We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in great prices from these sites
Agoda.comUSD 159
Expedia.comUSD 187
Hotels.comUSD 187
PricelineUSD 159
eDreamsUSD 159
TravelocityUSD 187
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (589)
Filter reviews
589 results
Traveller rating
320
160
60
29
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
320
160
60
29
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station antique elevator interior room continental breakfast tiny elevator modern conveniences strater hotel in town the durango silverton train annex lobby downtown depot colorado railroad
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 589 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2020

The hotel is adorable. Unfortunately, that's the only nice thing I can say. The TV in our room did not work, the coffee maker in our room did not work, and we were not given the "breakfast pastry" we were promised in lieu of breakfast (we stayed during COVID). Additionally, we were charged $250 for a smoking fee. We did NOT smoke in our room. After alerting the hotel of our concerns, we were promised a manager would contact us. I've called and emailed but received no response. We will not be back. Traveler beware!!!

Date of stay: June 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yevonee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2020

We arrived late in the evening our bank was closed we had a 500 card limit so I got the the cash to pay them in full.THEY DO NOT take it..so while we were on the early train ride they moved our stuff from our suite,after I went down to tell them I had to wait 24hrs or wait until the bank opened.,they would not take my balance in cash for the 4 nights.it was our 30 year aniversary..Such a bad deal,didnt let it ruin our vacation,one good thing we got a murphy bed the next night...lol

Room tip: GOOD for train walk distance
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 62hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2020 via mobile

The claustrophobic room was a tomb completely windowless, zero daylight.
The staff was unhelpful, condescending and patronising.
Breakfast was poor in both quality and quantity.
To avoid sleeping in your car is better than this.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Vimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2019

Staff, were great, place was amazing, It felt like a time slip to the past in a great way. EVERYTHING was perfect about our stay. It was the perfect setting to our Christmas Trip and our Polar Express Train Ride. Staff went out of their way to go the extra mile for us. From taking packages for us weeks in advance so our kids could have a good Christmas ( tree , presents ) to making extra cookies on Christmas eve for Santa and providing milk too. Even helped Santa find out room on Christmas morning at 5:30 Am. Cannot say enough about the place. My only regret is I was so busy that I didn't have enough time to enjoy the hotel even more. You couldnt ask for a better Nostalgic Christmas Victorian setting.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank jamarmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2019

Stayed at the General Palmer Halloween night. It is a nice property if you like historic old hotels, the room was warm and comfortable and the furnishings are all authentic period. The staff was very friendly and the location right on main makes for easy access to restaraunts and night clubs. We would stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MadisonBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews