We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic retreat in the Lowther Hills”
other travellers have booked this property
Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage
Lounge area Lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Cottage
Lounge area
Lounge area
Kitchen/Dining area
Bathroom
Bathroom
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
En Suite
Shower in en suite
Twin Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
View from house
Local area walk
View in winter
Museum
View from above the houses on the Southern Upland Way
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Wanlockhead, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Caroline...
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Idyllic retreat in the Lowther Hills”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

After more than a decade of holidaying in and around the Wanlockhead area, this self catering property is by far and away the most luxurious. Its the most comfortable, best equipped cottage with stunning views overlooking the village that we have ever stayed in.
On letting ourselves in, the first thing that hit us was the very tasteful decoration, I adored the face on the huge kitchen wall clock, which was more of an ornament., loved it.
The cottage is of modern build materials and I would guess very heavily insulated due to how warm the cottage was. The central heating was on in the morn just to take the overnight chill away. This held the heat in the cottage for most of the day....
Early every morn a young lamb would come to the east door and tap the glass with his horns to get the attention of our Westie, I do believe the lamb wanted to play.We had rabbits galore on the other side of the fence and on one day we saw two mountain hares passing by only thirty yards away.
So delightful was this idyllic Lowther hill retreat, we have booked again already for next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything was above our expectation.
Liked least: absolutely nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
Thanks for your lovely review and look forward to welcoming you again next year. It is fantastic when the lambs are just wandering around!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Feb 2016
Thanks for your lovely review go glad you enjoyed the cottage and the views and look forward to hearing from you again soon.

Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Robert M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful views and a lovely cottage!!”
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This was our second time staying at this cottage, it was just as lovely as the first time we stayed. The cottage itself is very well presented and immaculately kept, everything you could ever need to hand and absolutely gorgeous views from the cottage and stunning scenery en-route to it. Some very nice walks around about the cottage and down in the village of Wanlockhead itself. We will no doubt be visiting again in the future :) Highly recommend this cottage to everyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2016
Thanks for your review its a pleasure to welcome you back and hopefully you'll visit again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Jan 2016
Hi thanks for your review and glad you had a lovely weekend. I believe luckily one of the neighbours was on hand with his four wheel drive to take your bags up! There are board games in the twin room with the DVD's and books. Look forward to hearing from you again in the future.

Thanks

Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shappaeye
Ammanford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bliss”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We have never stayed anywhere in Scotland on holiday before. Struggling for ideas for New Years Eve and not wanting to leave our slightly mad Springer Spaniel behind, I decided to give Scotland a go as we just wanted to relax. In case you don’t read the rest of what I write, I’ll summarise now, the finest, most relaxing 5 days I have ever spent in the UK.

The road to the village where the cottage is located is quiet and travels through some simply stunning scenery of Lanarkshire and Dumfries and Galloway. You realise as soon as you start on this road, it’s tucked out of the way.

The cottage was beautiful, well equipped, spacious and warm. It had everything we could possibly need. Before we got there we kept wondering ‘I wonder if there is a …………’, it was all there.

The view from the cottage was also beautiful, overlooking the small village of Wanlockhead. The owner was always quick to reply to my email before we arrived at the cottage and helped whenever she could.

If you want to get away from a busy day job or go ‘off the grid’ and experience a quiet rural setting with stunning scenery, book now.

The only point I would make is that a decent mobile phone signal is hard to come by but it is floating around there somewhere but if I’m honest, I didn’t care. If we needed to send a text, we stood out on the decking and we could get a bar or 2 on EE/Orange.

We loved it, our dog loved it, we are definitely going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Silence
Liked least: We weren't there for long enough!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2016
What a lovely review thanks for that, glad you enjoyed the peace and had a good new year. Look forward to hearing from you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 81
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing