We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A peaceful, quiet and lovely place to stay.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Durango, Colorado

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Blt64
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A peaceful, quiet and lovely place to stay.”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A darling cottage above a barn. Peaceful, beautiful with a hot tub. Off the beaten track. Lots of deer. Missed seeing horses and cattle at the ranch. Owners do not intrude. Have total privacy. Loved Durango. Lots of wonderful stores and restaurants but ranches, too.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT Escape !!”
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

My wife & I found "Coal Basin" to be exactly what we were looking for. It is far enough out of the city to get the true Colorado experience, but close enough to enjoy what Durango, Vallecito Lake, & Bayfield have to offer. Lauretta was very good with pre trip preparation text's & Gary was also excellent with getting settled & area info. Our hosts insured our privacy during our stay, but were available if needed. Everything was very clean & well taken care of, & we would stay at Gary & Lauretta's place again in a heartbeat if the opportunity presents!!
We were even able to enjoy a bit of animal connection (Rocky & Spooky the dogs, & of course Gracie the kitty) who must have known we were going through furry withdrawl. Overall, two thumbs up !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
originalb...
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 417 helpful votes
“Very nice accommodations. Quiet setting. Needs attention to room readiness.”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I completely enjoyed my stay here. The room is spacious, the bed comfortable, the setting private -- a great place to relax. Two caveats: The owner doesn't clean the refrigerator or pantry after guests leave, and my wife was really turned off by the bad smell in the refrigerator. Also, there is no TV service, and the DVD library is like a limited selection of bargain-bin clearance items -- bring something to watch.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
We're sorry you had some disappointments, especially with the refrigerator; we try to keep/maintain certain food items available for guests who arrive late at night and did not have time to get their first supply of groceries or coffee. We have not had sufficient interest in the TV to purchase Direct TV, perhaps if we do receive more interest we'll purchase satellite TV...99% of our guests desire to relax and enjoy our wonderful location (the mountains, forest, hiking) rather than watch TV as if they were at home. Our collection of classic movies and videos has so far been perfect for our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Go691281
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We would stay again in a heartbeat.”
Reviewed 13 May 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We live rural and vacation that way too. The location and the property were perfect for us. It is down a lot of dirt roads, but they are well maintained and not bad on dust. Sun starts going down and looking out the back window we see a heard of about 20 elk one evening. Great picture moment. We used navigation on the phone and had a hard time believing we could be at our day destination in such a short time. Our dogs loved the large open area in back and romping through snow patches for the first time. We were proud of them as they were not interest in hassling the horses or the two cows. Otherwise they would have been on a leash. Love it when things just work out and we get to truly enjoy ourselves. The rental was clean inside when we arrived and we left it that way. Overall we think we got a good value for our money.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2017
Thank you for choosing our place to get away to with your pups. We enjoyed meeting you and hope you return again. Thank you for the review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward S
1 review
“Great weekend”
Reviewed 26 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The place was amazing with plenty of great views. Within a short drive to pagosa springs and Durango. Overall great time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2017
Thank you for your review! And thank you for choosing our little slice of heaven for your get-away. We hope you get to come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing