We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Beer, not so great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avery Brewing Company

Avery Brewing Company
Ranked #10 of 134 things to do in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Attraction details
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Beer, not so great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Industrial park location but beer makes up for it, Food was good. Karma and Wheel Sucker were good. Rode our bikes there and view of the Foothills was nice on way back down Arapahoe, Heard Avery is building larger location on Pearl, looking forward to visiting there next time.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fdlg75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    35
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lively and Refreshing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Really excellent beer in a very lively setting. A sort of industrial location but packed with young people enjoying fine craft beer.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SRKauafman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
148 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“If you love beers by Avery, then visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

It is located in an industrial area, and did not look anything as I imagined. But there are picnic tables and umbrellas outside and plenty of parking, depening on the day you visit.

They offered 10 -12 beers on the day I visited. You can try tasters of them and depending upon the alcohol content of each beer, you may have a small or full pour. I LOVE many Avery beers, so this was a must on my trip to Boulder. It was unusually hot that day, so the AC inside at the bar was greatly appreciated.

Our server was very friendly and prompt, although they were packed that day. We had the Emerita III, full pour. It's the best sour, ever, but we like sours. We also shared a taster of the Lilikoi Wheat(?), that was light and refreshing on a hot day. We also shared the Dry Hopped IPA, also very tasty.

Take your patience pill when they are very busy, but please enjoy.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kaliko Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beer at it's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Great beer! Go for the samples, very affordable and you get to try all the different varieties.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank a j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worldwide
Level Contributor
650 reviews
324 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 712 helpful votes
“An outstanding brewpub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

The Denver-Boulder-Longmont-Ft.Collins area is jammed with good micro breweries and brewpubs. This could be the best of them (that has own-brewed beer on premises). As one may see on sites such as Ratebeer.com, Avery's brews get very high reviews. The main problem seems to be shortage of brewing capacity. Our bartender noted that there are struggles - to see what can get some capacity so it can get brewed. The good news is that movements are afoot to significantly increase capacity at a new brewing site.

One of the issues that I have with the craft brewing industry in the USA is the severe shortage of "mild" (low alcoholic content, but not low on flavor) beers. Avery is working on its own approach to a solution in this arena, with its "3 point 5 session ale" which it describes as "An easy-drinking, hoppy ale. Light on alcohol, huge on flavor." One friend I was with, who dislikes "hoppy" brews, still loved this one - and so did I. We were told that this was the third (I think) beta iteration of this prototype - and that it runs out quickly wherever it is test marketed.

The other brews that we sampled ranged from delicious on up to heavenly. But this 3.5% ale, and the Out of Bounds Stout were the best for us. The Out of Sight Stout (the former with coffee added) is also delicious.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EarthlingOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Avery Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Avery Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing