We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We SO loved this property. Upon check-in, the valet immediately took our bags & escorted us to the front desk, where we were offered freshly baked cookies. My husband & I were traveling with another couple, and we stayed in a 3 bedroom / 3 bathroom condo. The condo was clean, spacious & beautifully decorated. The staff at this property are friendly, helpful & efficient. The pool & hot tub areas are beautiful and have an amazing view of the lift area. The property is SO convenient to the lift area. If I ever win the lottery, I would definitely buy at condo at One Ski Hill Place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee-Marie1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 302 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

Had a few days mid-week in Colorado and thought I would take my daughter to experience an on-slope ski hotel. This place was perfect - valet parking, skis delivered to on-slope locker room, hotel located at kind of crossroads of ski area, luxury room - beds, bath, fire place. Didn't use the kitchen at all, but it looked nice. Daughter was very happy with massage. View was spectacular. Can't really comment on rate/value - booked at last minute for very reasonable rate, but I could see those checking in while we were checking out were paying a LOT more.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have the better view and the higher numbers on each floor have the better location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SargeantKinchloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Admittedly, we visited during off season in late April. We'd never been before, so had no idea that everything would be shut down. That being said, everything advertised and promised was not functioning. Some issues:

1. When there was valet, it was timely. When there wasn't, we parked our own car.
2. Ski slope shut down during the week. We booked Sun-Thurs as we hate weekend crowds not realizing the slope would be closed on the weekend. So no ski in/ski out for us.
3. No concierge. Only a front desk receptionist. This would be fine if we'd been there before, but we wanted opinions on family friendly activities and got those of a 20 year old girl who clearly was not well versed in options.
4. Restaurant and bar were closed, including room service.
5. Inconsistent turn down service and housekeeping. Sometimes it happened, sometimes it didn't. Once asked if we wanted turndown service, said we'd be gone in an hour and they came back 5 hours later asking if we were ready for it.
6. For some reason, the electricity in our guest room was linked to the lights over the bar in the kitchen. If we wanted to turn off the bar lights, all the guest bedroom electricity went out. Not a deal breaker, but odd.
7. The 'rejuvenation center' was the one thing still open. Called to make an appointment and it took 6 hours to hear back from someone. Again, not a deal breaker, but annoying when combined with everyone else.
8. Kid park closed. This was a huge attractor for us as I have an 18 month old that'd love it. Closed, closed, closed.

Overall, it was very clear that 'off season' means unimportant. The one thing that was good was that the 2 bedroom condo was gorgeous. However, we paid money for all of the amenities. We could've paid half price and stayed in just as nice of a condo or home....and it would've been the same experience with no ski in/out, room service, bar, restaurant, etc. Very rarely do I feel like a hotel/resort owes me money, but that's how I feel in this case. WAY overpriced for what we received. Customer service is key and One Ski Hill is not a top tier resort by any stretch of the imagination.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeLynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSHPandCPLManager, Front Office Manager at One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you DeLynn M for your review.

Unfortunately the period you chose to visit us is actually after the mountain closed for regular operations. Typically during this time Breckenridge Ski Resort is not open, but this year the mountain made the unprecedented decision to stay open a couple extra weekends at the end of the season. Many of our employees are seasonal and had already made family or job commitments after April 15th the original closing day. I am sorry that you had a less then satisfactory experience, but I think you would be very impressed with our service and our property during our typical operations.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Overall, it's hard to beat the location of this resort, however, not all views are the same nor is the staff overly concerned with detail. It just so happened that I spent the New Years and following week skiing and due to a power outage, I went a day without electricity. The backup generators only left a glow ( approx. 4 hours) to the hall ways and stairs. Without going into detail, the resort was NOT prepared for a full house of guests and no way to light, feed, get info to or generally take care of basic needs. To top matters off, they had no compensation package to those of us with no way down the mountain. At a grand a night!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loki5654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I stayed at One Ski Hill over the Christmas to New Year's week with my wife and three daughters. I have to say that the location is superb and the property is beautiful. However, for the price there are many other premiuim ski-in/ski-out properties that I prefer at Vail, Big Sky, Telluride, Snowbird, Jackson Hole, and Steamboat.
My main issue with the property is that it doesn't have adequate nighttime dining facilities. The "Living Room" (the on-site restaurant) barely has the capacity to serve five or so tables. Otherwise you have to trek downtown for dinner. For the price, it shouldn't be a hassle to have dinner each night. On the positive side the skiers cafeteria is convenient for lunch.
The property seems to be poorly organized and/or managed. I don't blame the staff. In fact, everyone was very pleasant. Getting my rental car in and out of the garage was a breeze, the weekday concierge was a huge help setting up dinner reservations downtown, the front desk staff was efficient in dealing with problems, housekeeping tried their best with smiles on their faces, and the bartender was very helpful when we did order dinner while sitting at the bar or in front of the fireplace (my recommended approach to dinner in The Living Room).
Here are some of my negative experiences. First, they checked us into a unit that was occupied by the owner. They eventually found a smaller unit for us. The front desk gave us a discount coupon for the Living Room that had expired five days earlier. There was no safe in our unit although every unit was to have one. The housekeeping staff visited us at the end of the ski day when we were in rather than during the day when we were on the mountain. The water was cold everytime I took a shower. When we lost power (due to a wind storm) there were no emergency lights in the stairwells! It's the details that make for a good experience.
My conclusion is that while the location is magnificent and the property is beautiful the experience was not what I expected for the price. I like Breck. The next time I visit I'll try one of the new properties at the base of Peak 7.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSHPandCPLManager, Front Office Manager at One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Thank you Brian B for your review of our property.

I apologize that you feel our property is poor in value. The holiday period that you stayed with us is one of the busiest times of year for Breckenridge, which means it tends to be more expensive for accommodations in town as a whole. I appreciate the feedback on how we can improve some of the areas that you felt were lacking.

In regards to nighttime dining activity on property, The Living Room and room service are the only on site, but Sevens Restaurant is a short distance up the road at the base of Peak 7. We do also provide a complimentary shuttle service that can take you anywhere in town you would like to go whether it be for dinner, drinks, or other activities. There are also long term plans to expand our amenities at the base of Peak 8.

We are very sorry for the lack of lighting in the stairwells after the town wide power outage. We actually do have an emergency light system in the stairwells, but the power was out for such an extended period of time that the back up batteries actually ran out. Since we are still a relatively new property we were unaware of this deficiency. Once we did figure out the problem we had employees stationed on floors with flashlights to assist guests as well as some extra lighting we were able to find. Since then we have taken steps to keep these areas safely lit if an unforeseen incident like this were to occur again.

Thank you again for review.

Sincerely,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
1.5 km away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#12 of 23 in Breckenridge
694 reviews
1.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
3.1 km away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
1.3 km away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
622 reviews
1.9 km away
Main Street Station
Main Street Station
#18 of 23 in Breckenridge
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort

Address: 1521 Ski Hill Road, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
#3 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#3 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#6 Spa Hotel in Breckenridge
#7 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range: $277 - $1,379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the base of Peak 8, these luxury ski-in/ski-out condominiums are just steps from 5 lifts including the BreckConnect Gondola, which easily transports you to Peak 7 and into the charming town of Breckenridge. One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort, is a full service luxury lodge that offers 24 hour front desk services and onsite daily housekeeping, nightly turn down services, maintenance, bell, valet, seasonal ski valet, concierge, spa, and a seasonal bar and lounge. Where Luxury and Location Meet an ideal location in a perfect destination...One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort, has an unrivaled location allowing you to experience the best of Breckenridge. You can walk out the door and access the lifts, a lively plaza and a whole mountain of adventure. Whatever you desire in a Colorado vacation, One Ski Hill Place in Breckenridge, Colorado has what you're looking for. With some of the best skiing in the western hemisphere, this historic gold mining town will put the "O!" In Colorado.Choose from any of the 76 restaurants and bars and take it easy after a perfect day on the slopes. From snowshoeing, to sledding, to ice skating, and even sleigh rides, Breckenridge has it all for any winter sports enthusiast.Relax with a massage treatment in the Rejuvenation Center and bask in the luxurious accommodations at One Ski Hill Place. No guest goes unnoticed! Each is treated with authentic world-class hospitality. Travel magazines everywhere agree: One Ski Hill Place in Breckenridge is where the memories of a lifetime are made. Visit Breckenridge's museum and Welcome Center and find yourself charmed as you travel back into the Old West.The greatest trial of any vacation at One Ski Hill Place is finding adequate time to fit in all the fun and excitement! Even in the summer, you'll find endless opportunities to explore and play in Breckenridge. Take a hot air balloon ride and you'll see people whitewater rafting, biking, hiking, fly fishing and rock climbing.From horseback riding to shopping in over 200 stores, you'll swear you found gold at One Ski Hill Place. Choose your luxury accommodations today at oneskihill.Cm and make your dream vacation a reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One Ski Hill Place, a Rock Hotel Breckenridge
1 Ski Hill Place, a Rockresort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing