We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overwhelmingly brilliant”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clark
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vista Verde Guest Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overwhelmingly brilliant”
Reviewed 7 September 2010

This is the first holiday that made me cry - at the thought of leaving! Every day was better than the one before and the only problem was climbing the steps to our fabulous cabin to change for the next activity. Never before have we been anywhere where every single member of staff was so wonderful, without exception.
Everything else has been said already, and there are no superlatives left to describe Vista Verde Ranch. Needless to say we are already planning the next trip there.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roomwithnoview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
74
55
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2010

The staff at Vista Verde are top quality people, exceedingly kind and hospitable and competent and interesting. The horse program is tops--based on the Spanish riding school, offering individual lessons on well-trained and tended horses. It's a real working ranch too, with 1000 cattle that really need to be located and moved on tens of thousands of acres, so one can really get a cowboy experience too if one likes. The custom aspect of this ranch is also wonderful--there are enough staff such that everyone could have a private guide every day for every activity. the all-inclusive price is also a bonus--it seemed like a steep price going in, but everything is included (unless you want a massage or hot air balloon ride)--the rodeo in steamboat, river kayaking, all the delicious food and beer and wine, they even strongly discouraged a tip saying their price is meant to be all-inclusive. The children's program was also tops-- the staff were people you wanted your children with--ours were older and the teen program accommodated all ages very well. Finally the physical plant is gorgeous--from the cabins to the great room, from the huge indoor ring to the splendid fly fishing streams and hiking areas and national forest riding trails that go out from the ranch in every direction. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jollyoneVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2010

I found Vista Verde Ranch in a book on ranches purchased for my boss who, by the way, never went. It was between Vista Verde and The Home which is just down the road. We have, since finding this paradise on earth, gone every February except for one or two for the past 14 years. I never thought I wanted to go back to any place year after year but, this Ranch makes you feel like you're home - this is the way life should be. The place is beautiful - the landscape can't be beat. The activities are terrific from the cross country skiing, back country skiing, snow showing, horseback riding (yes, even in the snow) and sleigh rides. The cabins are lovely with home made furniture, a hot tub to rest your weary bones at the end of a busy day, snacks, and a wonderful wood burning stove. The staff is the best we've ever experienced. Some of them have been there for many years and even the newbies couldn't be more helpful. We've made so many friends there and have actually traveled abroad with some of them. It's a joke among the people who have been going to the Ranch for years that it's our secret and we don't want to share this magnificent place with anyone. But, do yourself a favor and experience the true West. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pocketrockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2010

When my parents first told me i was going with them to Vista Verde i was less than thrilled- horses were not my best friends- what a difference a week can make! I had an AWESOME WEEK!!
The staff was by far incredible! They were always on top of things, from making sure all the teens were always having fun to making sure we all got connected with each other. My horse, Sparky, still isn't my best friend but i still enjoyed riding him every day- VVR has a lot to offer and I will definitely be visiting again!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggtexasprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Vista Verde Ranch is simply fabulous! Our family has traveled and vacationed together often, yet we all agreed that our time at VVR was our best family vacation ever! When I signed up our family of ten I thought the Ranch was rather expensive, but after being there only a few days I saw it as a real bargain! I knew everything was included, but I didn't really understand the extent and quality of the activities and the staff or that everything would be done so amazingly well! VVR offers a wide range of activities led by friendly and knowledgeable guides, and I loved not having to schedule until the night before. The children's program was so great that we had a hard time prying the kids away for a family ride! At other places our children (ages 6,8,10, and 11) often did not participate in the children's program.

Top these wonderful activities off with charming and well appointed cabins, loads of fine fresh food, and the friendliest (yet non-intrusive) staff ever and it makes for a perfect vacation. Our family will definitely be back! Thank you, Vista Verde, for being so special!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clark
33.9 km away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#4 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
638 reviews
30.8 km away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#14 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
187 reviews
32.3 km away
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat...
#2 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Elk River Guest Ranch
34.1 km away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Steamboat Springs
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Steambo...
#8 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
187 reviews
30.7 km away
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Spring...
#1 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Verde Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Verde Guest Ranch

Property: Vista Verde Guest Ranch
Address: 58000 Cowboy Way, Clark, CO 80428
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Clark
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Clark
Price range (per night): $470 - $722
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista Verde offers a diverse selection of activities making it more than just a riding ranch. Summer: hiking, rock-climbing, mountain biking and fly-fishing, trail riding and lessons. Winter: skiing, snowshoeing, sleigh rides and snowy horseback rides. Secluded cabins feature private hot tubs and wood stoves, with gourmet dining, wine tasting and cooking classes adding to the experience. Creative childrens' program makes it enjoyable for everyone, with special times set aside for adult only escapes ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vista Verde Guest Ranch Hotel Clark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing