We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
39
31
10
11
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
31
10
11
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain runslevel sitesclean restroomsthe durango silverton trainrv spacesclose to townfull hookupstravel trailergreat wifitrolley servicelaundry facilitynice rv parkenjoyed our stayworked fineanimas rivereasy accessview of the river
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2018

United Campground is on the banks of the Animas River. The Durango & Silverton narrow Gauge train runs through the campground as does the trolley for easy access to the downtown area. There are 100 plus level sites with water, electricity
and sewer and 90 tent sites with grass. The showers are free for registered guests and the General Store & Gift Shop is there for any additional needs. Pets are allowed and there are plenty of shade trees. We enjoyed our stay so much we stayed a day longer than originally planned.

Room Tip: The area near the office is elevated for a nice view of the Animas river.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tambobamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Spent 2 nights at this very nice campground and had a great time.The campsites are very spacious and clean.There is also a trolly that stops to take you to Durango every 20 min.Laundry,showers and store onsite.Awesome place!!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank jetskrtal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Beautiful setting, friendly folks, easy to navigate and level...really nice! Vibrant gold fall colors surround the sites. Great views up and down the valley. Wonderful atmosphere in mid-October. Durango train runs through campground...really fun! Great wifi and Verizon cell service. We have been full timing for almost two years and this is absolutely one of our favorite spots. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

As with everything, there is good and bad. The campground is generally well kept. There is a pool for those who want it. There are RV spaces and tent campers so not really an RV resort.

The Durango Silverton train goes right by the campground which is cool.

We were there in a travel trailer. The laundry facility is fine but nothing spectacular. Although the dryers were cheap compared to other places. The bathrooms and showers can get very dirty. Hubby would rush in to take a shower right after they were cleaned. I used our RV cause I am fussy.

Wifi is kind of slow but we have never been at a campground or RV resort where it is fast.

Overall we would come back since we know the shortcomings and are willing to live with them. The views are pretty too.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Midwestspagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

The tracks for the Durango & Silverton Railroad run through this campground. They have three trains to Silverton in the morning, returning in the afternoon. The campground has RVs on the uphill side of the tracks and tents on the downhill side of the tracks. The campground was full when we got there, only one space left, which they gave to us. We had called to make a reservation, but the person answering the phone told us to hold and left the phone off the hook, but never picked it up again. We could hear transactions going on in the store, but no one ever picked up the phone again. The campground has a pool that closes as 8:45 pm. Sites are close together. The building with the office, store and bathrooms is uphill from the sites. Bathrooms are clean.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vroecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews