We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
134
11
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
134
11
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet neighborhood train station private balcony national register of historic places historic victorian homemade muffins normal breakfast floor fan other guests b and b an ideal location downtown shopping two nights gracious hosts breakfast burrito restaurants and shops the main street
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The Gable House was well decorated and maintained. Very clean! Heather, the owner, was very hospitable and pleasant. We felt very welcome in her home. Yummy breakfast foods were served with style. We have stayed in a number of B and B's and our only negative was the price....a night time treat, a glass of wine would have been a nice extra. The close location of being able to walk to downtown Durango was great. We saw many deer while running and walking in the area! We would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomBurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

A comfortable and elegant home, the Gable house became our 'evening of relaxation' earlier this month during a week long road-trip through the 'old mining commuities' of Colorado.

A tasteful and exquisitely maintained location, Heather (the owner/proprietor) delights in ensuring the accommodations provide all that is needed to ensure a peaceful and memorable evening in the Colorado Rockies. Durango has numerous opportunity for 'getaway' adventures. The Gable House provides not only an excellent location (walking distance to downtown) but also a quiet and well-appointed home that ensures you are well rested and 'up and ready' for the next event. A surprise desert presented while enjoying wine on the balcony with friends was very well received. :-)

Given the opportunity, we'll happily visit again.

Thanks Heather!

Dan T.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

If you're staying in town, might as well be walking distance to main street. The gable house is a short walk to restaurants, the train and all the downtown attractions. The rooms are warm, bright and comfortable and Heather is a wonderful host.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan33490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This was my third straight year at the Gable House and it gets better each year (if that is possible). Heather, our host, and her great partner Michael will make your stay be just like home, without the worry of home chores. The Gable House is luxury, in the most simplest of settings. It is awesome and a must place to stay when you travel to Durango. If you're not sure what to do, Heather or Michael can offer suggestions and plan your day trip. They know all the great places and things to do. The Gable House breakfast is wonderful, the hospitality top-notch and while I'm not visiting, you can spend time on my second floor porch. Now that is a relaxing place to enjoy some quiet time and cocktails.

Room Tip: All the rooms are just beautiful and very clean.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I feel very fortunate to have found this lovely B&B and its owner, Heather, in my recent travels to Durango. This Victorian home is impeccably clean and well appointed in every way without being overdone and flowery as so many Victorians are! The gardens and outdoor space are as and inviting as the inside. The beds are extremely comfortable, the bedrooms and baths are cozy and the linens are top notch and met the approval of this linen-snob :-) Heather treats her guests like royalty and I checked out two days later with a new-found friend. I echo the other reviewers comments on location as well - it couldn't be more convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewisburg_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews