We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once great campground gone downhill”

Collegiate Peaks Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buena Vista
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Collegiate Peaks Campground
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Stayed at this campground many times over the years and it was very nice. After my last visit I will not use this campground again.
The camp sites where trashy, the vault toilets were not swept out and had not been pumped out for quite some time.
The water sites (only one working) were dirty and the water quality low.
Never saw the camp ground host, and the camp host site looked like a third world refugee camp.
People allowed their dogs to run loose, even though there is a leash rule.
Never saw anyone from the USFS or I would have complained in person.
NOT worth $20 a night. Not even close!!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank fidocamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2016

I arrived at 2:30 p.m. on a recent Friday, and although there were allegedly 14 walk-up sites available as of the previous day, ALL of them were tagged as reserved, even though only 3-4 had gear there. So that means that 10-11 parties arrived, paid their fee, marked the sites as reserved, and left without unloading any gear. Within half an hour of the check-in time. Yeah, right. Seems pretty suspicious, and the "host" was nowhere to be found.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank Rsette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2015

My 15 y/o son and I really enjoyed our 2-night stay here in Aug 2015. There were lots of sites to choose from & it's a bit more remote than some of the others nearby, yet still close to BV and many things to do in the area. Highly recommend this campground. We were in site #7 which was large & good. Primo site appears to be #G which is right next to the creek and a bit more tucked away. Next time. :)

Room Tip: We were in site #7 which was large & good. Primo site appears to be #G which is right next to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jschalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2015

We did not reserve a campsite, but had no problem finding a spot and setting up. The facilities were clean, campsite was beautiful and most importantly, close to the trailhead for Mt. Yale. We had a great time and would for sure go back to the site. Super beautiful with all the aspen trees and creek nearby.

Read about it at KailainTheWorld.com

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank kailaintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

If you are considering this campground there are definitely pros and cons. It is ideally located to several trailheads into the national forest. But the campground has problems. When we were camping in August of 2015 one (of two) water pumps was broken. So one pump served about 50 camp sites. Plus, the water that came out of that pump was disgusting. It tasted and smelled like rust AND it actually had particles that appears to be rust in it. After the first day we could not stomach the taste and just filtered water from the river. We stayed for 5 nights and the campground host only bothered to sweep out the toilets once. Almost ran out of toilet paper too. Look, I don't expect luxury at a campground but for $20 a night I want water and reliable toilet paper. I've stayed at USFS campgrounds before and they are much more well kept than this one.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Macbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buena Vista hotels
1.7 km away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
213 reviews
1 km away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
507 reviews
0.8 km away
Super 8 Buena Vista
Super 8 Buena Vista
#2 of 3 in Buena Vista
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Buffalo Peaks Bed and Breakfast
0.7 km away
Pinon Court Cabins
Pinon Court Cabins
#3 of 3 in Buena Vista
163 reviews
0.7 km away
No photo provided
Rivers Mountain Motel
#5 of 18 in Buena Vista
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Collegiate Peaks Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collegiate Peaks Campground

Address: State Highway 306, Buena Vista, CO
Region: United States > Colorado > Buena Vista
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Buena Vista
Number of rooms: 56

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing