We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
USD 169
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
USD 168
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/04/21
Hurb
USD 161
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/04/21
Hotels.comUSD 168
PricelineUSD 169
Agoda.comUSD 169
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,328)
Filter reviews
1,328 results
Traveller rating
706
408
130
46
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
706
408
130
46
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the diamond belle saloon old west mahogany grille piano player antique furniture great historic hotel small elevator heart of downtown main avenue two blocks street noise rooms are small stayed one night train journal wallpaper ghost
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,328 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2020

Right in downtown Durango. Close to many good restaurants. We can't say enough about the downstairs bar. Appetizers and drinks were great. The ragtime piano player was awesome! We had to tear ourselves away for dinner! Free parking. Rooms are a bit small, but very nice.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2020 via mobile

This was the second time we stayed here. Just as before, a memorable experience!! Each room is decorated differently using antique furniture and accessories. The only issue we had was a glitch in the system that caused our booking rate to be much less than what they wanted to charge us. In the end the manager came down on the usual room rate for us and gave us numerous drink vouchers. All in all, a great experience.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank jdkrup77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2020

This is a historical hotel with all the embellishments of the old times. Laud Diamond Belle Saloon with live music, antique furnishings, and ample lobby with Old time politeness at the concierge desk. Our room on the fourth floor had period pieces, renovated bathroom and comfortable bed. One block away is one of the best pizza in the western Colorado and in the same block a genuine French bakery for breakfast.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PavelK559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strater Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Strater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2020

We are glad that you enjoyed your visit. We hope that you will become a long lasting part of the Strater family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2020

In addition to having hair in between the top sheet and the fitted sheet, we found pubic hair on the bathroom floor and, what looked to be throw up covering a quarter of the inside of the lampshade next to the bed (who knows how it got there). When I told the desk person early the next morning ...and told her that my wife and I slept with our clothes on and covered ourselves with our coats (night of 10/11/2020), she shrugged and said...thanks for letting us know (I took the lampshade down to her, showed it and left it with her). Just gross and seemed completely disinterested. For $250/ night, I'd expect much better. Skip this place.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rgrant56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strater Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Strater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2020

We are disappointed to learn of your experience. This complaint is a first of its kind and we apologize. I have addressed these issues with our team and want to assure you that we will never put someone in a room with these issues again. This review has been used as a training issue. We wished you had alerted us as soon as you noticed these issues. We would have moved you to a different room so that you would not have had the night you had.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2020

It is historic, clean and decent service. Rooms are small, bathrooms are even smaller, shower is almost unusable. Loud AC that is “fixed” blows cold, then gets warm. We were never informed we needed to order maid service ( they ignore the door hanger) but probably save on maids.
All in all, I probably won’t pay extra for “historic” again.

Room tip: As big as possible
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonapitite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews