We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
40
31
10
11
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
31
10
11
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train runs level sites clean restrooms rv spaces the durango silverton train full hookups close to town trolley stop travel trailer great wifi nice rv park bath house trolley service laundry facility enjoyed our stay worked fine animas river
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2017

The tracks for the Durango & Silverton Railroad run through this campground. They have three trains to Silverton in the morning, returning in the afternoon. The campground has RVs on the uphill side of the tracks and tents on the downhill side of the tracks. The campground was full when we got there, only one space left, which they gave to us. We had called to make a reservation, but the person answering the phone told us to hold and left the phone off the hook, but never picked it up again. We could hear transactions going on in the store, but no one ever picked up the phone again. The campground has a pool that closes as 8:45 pm. Sites are close together. The building with the office, store and bathrooms is uphill from the sites. Bathrooms are clean.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vroecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

The campground has the steam train running right through the middle, which is very cool. It is set in a nice canyon. The downtown is very nice and about 4 miles away. The town shuttle stops frequently right at the gate.

The places are much nicer than those that are internal.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank VNORVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

This was a great place just a mile or so out of Durango, towards Silverton. The RV sites had full hook up, nice showers and good laundry facilities. The fun part of the Durango Silverton train ran through the camp site, so you got to wave to the passengers and they waved back. The internet did not work well when there were a lot of campers. The was a good central location for us as we drove to Silverton and visited Old Town Durango. It was about 8 miles from the nearest Walmart. Stop at the Walmart on your way into town would have been better. There was pool for the kids and general store too. The trolley service was easily available if we had needed it.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Very nice RV park; well maintained. Helpful staff. Great having the trains transiting right through the park; fun way to wake up. Trolley stop makes local transportation convenient. Cable service would make it a 5.

Room tip: Request front row.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bhadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

I think this place is just fantastic. Friendly and helpful staff, beautiful and well kept facility, and scenery that just can't be beat. Fantastic restroom/shower/laundry. If I have to come up with negative, I wish the store had better choices of snacks and beverages. I'm sure I will be back again.

Room tip: Pick a spot close to the tracks and the restroom
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrummerD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews