We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveller rating
339
92
11
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
339
92
11
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new owners shower head continental breakfast charging station hard boiled eggs pride of ownership comfortable beds a great stay the north end trolley stop place to stay in town comfortable stay the entire staff definitely stay here again fridge and microwave home away from home
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 447 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2018

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Adventure Inn while exploring Durango. The location is perfect, just north of downtown and on the way up to Purgatory. If you want to walk into town this may be a bit too far though we would have if the weather were a bit warmer. The staff and owners are amazing--such a great source of information and so kind. For a continental breakfast, the selection was more than adequate with raisin bread, English muffins, oatmeal, cereal, fruit, and hard-boiled eggs. Coffee was good and always freshly brewed. The owners seem to genuinely love the business and chatting with guests. We will definitely stay here again while in the area.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank floydw334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyP1746, Owner at Adventure Inn Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2018

Thank you, we appreciate your staying here with us! We're 2.2 miles north of downtown proper but a great transportation option is the Durango Trolley that's only $.50 or $1 depending on age. Staying downtown has the convenience of being close to restaurants, galleries, and bars to offer travelers... we don't have the 2 am partiers, car alarms, and congestion. Parking meters have to be fed during weekdays until 6 pm.
We're not big, fancy or have a lot of amenities- but we ARE clean, comfortable, affordable, welcoming and happy to help our guests get to where they want to go in southwest Colorado. Thanks again for giving us a try and we look forward to seeing you on your next Durango adventure. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

This is one of the very few reviews I've taken the time to write, so these folks are clearly impressive. A small, almost intimate hotel that knows what it wants to be: inviting, comfortable, efficient, and truly welcoming first! Nigel and Tammy are quintessential hosts: the morning continental breakfast provides the right start and includes guidance for the day (when guest volume allows). The reset of the staff, particularly Joe & Jordan maintain this helpful assistance. the housekeeping crew is topnotch. Oh, and of course, the rooms are spic & span, and very comfortable. Do yourself a favor and stay here if you are anywhere close to Durango, CO.

Room tip: Enjoy all the big screen information in the lobby.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Navigator34467497270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyP1746, Owner at Adventure Inn Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Wow, what a testament to what we're doing here! First we want to thank you so much for your time in reviewing us and secondly, we appreciate your giving our little mom and pop a try! Upon arrival, our guests are warmly welcomed by our stellar front desk staff- Joe and Jordan. Housekeeping staff- Vonda, Shawna, and Sam make sure the rooms are inviting, comfortable and very clean. Jermaine takes care of the aesthetics of the place; landscaping, maintenance, backup housekeeper and everything in-between. They are as you stated 'topnotch' we love and appreciate all of them. Taking on the endeavor of breathing life into an older property isn't for the faint of heart and has taken a lot of time and hard work. Thank you again for your kind words of encouragement!

We hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to the Durango area. Safe travels and cherished memories to you our friend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018

This was a Super find. i could not be happier with the Lodging. Staff and Value. People were all about service, the owner was on the lot and ready to help and converse. The rooms were renovated ans excellent. This was clearly an Older Motel but had been redone top notch. This would be my only option if I returned her. The area is marvelous and worth days of visiting and this location is a great base to do just that. Town is only the start the Train ride is great and you could spend days maybe weeks exploring the area. Place thsi at the top of your to stay at places.

Room tip: any and all rooms are great here.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Buddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyP1746, Owner at Adventure Inn Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2018

How wonderful, thank you so much! We appreciate your kind words and affirmation that we are doing the right things to ensure our guests feel valued and cared for. We bought this place March of 2016 and envisioned renovating but to keep true to the historic bones and character of the place. We and our dedicated staff are the demolition and construction crew. We keep our employees employed where most of the hotel/motels lay off people in the down season. The Durango Silverton narrow gauge train is a wonderful experience any season of the year and you're right there is so much to do in southwest Colorado! Thanks again for staying with us and until the next we meet safe travels friend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018

Where to start... everything about this hotel was amazing!

We walked in and encountered the most friendly helpful desk staff I have ever met. Full life, energy, and wanting to help. Told him we were tourist, and he told us where to eat, where to drink, where to see. Then chatted like we were old friends.

We walked into the cleanest King room I have ever seen, the smell of the towels was amazing, the sheets were so soft and smelt so good, and as my girlfriend said you could eat off the floor. We loved the power bars on each night table, that is such a nice little touch, We had a table and a ton of room.

My girlfriend went down for coffee in the morning and met the owner along with the same amazing desk clerk, and he recommended a ton of stuff to her. I walked in and it continued, I told him the route I was interested taking, and he told me an even better route to take. They have a big TV in the lobby, in which they bring up Google maps on.. and he shows you where to go, where to see. He shows video clips and anything a tourist would need to get acquainted with the area.

We all stood and chatted, while we ate breakfast. We also found out his wife use to be a Pediatric Nurse, and clean means everything to her, and you could sure tell that. They just finished up the new patio/smoking area out front, and it was stunning as well. Then we got to meet the hardworking house keeping staff, and we couldn't say enough good things about there work to them.

This Motel has undergone a lot of TLC from the owner and his staff, and has come a long way from what he said it use to be, and again, that more then shows!

The owner told us his brother owned the Blue Door Inn in Estes Park, and we should stay there.. where that was a nice place, our expectations had been raised and nothing could quite live up to this beautiful Motel. We will go out of our way to stay there again, not to mention this was also one of the best value hotels we stayed in!

Keep up the amazing work, and if you are reading this.. stay there.. I can't see how anyone could be disappointed.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWolf79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyP1746, Owner at Adventure Inn Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2018

Ok, so first I have to say we were reading this and crying because we have poured our heart and soul into this endeavor. It's an awful lot of work to turn around an older property. Every one of us has worked very hard to make the changes necessary to turn this into a welcoming place to stay. So thank you for affirming we've done a good job and that it is noticed.

We have a passion for people to encourage and help others. We want our guests to have a fabulous time and leave with the desire to come back again. Southwest Colorado's full of beauty, rich history, fun adventures, and wonderful people. We're in love with where we live (who wouldn't) and we enjoy sharing it with visitors.

We intentionally placed the big screen TV in the lobby for the sole purpose of showing guests what's in and around Durango. Most travelers have a specific place or event in mind when passing through without really knowing what there is to do or what a town offers. Nothing speaks to you like a photo- you can't describe the gorgeous color of a mountain lake or the rich colors of the Fall Aspen and Google maps offer the perfect tool for sharing an experience.

Next week we're tearing out the huge fireplace that's in the center of the lobby to make room for communal seating to encourage guests to interact and share with each other. And to clarify- I wasn't a Pediatric nurse (of which I have the utmost respect for) I worked in the office in a Pediatric ICU and also in Cancer research. Nonetheless, all the credit for cleanliness and quality of care goes to our amazing crew of people we're very proud to be associated with; Jordan, Joe, Ervonda, Jermaine, Lyshawna, and Sam. They are the reason we are doing well!

Thanks so very much for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit. Safe travels to you our friend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed a night here based on the excellent reviews. We rode our bikes in from NM amd let me tell you that this staff is VERY accommodating! Joe, who was working the front desk made every effort to ensure we were taken care of! Extremely clean rooms! Nice little updates in the room. The breakfast was simple and healthy, coffee tasted great! This is going to be our “go to” from here on out. Thank you Adventure Inn for a pleasant stay.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kaybeelynn81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyP1746, Owner at Adventure Inn Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

How wonderful, thank you so much! We try our best to offer guests what we would appreciate for a fair priced accommodation. We're doing well because of our fabulous staff of dedicated workers they are the heart of this place they take pride in what we offer. We appreciate your giving us the opportunity to make your stay pleasant and memorable. Take care and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Durango. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews