We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A great experience on the Edge!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shelf Road

Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mostly unpaved, this road travels between Cripple Creek and Canon City and promises outstanding views.
Colorado
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A great experience on the Edge!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

A great day trip through the back country. Very scenic area with big drp offs, the road is truely a shelf!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank totman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    21
    5
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The first time I drove this road I thought why am I doing this?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

As I drove along, and made a few stops along the creek side pull outs, and just stopped to take in the view, I realized that you jsut don't get to see our country this way anymore. Make sure you drive a four wheel drive vehicle, and aren't afraid of heights.

Helpful?
1 Thank PMA69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
121 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“AWESOME DRIVE! DO IT!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Definitely one of the highlights of our Colorado trip. :) We loved the thrill of the one-lane cliffside roads, but not dangerous at all. It takes a while (about an hour), but TOTALLY worth the time! Little "ghost camps" on the side of the road some places, most consisting of a post with the name of the camp. We saw an abandoned well. VERY cool!!!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank lauren374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Divide, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can be scary!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

You are SO hanging off the edge of the mountain on this road! It is not for the faint of heart. You will see beautiful scenery and, if you are lucky, Rocky Mountain Big Horn Sheep (look near Window Rock towards the north end of the route). Best to take this road that goes between Cripple Creek and Canon City in a North-to-South direction, as you hug the cliff on the right. Go the other way and you will feel like you are on the precipice much of the way. BTW, the road is not always two cars widths wide, so if you do encounter oncoming traffic, one of you will need to back up to a wide spot in the road...

Helpful?
3 Thank masdivide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“To further review....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

From pavement to pavement, it really isn't very far.
I usually do this stretch in under 30 minutes.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoElkheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shelf Road also viewed

 

Been to Shelf Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing