We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
30
50
35
21
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
50
35
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanwafflesroyal gorgecomfortable temperaturecomfortable king size bedblock from main streetwalls are thinpool and hot tubspent two nightshard boiled eggswe've stayedcontinental breakfastin towngreat place to staycerealmotelinternet
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2016

The room was clean but needed updating. We requested a quiet room, and our 2nd floor rear room was exactly that. Housekeeping did a good with what they had. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The location is the main selling point for this hotel. 5 minutes walk to the train and old town and the best restaurant in Canon City, Le Petit Chablis.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rear room. No elevator.....stairs are quite steep
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Econo L, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear Philbytx,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Econo Lodge in Canon City, CO. It is such great news that you were accommodated with a quiet room on the 2nd floor and that the staff was pleasant and helpful. We are pleased you chose to stay at our hotel and that you liked the location because it is close to down town and across from the Royal Gorge Train. We hope you will choose to stay at our hotel again in the future.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Swart
Front Desk/Night Auditor
Econo Lodge
Canon City, CO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

We were able to walk to the train, and to a wonderful city park, and a quilt shop. The main problem is that we had a 1st floor room and everyone that walked on the 2nd floor sounded like an elephant. The hot tub was really hot and the heated pool was too cool for me. The employees were all very friendly and helpful. I would stay there again, just on the 2nd floor.

Room Tip: Second floor would be best since the footsteps seem really loud above you on the first floor.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mcboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Econo L, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear mcboyd,
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel. We love knowing you liked the location and were able to enjoy some of the local sights and attractions. We are sorry you had a 1st floor and could hear everyone on the 2nd floor. We would be more than happy to accommodate you with a room on the 2nd floor next time. Once again, thank you for writing a review of your stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Swart
Front Desk/Night Auditor
Econo Lodge
Canon City, CO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

I'll start out with the problems. First mucus on inside shower curtain...gross, no bath mat, door knob about to fall off on bathroom door and you had to lock it to keep it closed, funky smell, 2 wash cloths for 4 people, no luggage rack, and we could hear every footstep on the top floor, also no elevator. Skimpy breakfast, one waffle iron and cereal. Would not stay here again.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Denise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Econo L, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear Denise O,
On behalf of the owners and staff, I would like to apologize for the terrible experience you had at our hotel in 2016 and would like you to know we have made a lot of improvements to the hotel since your stay including new owners. We would love to have you stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Swart
Front Desk/Night Auditor
Econo Lodge
Canon City, CO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Don't judge by your first impression.

We walked in and were greeted by a very pleasant young lady, who checked us in quickly. no lower floor available but she put us in the end room 2nd floor away from traffic areas.

The place is old, but very secure, need a key card to get in every door except the front.

2 story no elevator.

The carpet is old, and a big stain was on the floor just inside my room door, My thoughts were running now, as you can imagine.

BUT, the room was clean, refridgerator, Beds were clean, Air worked Great, Shower was hot and plenty of pressure, WI-FI worked fine, I'm on the upper edge, remember.

The pool area was small, but the hot tub was hot and the jets worked, Pool was warm and the kids enjoyed it.

Continental Breakfast was fresh, plenty pastry,cereal, juice and waffle maker.

Don't judge by the age, everything we needed was here, good nights sleep, and pleasant people, at a better price than what was available then.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Calvin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Econo L, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear Calvin L,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel. It is so nice to know how much you enjoyed your stay in 2016. Since you last stayed with us we have made a lot of improvements to the hotel. We would love to have you stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Swart
Front Desk/Night Auditor
Econo Lodge
Canon City, CO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

This motel was conveniently located right on the highway. The front desk lady was exceptionally nice, and they accept pets. The breakfast was okay, as expected for this quality of motel. Canon City is a very busy place, and all the motels were very full, so don't be scared to stay here if you can't get into one of the higher rated hotels. The only reason I'm giving it 4 instead of 5 is because of the false advertising of "truck parking." We were pulling a trailer of 4-wheelers and needed some space to park. They actually do have parking available, but it is across the highway in a parking lot of another business. This is actually better than nothing in such a crowded town, however it is not close and it is not convenient if you need to go back and forth to your vehicle. Not sure about how safe it is either since it isn't monitored by cameras like the Econo Lodge facility is.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Econo L, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear Sharon S,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel. It is so nice to know how much you enjoyed your stay in 2016. Since you last stayed with us we have made a lot of improvements to the hotel. We would love to have you stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Swart
Front Desk/Night Auditor
Econo Lodge
Canon City, CO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews