We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a great location for exploring wine country!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a great location for exploring wine country!”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

2 couples just spent 3 days at the Holiday Inn Express Windsor. The hotel was spotless and had some good amenities, including a pool (outdoor, not heated), hot tub & sauna, free parking and Wi-Fi and a better-than-usual included breakfast, with nice touches like eggs, sausage links & patties and cinnamon rolls. One negative is the outdated tube TV in an older armoire. The hotel is about 3 blocks from "downtown" Windsor, with restaurants, shops and a great pub (Patterson's). We paid a few extra dollars for the king room with a balcony, which I highly recommend. The balcony was covered and very private. We spent a lot of time out there with our friends. We were lucky to have summerlike weather in late October and found this hotel was a good base for visiting the entire Sonoma Valley.

Room Tip: Definitely get the room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEinWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Thanks for staying with us! Our Balcony suites really are quite nice, thanks for pointing that out. A LOT of regular guests swear by them as well. It is nice to be able to enjoy this great California weather right off your guest room. I'll pass along your compliment to our housekeeping supervisor as well. As I've always said she is easily the hardest working person on our staff. When she isn't performing her standard duties she is sure to be found in some remote corner with a toothbrush. So truly, thank you for noticing the passion our housekeeping department brings each day, I believe it shows too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    87
    34
    15
    6
See reviews for
38
100
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
181 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Booked online for our Saturday and Sunday night stay for my mother and I. Went to visit an aunt that lives just down the road. Booked under my mother's name as she was able to get the senior discount. We specifically requested to be placed in the back of the hotel so no road traffic would disturb us, as the hotel is facing the 101. We are both typically light sleepers.

Was greeted by friendly staff, and quickly went to our room on the 2nd floor just down the hall from the elevator. The room overlooked the pool, which we were unable to use due to the cool weather. Our room was very clean and very spacious, and the bathroom had plenty of counter space for us each to set out our personal items. We had double beds and each of us slept like babies. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. We enjoyed the hot tub in the evenings after long days of walking/shopping/sightseeing. In the mornings we had delicious full breakfasts prior to starting out.

Definitely check out the shops and restaurants in both Windsor and Healdsburg, as they are both well worth the trip.

Parking was in a gated lot. We will definitely stay there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hctravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEinWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Thanks for the great Trip Advisor score! Sounds like you fully embraced your trip to Sonoma County. It was a privileged to be a part of your great memories. Hope you come back soon and make more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
139 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stay for one night, nice and friendly check inn with good touristic information. Conviniant for visiting Sonoma and northerm wineries, russian river side, guenerville, Amstrong Forest, near nice restaurant in Santa Rosa, Josh and Ash winery
CLean room, confortable bed ( i know these is kind of personnal)
Didn't eat in the hotel, perfect for visiting around, and eat, enjoy scenery of Sonoma Valley

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia_QTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEinWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! You definitely highlighted some of the reasons I had to make Sonoma County my home. Windsor really is the perfect family friendly jumping off point for all things Northern California. With the views, wineries, eclectic art and creative feel you really would have to live here a while to see it all! For those not ready to make that commitment catch me or any of our Service Representatives running the desk for a great list of area highlights within your time budget!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Ordinarily I love Holiday Inn Express hotels but these beds are the worst, hard and very uncomfortable.
Everything else was fine - the usual room, comfortable, nicely appointed but the beds really detract. The desk clerk that checked us in was very helpful and allowed us to change rooms as the first one she put us in faced the freeway.
Not unique to them but why can't these chains use biodegradable items in their breakfast rooms; the products are available, hardly more expensive and would save us and the environment from the contamination of all of this styrofoam.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melk100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEinWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Hey thank you so much for the candid review. As you can imagine our hotel has gotten similar feedback and as a result we actually have purchased all new double sided plush beds for our guest rooms. As of December 2011 our rooms have been upgraded. I've uploaded a photo here if you would like to take a look, more to come. As for biodegradable dishware we couldn't agree more... We actually went a step further and purchased real plates, bowls, cups and silverware for our breakfast bar. It's my understanding we are the first HIE to do so and it has actually worked out so well I don't doubt many others will follow suit in the years to come. Naturally we still have to provide the disposable stuff as an option for guests that want it.. but that change alone has drastically cut this hotel's carbon foot print and instead of biodegradable trash we have next to none at all. Most guests truly appreciate the benefit of eating on real stoneware. If you're ever traveling in Windsor again I do hope you'll give us a second chance. Constructive feedback is always welcome here and we do our best to listen and accommodate what guests like yourself have to say. Oh, and should you have an opportunity to come back I hope you will continue to be candid about what we can do to provide you with your best hotel experience. Truly I thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
364 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed here for a wedding. This hotel did not seem as fresh as many HIExpress that we have stayed in. The mattress was thin and lumpy. The bathroom sink did not drain properly. The wireless internet worked intermittently. The room was not clean around the baseboards. The bathroom was small. However, the breakfast room was nice and the there was a large selection. I would not book this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmarymomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEinWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
"First three, then the multitude" it's a quote from a book I read once and I think it applies here in a way. You're going along minding your own business and suddenly something isn't quite the way it should be.. but you ignore it. Then something else comes up.. and you try to ignore that too... by the third issue you're seeing every negative detail. I'm right there with you about the beds, happily they have all been replaced as of December 2011. As to the internet per Holiday Inn Express Standards we actually have 2 internet providers in the event one should fail there is a back up service for our guests. And naturally a tech support number as well. Presently, our hotel has 3 times the standard Holiday Inn Express bandwidth. We recently discovered our device had issues with apple products and the equipment was upgraded.. I wonder if that might have been the issue. I regret that your stay went in that direction and left you unsatisfied with your stay. I hope you understand the slow drain and lack of attention to the baseboards is unacceptable and not at all indicative of the rooms we provide by and large on a daily basis. I sincerely hope you will consider giving our property another chance all the same.. and if you would be that gracious please be sure to let me know you're coming. I'd want to personally make sure everything is perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windsor
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
10.6 km away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
4.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
10.5 km away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#8 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
14.5 km away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County

Property: Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County
Address: 8865 Conde Ln, Windsor, CA 95492-8912
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Windsor
Price range (per night): $241 - $474
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful Windsor Holiday Inn Express Hotel is located in the heart of Sonoma County Wine Country, nestled between Healdsburg and Santa Rosa. Leisure travelers will enjoy access to over 100 wine tasting rooms in the Russian River, Dry Creek and Alexander Valley, including world famous Rodney Strong, Kendall Jackson or the local favorites of Segeshio or Bella. It is just a short drive to view the stunning trees at Armstrong Redwoods, or capture the breathtaking Sonoma Coast. Our hotel is close to additional attractions including Safari West, Wells Fargo Center of Performing Arts, and Charles Schulz Museum, home to the 'Peanuts' gang. Our location is walking distance to the charming Windsor Town Green. Many enjoyable dining choices, boutique shopping, coffee shops and a variety of events on the Town Green such as the Farmers Market, summer concerts and family fun. Business travelers appreciate our comfortable and convenient location in proximity to the Santa Rosa Airport Business Park and Windsor Business Park. Corporate rates are available to our business travelers. We welcome federal and state government employees. The hotel offers a 24-hour business center. While lodging in our Windsor hotel guests will enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast, free wireless Internet, fitness center, indoor jacuzzi and sauna, outdoor heated pool. We look forward to having you stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County Hotel Windsor
Holiday Inn Windsor
Windsor Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing