We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
159
9
0
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
9
0
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely breakfast one night tropical paradise lovely couple yogurt rooms were spotless a great place to stay laid back every morning little piece of paradise home made robert wallabies hosts garden rainforest wildlife
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2012

This is a gorgeous B&B. Robert and Adrienne made us feel really welcome, and the home made muffins for breakfast and evening drinks on the verendah were a lovely touch. It was the perfect balance between warm hospitality and giving us space and privacy.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purplygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Robert & Adrienne Owners of Hibiscus Lodge reply
Thankyou Helen and Martin for such a wonderful review.
We are so pleased that you felt at home and comfortable at the Lodge yet were able to feel that you had your own privacy.
At Hibiscus Lodge we always try and maintain a balance between friendly and homely surroundings coupled with guest privacy. It seems to work well at Hibiscus Lodge.

Pleased you enjoyed the breakfast and in particular Adrienne's wonderful banana and bluberry muffins.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

we recently enjoyed our second stay with Adrienne and Robert at their wonderful home and it just gets better .They welcome you like friends and they make you feel like your staying with family.The place itself is clean and modern .There is free wifi and tea and coffee.The breakfast is wonderful with homemade muffins and jams and if you are lucky you may share breakfast time with a cassowary or a wallaby.This time we took some friends and they have also fell in love with this gem.We cant wait to go back for our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Owners Robert & Adrienne reply.
Thankyou Sue & Keith for a fantastic review.
Pleased you introduced us to your wonderful friends Ali & Mark and we are pleased you all had a great time.
Having breakfast with Sammy the Cassowary was a special treat especially for your friends who had not seen a Cassowary before. Our local Wallaby family cooperated and had breakfast with you all as well which was great.
Look forward to seeing you all again soon and you will all be welcome to return anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We recently stayed at the wonderfull Hibiscus Lodge in Mission Beach. This was our first stop on our trip through the east-coast and we couldnt have started it off better!
Our hosts Robert and Adrienne are just wonderful and you feel welcome immediatly. The rooms are beautifull, clean and modern.
Breakfast is delicious, everything is fresh and you wake up with the smell of freshly baked croissants or muffins in the morning. What a way to start your day! If your lucky, and we were, the Cassowary and Wallabies join you for breakfast in their beautifull backyard.
Mission Beach is a great place for a visit to the Great Barrier Reef, since it's just a short boattrip away and with much smaller groups than we encountered in other places.
Robert and Adrienne, Thank you so much for our wonderfull stay! We will miss you now that we're in back home in Holland and wish you all the best with your wonderfull B&B!
Felix and Fiona

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Owners Robert & Adrienne reply.
Thanks Fiona and Felix. Thankyou for being so generous.
We are particularly pleased you went out to The Great Barrier Reef from Mission Beach. It is the best part of the Barrier Reef and so close to the shores of Mission Beach.
Pleased you both enjoyed Adrienne's home baking for breakfast. Adrienne's muffins are becoming quite a hit especially the blueberry. Robert's Mixed Berry Parfaits are now a close second though.
Hope to see you both again sometime in the future at this special place called Hibiscus Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

We had 3 nights in beautiful Mission Beach and tremendously enjoyed our stay at the lovely B&B of Adrienne& Robert. Rooms are clean, comfy and charmingly decorated, you have everything you need with ensuite, aircon, free WiFi, complementary tea& coffee and even a large DVD and book selection to choose from. The estate has an amazing garden with lots of flowers & wildlife (birds, wallabies, lace monitor) and we've enjoyed the yummy breakfast on the porch and sunset drinks with the owners on the veranda. Robert went above&beyond to help us with the booking of activities, restaurant advice and tips for wildlife spotting in the area and we are certainly croquet pros now thanks to his lessons. Thanks again for this lovely experience- we hope we can visit again very soon!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlepenguin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

Robert & Adrienne Owners reply.
Thankyou Anne and Ralf for such an awesome review.
We are so pleased you all enjoyed the Lodge and Mission Beach.
German guests are so enjoyable to have as guests as they always seem to use teir time exploring the area. Pleased you all had a good day on Dunk Island trampng in the rainforest and also the many bush walks in the area. Our only disappointment was that you could not get out o The Great Barrier Reef because of weather confitions.
Oh well its a good excuse to return one day. Soon we hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Have just returned from our weekend away at Mission Beach where we stayed at Hibiscus Lodge. What an absolute hidden gem of a B & B.
The hosts Robert & Adrienne were absolutely fantastic, with freshly made tropical breakfasts included each day.
Adrienne made some fantastic banana & walnut muffins on our first morning whilst Robert made a fantastic strawberry yoghurt dish the next day, both days accompanied with cereal's, toast, homemade jams, fresh fruit salads, tea, coffee and much more.
Set in the grounds of rainforest you get the chance to see so much wildlife from wallabies to even being able to see Cassowary's if your lucky.
We enjoyed our complimentary beer each night whilst playing crocquet, wow this place had so much to offer we wanted to stay longer..
Adrienne & Robert, we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guernsey_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Owners Robert & Adrienne reply.
Thankyou Mark & Ali for such a fantastic review.
Pleased you enjoyed Robert's FAMOUS "Tropical Mixed Berry Parfait". They are certainly creating a big hit with guests.
Guests are commenting on the healthy breakfasts we are creating and remarking how different and healthier it is to your normal unhealthy fried bacon and eggs type food. We are so pleased you enjoyed your breakfast.
Croquet is also a big hit especially in the later afternoon. As a first timer we were pleased you had some fun with your friends. Not too sure who won as there seemed to be a lot of laughter ging on.
Look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews