We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
United Campground
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Durango
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Siesta Motel(Durango)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caboose Motel(Durango)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budget Inn(Durango)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
36
30
10
10
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
30
10
10
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain runslevel sitesclean restroomsthe durango silverton trainfull hookupsrv spacestravel trailertrolley stopgreat wifinice rv parktrolley servicelaundry facilityenjoyed our stayworked fineanimas rivereasy accessview of the river
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

Site with a view of the river. Full hookups. Patchy internal but the owners are actively working on it and told us where to find best phone reception. ATT worked fine for us. The steam engine went by in the morning for extra character. Loved it. There is a trolley to town for convenience. Pool was closed but it also was too cold for me to want to swim. The owner and son were very kind and extra helpful when we arrived after hours.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank happytravelers97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

We choose this RV Park in Durango since it was on the Scenic Hwy 550. We wanted to tour and hike the area around here. This RV Park is so well kept with gravel sites. It was $45 a night for full hookup and 50 amps. That's the going rate everywhere it seems for a nice RV park. Downtown is very close and easy to get too. The restaurants downtown are so good and way too hard to pick one.
Don't miss Oscars Cafe for Breakfast. I've never eaten at a better Cafe. Just WOW!!
There is a fantastic hiking trail across the street on Animas Mountain. Just love Durango!!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Nice campground. very clean. Good location.

We enjoyed watching the Durango/Silverton train pass by in the mornings and afternoon.

The trees were changing colors and were beautiful. They will be closing for the winter very soon.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Great check-in for starters -- they must have changed front office staff (from previous reviews) because the young woman and man who checked me in couldn't have been nicer and more helpful. (Seems like he might be the owner's son, and she's his fiancee.) Good amenities; great wifi. Bathrooms were clean, if a bit familial. :-D It's definitely closer quarters, and seemed great for families. Several showers. The RV spaces were roomy (we were in a camper, but were next to two Class A's), shaded by trees, graveled (nice!) but with grassy areas in between too. Great for pets. The train comes RIGHT through the campground, which (though loud), is a plus! Great fun to see the old-style engine come chugging through. This campground is a great location too -- across the street from a trolley (I hear it's $1!!) to town, and itself easy to turn into from either direction. We'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MandolinDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

For reference, this summer we stayed at 4 different RV campgrounds in Durango. They were each truly nice and had pros and cons. I think of all them, this was our favorite spot in terms of sufficiently having access to the things we needed the most:

1) Shaded sites -- not all are shaded, but we requested one and they were helpful in trying (and successfully) accommodating this.

2) Easy access to green space to walk our dogs -- you aren't allowed to walk your pets in the green space dedicated for tent campers. However, there is still a larger stretch of hilly green space coming down the hill from the campground all the way to the railroad tracks, which separates the tent campground from the rest of the sites. This worked out perfectly well for us. There is no actual fenced dog park area. This is not ideal, but we still found this worked well for us and we had no issues with our 3 dogs.

3) Decent internet connection -- obviously how well this works depends on your site and the time of day. But it was fully booked up during our stay, and several days I was able to work remotely from inside our RV. The internet worked great all day until about 5pm, so I cannot complain. It was the best internet connection of all campgrounds we stayed at in Durango.

A few other perks:

The Durango-Silverton Train Passes Right By! This is sort of fun to watch and wave at the people riding the train. You can hear it or go see it multiple times a day.

5) Love the layered / tiered layout of the campground. It's nice to be able to walk around and have different views because the campground is established on an old hill.

6) Beautiful views of old farm land and mountains on the other side of the rail road tracks.

7) Cheap Trolley Rides into Town - this was the only campground located right across the street from a Trolley pickup / drop off location. One night we just walked up the hill and took the trolley to downtown for cocktails and dinner. It was nice to be able to relax and have a drink and not worry about having to drive.

8) Guy with Water Trucks Sprays the Gravel to Eliminate Dust -- they fill up their truck and spray all of the grounds. I would see them do this at least twice a day. We never had any problems with dust or debris, so this is a nice feature.

Cons:
1) The office didn't seem to provide personal assistance in navigating into or out of the sites in the RVs / campers. They are pretty tight spots, and a nice feature of other parks is that they personally guide you into your spot. They did allow us to choose the direction we wanted to face. We lucked out and got the direction we wanted because the other sites next to us were empty (until 30 minutes later when they both showed up and had to face the non-optimal direction in order to pull in).

If we return to Durango, I think out of all the campgrounds we stayed at, we would seek this one out again first. It just had a more casual atmosphere that worked for us along with the above.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eatkins0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews