We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,209)
Filter reviews
1,209 results
Traveller rating
628
388
123
42
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
628
388
123
42
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the diamond belle saloon old west mahogany grill louis l'amour antique furniture piano player step back in time great historic hotel gun fight pozole deluxe room small elevator modern amenities main street heart of downtown the entire hotel train whistle
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,209 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Quaint, beautifully decorated hotel in American Victorian walnut antiques. The Mahogony Grill had great food and Diamond Belle Sallon was a fun place. Clean rooms, with a very warm and comfortable lobby. The staff was very accomodating and friendly. A great place to relax.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank jgmboudreau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SH_GuestRelations, Public Relations Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Strater Hotel. We hope that you come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

We stayed here during a road trip last September. Its a great hotel. Old, pretty, clean, well furnished--the rooms are small but adequate and pretty quiet. Service was great and the staff was friendly. We had several good meals at the Mahogany Grill, good food and service. Decent wine list. Central location in Durango and off street parking makes this a winner.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Trail28723019154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SH_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Thank you for the positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed all the different aspects of the Strater Hotel! We hope that you come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018

Stopped in here for a light lunch and drinks.
Ate in the historic saloon which was really unique.
The staff were wonderful and the bartender actually took about 20 minutes and gave us the history of the place.
The food was excellent and lunch pricing was reasonable.
Would highly reccomend.

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank Bolte59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SH_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

We are so glad that you had a fun time with us at the Strater Hotel and Diamond Belle Saloon. We hope that you join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

One of the West's iconic hotels, the Strater Hotel opened in 1887 and remains the centerpiece of Durango, Colorado, in every way. Located at 699 Main Avenue, two blocks from the historic Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, it is also the heart of fun and entertainment. The interior is adorned with beautiful handcrafted woodwork, period wallpaper and the largest collection of American Victorian walnut antiques. The world-famous Diamond Belle Saloon features nightly entertainment, including top-rated ragtime piano players, while the room glitters with crystal chandeliers, rustic oak beams and plush velvety curtains. Your room might have entertained Butch Cassidy, Louis L'Amour (he wrote The Sacketts here), Francis Ford Coppola, John Kennedy or Marilyn Monroe. Operated for three generations by the Barker family, the Strater Hotel gives visitors a genuine feel for the Old West. Windowed showcases brimming with antique collectibles are located throughout the public areas. Each of the 93 guest rooms are individually and uniquely designed. The hotel lobby also has been remodeled and redesigned with the new and stunning Office Spiritorium, the signature Mahogany Grille Restaurant, the Pullman Room and the granite and marble-lined public restrooms. Try to book Room 220, which was renovated with a single window treatment of drapes and valance with up to 30 yards of plush velvet. It was a finalist for Lodging Magazine's prestigious Gold Key Award in 1989. Coincidentally, the Strater has been a charter member of Historic Hotels of America since 1989. For our stay, we booked a premium room with a king-sized bed, sitting room, large bathroom, flat-screen cable TV, air conditioning and elegant and elaborate wall coverings and window treatments. Very romantic surroundings. For a fine dining experience, it is hard to beat the Strater's Mahogany Grille, which received OpenTable's DIner's Choice Award and was voted "Best Steakhouse in the Southwest." The Diamond Belle Saloon, with ragtime piano players and costumed bartenders and dane hall girls, is very entertaining. And the Office Spiritorium, a Victorian-style social gathering place, was voted "Best Happy Hour" bar by the locals who should know one when they see one. This was our third visit to the Strater over the years and the experience gets better each time.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SH_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

We are so glad that you enjoyed the Strater Hotel and all that it has so offer! We hope that you come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018

This is a return trip. If you like old, wonderful hotels, with great service, great staff, and a wonderful feel, this is it. I can’t say enough about this location. It is downtown, has two great bars, and is walking distance to all of Durango’s downtown eats and drinks. This hotel supports cancer victims.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank geobarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SH_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We will pass your very kind words to the staff. We hope that you come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews