail3207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElMonteGrill, General Manager at El Monte Grill & Lounge, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Nope, you won't find burritos on our menu! Our menu consists of many wonderful traditional dishes from interior Mexico, such as the cochinita pibil (slow-roasted pork wrapped in a banana leaf) and huaraches (flatbreads loaded with delicious toppings). We also offer a great selection of familiar favorites such as tacos and enchiladas. Thanks so much for the review, and we'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    33
    12
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“El Monte (sophisticated) & The Rio (raucous) are simply the best in Ft. C.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

The Flank Steak & Enchilada w/grilled veggies is superb and the drinks are way uptown. Very, very nice.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sylvanusman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElMonteGrill, General Manager at El Monte Grill & Lounge, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Thanks! It's no coincidence that El Monte and The Rio have two of the best scenes in Fort Collins -- we are owned by the same people. I have to agree that the steak & enchilada is a terrific dish, and it is great with a top-shelf margarita! Thank you for the review, and we'll see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport, Connecticut
1 review
“Best of the Best out West”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

My friend's brother runs this place and told me to visit when I was in Fort Collins for work. You never know when family is invoved... but I took a chance and took my work friends there. They live near by and had not tried it yet. They are now huge fans and I am still dreaming of the Chili Relanos and Guac! Outstanding place. everyone was friendly, service was good. We did not want to leave. I am now making excuses to go back for work.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElMonteGrill, General Manager at El Monte Grill & Lounge, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
There's no end to the list of excuses to come to El Monte! Whether you are visiting us for a family meal, a date night, or a business dinner, we pride ourselves on providing you with a great dining experience. We're so glad that you decided to take a chance on your friend's advice, and we will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a let down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

After reading so many positive reviews about this place, we couldn't wait to go in and check it out. Being the sister restaurant of the Rio Grande, we figured it couldn't be half bad. We hit up the El Monte Grill during happy hour with a strong desire to try some specialty drinks and margaritas.

Atmosphere: The outside of the El Monte Grill has bright lights detracting from the fact the place looks like a store front. There is a patio right out front, facing the parking lot. Once inside you will see dark wood floors covered with rows of booths and tables. The horse-shoe shaped bar is to the left and lined with booths and a few high top tables. The dimly- lit- bar- area is painted a burnt sienna color and lined with hanging pendent lights as well as cute star shaped lanterns. The place has an upscale and trendy feel, but not a lot of room to move around when it gets crowded.

Service: We sat at the bar and a specialty menu was thrown our way. The Bartender was less than friendly and seemed annoyed while making drinks. Maybe she had a bad day? But she didn't stop there. She would gripe to any employee who would listen about poor tips or errors on drink orders. Several servers and managers roamed the bar area as well and did not bother to assist her, while our glasses sat empty. Overall the service sucked and employees were not the least bit friendly.

Drinks: The drink menu, we were given at the bar, offers margarita's (no special flavors), mojitos, beer, wine and a few specialty drinks like the "Esteban". They do have a few beers on tap and your favorite Mexican imports in a bottle. We started with the Margarita and the Esteban, but were disappointed with the size portions at $4 a pop during happy hour (normally $8). We then switched to Modelo Especial and Dos Equis xx at $2 a pop (normally $4). They do carry a large selection of tequila's and tequila inspired beverages as well.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank BarComber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElMonteGrill, General Manager at El Monte Grill & Lounge, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
I would like to offer a sincere apology that your experience at El Monte was not a good one. We set a high standard of service for our staff to adhere to, and it sounds as though we fell quite short of both yours and our expectations. We feel that our happy hour is one of the best deals around -- $4 Estebans, $6 coin margaritas, $5 mojitos, $5 glasses of our house wines, and $2 off all of the eight beers that we have on tap. We also offer several food specials during happy hour, including $2 off our killer guacamole. Both locals and visitors frequent our happy hour, and I hope that you will give us another try so that we may show you how great we are. Please accept my apologies, and I hope to see you in El Monte again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Upscale Mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

One of the new guys in town, El Monte is located in one of the older, definitely not upscale, strip malls on South College. The interior is very pleasant and you always get a pleasant welcome. Food I have had is good, but not great. Known for fresh, homemade guacamole and a variety of tequillas.

Helpful?
Thank DoctorRob1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElMonteGrill, General Manager at El Monte Grill & Lounge, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
We are so glad that you chose to dine with us at El Monte. We are located in mid-town Fort Collins, and we like to think of ourselves as the alternative to Old Town. Our convenient location provides our customers with plenty of parking and an intimate setting, which we find is a nice change from the crowded establishments in downtown. You can't beat our made-to-order guacamole, and we have over 40 top-shelf tequilas and mezcals in our bar. Thanks for the review, and we'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Monte Grill & Lounge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing