We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real People, Comfort and Adventure”
Review of Elk Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elk Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cookeville, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Real People, Comfort and Adventure”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This was our second visit to Mountain Lodge and it was wonderful. I wondered if 5 days would be too long of a visit, but I found myself wanting to stay another five. Erica, Mike and Tracey are super. They share their knowledge about the mountains and the town. No doubt, that they cater to outdoor enthusiast. Mountain bikes are welcome in storage as are ideas and suggestions for great rides. Thanks for the great stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ontheride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    56
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
47
130
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The location is two walkable blocks from the historical downtown. Our room was perfectly adequate with the very slight complaint the toilet area was a bit cramped. The WiFi worked fine, and they have a commercial laundry for their own use the guests are welcome to use at $5/load which included soap and the washer plus dryer. There's an inside hot tub, and free bikes (not first rate but serviceable) for you. Drinks are available in the afternoon, and there are several public areas to hang out in. Breakfast was pancakes, sausage, two kinds of cold cereal, cut up fruit, two kinds of bread to toast along with three kinds of jam. Tea, coffee, and orange juice completed breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This hotel is an a great spot, very close to the main drag in Crested Butte but its getting a little shabby and could do with some sprucing up. Faded old pictures dot the walls (blue is a bad sign) and the plants all along the top corridor are withering away. And why so mean with the coffee? could you have got a smaller coffee dispenser?? This is America , we run on caffeine! And whats with the 10.30 checkout? - and the depressing muzak - not everyone likes modern jazz all day and every day....... come on guys - you need to up your game.......

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies and the best views are on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank totankayotanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nolan72, Owner at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
If the worst thing is faded pictures in the 3rd floor hallway and a small coffee pot I'm not sure this warrants a negative review? There was nothing negative said about the rooms or breakfast. I guess he missed our commercial espresso machine that makes very strong coffee and our 10 pieces of original art. Sorry, can't play rock and roll while people are reading.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Marshfield, OH
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Very nice rooms all with a view. Nothing fancy but clean rooms with comfortable beds. Expanded continental breakfast buffet with a hot entree, wonderful local breads and jams and lots of fruit. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate always available and afternoon sweets (if you get there in time). Short walk to downtown and helpful staff who can recommend restaurants and things you must see.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColdeComfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield, MA
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2011

First of all, Crested Butte Colorado is frickin cool. I love that town! Great places to bike, decent places to eat, and it's all within easy walking distance from Elk Mountain Lodge.

We flew into Denver and rented a car and drove to Crested Butte. Our car sat in Crested Butte pretty much our entire stay there - we just biked to the trails we rode and walked to town. Some folks from North Carolina flew into Grand Junction and took a shuttle to Crested Butte which was a good way to go.

My wife got altitude sickness and we arrived at the hotel a little early and they offered for her to stay in the downstairs area until the room was ready and they let us into the room early.

I guess our room was the smallest in the whole place. It was small, but sufficient. It had no A/C, but did have a ceiling fan. I hate the heat and it was quite hot while we were there and the room was tolerable, but I could have gone for some A/C. Some rooms had a little balcony and might have had better ventilation and would have been pretty neat, but ours didn't. We did have TV and got to watch the end of the Tour De France which was great!

But, don't dwell on the A/C. I absolutely loved staying there. You could sit inside downstairs or outside on a small deck and everyone was so friendly - we kept talking to everyone staying there - it was very cool.

They had a small room we could store our bikes in and a hose to wash them off.

The different people at the front desk were great. They knew the local trails and explained where we could go ride and their recommendations were fantastic. They also recommended different places to eat which I was very happy with, especially Secret Stash Pizza.

But the best part was the big area for breakfast. We met so many nice people during breakfast and got to talk to them about where they had biked or hiked and we all traded stories of what to do in the area and where we were from and what we were doing. It was really nice.

So - bottom line is - I LOVE CRESTED BUTTE, LOVED MEETING PEOPLE AT THE LODGE, APPRECIATED THE RECOMMENDATIONS FROM THE STAFF. We even saw one of the women staff members out hiking one day while we were biking. Really great place to stay.

We liked Crested Butte and the Lodge so much, we actually tried to extend our stay but the place was booked. We ended up finding a place up at Mount Crested Butte (up on the mountain) and that wasn't very good at all - I mean - the room was fine, but Mount Crested Butte is nothing compared to the real Crested Butte.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTBIKEXCSKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crested Butte hotels
3.6 km away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
788 reviews
3.7 km away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
268 reviews
3.9 km away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
640 reviews
0.7 km away
Inn at Crested Butte
Inn at Crested Butte
#8 of 9 in Crested Butte
143 reviews
0.7 km away
Cristiana Guesthaus
Cristiana Guesthaus
#5 of 9 in Crested Butte
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Mountain Lodge

Property: Elk Mountain Lodge
Address: 129 Gothic Ave, At Second & Gothic Ave, Crested Butte, CO 81224
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crested Butte
Price range (per night): $188 - $326
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Crested Butte’s Historic Inn” A modest, yet elegant, bed & breakfast lodge with 19 quaint rooms downtown Crested Butte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Elk Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk Mountain Hotel Crested Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing