We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Mountain Shadows
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Great staff and clean rooms. Stayed 4 nights with no problems and the breakfast was good. I would use this hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: 2nd floor for the view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gt5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

583 - 587 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2011

It's far from downtown where the hotels are charging the same price. The pool and hot tub are awesome, IF it's open. The housekeeping is rude, and quite condescending if you're unlucky enough to spark up a conv'. This hotel seems to nickel and dime you for anything they can find and they masquerade "free" internet as if it's some big deal, and a free breakfast that sucks. The bubble dome over the pool is no longer worthy of my money, I'll never stay here again.

Room Tip: The only thing that makes this motel worth anything is the pool. Ask BEFORE you pay for a room if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke A, General Manager at Best Western Mountain Shadows, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time a write a review. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. Our rates are competitive while still remaining below comparable properties located in the downtown area. We feel you can experience all Durango has to offer within 5 minutes without the hustle and bustle of downtown.
We do have a great pool that our guests enjoy. Our pool is open daily from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. daily. We do close our pool at night to respect other guests. Most of our amenities at our property are free. The only fees you may have run into are our non-smoking policy or a pet policy, both which are stated in writing and verbally at the time of check-in. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Stayed for 3 nights. Enjoyed the clean rooms, Nice staff. The breakfast was very satisfying. Enjoyed the pool area, we had family picnics and bbq's on the patio, outside the pool area. Hotel was within walking distance to groceries, the bus and a liquor store if you wanted. Even used the laundry service, as I got thrown into the pool, all in great fun!

This was our 2nd stay here. The room appeared renovated from a few years ago. That was a plus. Would recommend this hotel anytime of year. It's not close to downtown, but easy access to the bus.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellietain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke A, General Manager at Best Western Mountain Shadows, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

Thank you for staying with us again, and taking the time to write a review. We love to hear about our guests’ experiences. We are happy you were able to take advantage of the pool and patio area. Thank you for noticing our remodel, we are continually trying to keep our rooms fresh and updated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Durango and we appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Even though this is an older establishment, the overall experience was good. Positives: north of city in quiet area, safe, full continental breakfast for early travelers, comfortable King bed,large room w/micro/frig, washer/dryer room, and very helpful staff. Carpet and drapes little old but still clean. Location: good for traveling north to Ouray, downtown Durango for many great shops, easy to get to Silverton train station, and about 50 min. to Cortez/ Mesa Verde area/Dolores.

Room Tip: Ground floor room worked well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPA122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke A, General Manager at Best Western Mountain Shadows, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

Thank you for your recent stay at Best Western Mountain Shadows, and taking the time to write a review. We are happy your overall experience was positive, and our staff was helpful during your stay. Several of our rooms received new drapes and carpet this year, as we try to replace these items every 5 years or so. We are so overjoyed our location worked well for your vacation, it sound like you were able to enjoy some of the wonderful things this area has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

As the title says, this is a typical Best Western accommodation. Moderate price online, very clean and well maintained. Parking is challenging if you leave for supper. The breakfast was average continental - fruit, cereal, waffles, etc. The room was large with microwave/frig and the king bed was OK for 3 days (I have slept on much worse). Did not have opportunity to try out the pool/hot tub, but area looked clean.

Room Tip: Try to get 1st floor room, as the stairs are a killer at that altitude.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WagzLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
5.8 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
3.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.3 km away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 34 in Durango
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
3.7 km away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#12 of 34 in Durango
503 reviews
4.1 km away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mountain Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mountain Shadows

Address: 3255 North Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301-4248
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Durango
#9 Family Hotel in Durango
#10 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range: $104 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Mountain Shadows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Mountain Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain Shadows Hotel Durango
Best Western Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing