We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rivers Mountain Motel(Buena Vista)(Great Value!)
USD 161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins(Buena Vista)(Great Value!)
USD 60
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
USD 427
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Monarch Mountain Lodge(Monarch)(Great Value!)
USD 110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 113
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Liars' Lodge(Buena Vista)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
2
4
1
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
4
1
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2015

We did not reserve a campsite, but had no problem finding a spot and setting up. The facilities were clean, campsite was beautiful and most importantly, close to the trailhead for Mt. Yale. We had a great time and would for sure go back to the site. Super beautiful with all the aspen trees and creek nearby.

Read about it at KailainTheWorld.com

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank kailaintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

If you are considering this campground there are definitely pros and cons. It is ideally located to several trailheads into the national forest. But the campground has problems. When we were camping in August of 2015 one (of two) water pumps was broken. So one pump served about 50 camp sites. Plus, the water that came out of that pump was disgusting. It tasted and smelled like rust AND it actually had particles that appears to be rust in it. After the first day we could not stomach the taste and just filtered water from the river. We stayed for 5 nights and the campground host only bothered to sweep out the toilets once. Almost ran out of toilet paper too. Look, I don't expect luxury at a campground but for $20 a night I want water and reliable toilet paper. I've stayed at USFS campgrounds before and they are much more well kept than this one.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Macbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

I camped here with my daughter's and one of my daughter's friends and it was absolutely beautiful! Unfortunately the male camp host was the rudest host I have ever come across, and we go camping a lot! My daughter's and I walked down to the river that runs by the campground to go fishing and there were a group of campers by the river that had all of their dogs running loose. My youngest daughter and her friend were ahead of me and my older daughter and a few of the adult female campers stopped my daughter and her friend when their loose dogs ran up to them and told the girls they needed to keep walking and don't walk by their campsite again. When my older daughter and I walked by they told us the same thing and said we were upsetting their dogs. I ignored them and we went and fished (there were multiple other people walking the trail as well). On the way back one of the women at the campsite got up in my daughter's face like she wanted to fight and I told them to back off and we kept going. They went and complained to the camp host that we were going through their campsite and wouldnt stop. The camp "host" and his wife came to our site and the camp host said we were rude for going through other people's campsites and we better not do it again. I tried explaining that we were just walking the trail next to the creek, not going through their site, but he wouldn't let me speak. I then tried asking where we could go to get to the river and he wouldn't answer he just kept saying we were rude. I would love to go back to this gorgeous campground again, however I will not be back if the same "host" is there.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
5  Thank deniseandrea33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2015

Definitely would stay here again. Typical USFS campground, so don't expect luxury. trees, shade, scenic, nice creek. mix of tents, campers, and small RVs. close enough to town if you need supplies. Also there is a public shower in downtown BV at the whitewater park.

Room Tip: Reservations are encouraged.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LT_Arkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2015

This is a typical USFS campground with nicely designed campsites that offer some seclusion and a lot of pine trees. The campsite are close to the creek and only a short distance from the trailhead to Mount Yale and to Princeton Hot Springs. A nice basic campground.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews