We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, reliable, safe, walking distance to some cool sights...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2017

The Nest Western Plus Sunet Plaza (8400 Sunset Blvd) is a great middle of the price range (low end for LA and surroundings!!!!) hotel for any type of visitor (family, couples, work, relax).

Two blocks north of Santa Monica Blvd, 15 minute walk (max) to Sunset plaza (great great great patio restaurants for sight-seeing and celebrity watching!), too far to walk to Hollywood Blvd (almost 3 miles) and still enjoy self and walk back, we did walk to Rodeo Dr but took a nice quiet route thru Beverly Hills so it seemed more leisurely (just over 2 miles....and uber back during rush hour for 13 USD).

Front desk helpful with picking and booking tours, check in and check out very simple and swift.

Breakfast room very busy, but you can come down and make your food and bring it all back to your room.

Lots of parking (18$ a night...cheap by other hotel standards) located BEHIND hotel underground and free wifi.

Rooms are clean, but they do use an air freshener that is a little much for my liking.

We tuckered out one night, and ordered in some food...no problem, delievery right to our suite.

Didn't use pool, but looked like Melrose place pool! No bar at hotel, but many bars near by.

Perfect location for accesss to hwys, downtown, the beach is 30 min by car....great time and great place!

Room Tip: Pool view is the only view. We faced the construction sight next door, and it was just fine for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CB19772016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 84 of 2,132 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2017

The BW Sunset Plaza Hotel is Fabulous Dahling! Right on the strip and walkable to great restaurants, Chinese Theater and the Abbey. All we really needed was there. The pool is so LA and Melrose Place! Lobby is small but suits the purpose. Say Hi to Paula at the front desk - she is AWESOME!! Don't you dare rent a car in this town. Take Lyft everywhere you need. We were in town to see Hamilton at the Pantages and spend time with family in West Hollywood and we were SO glad we chose BW Sunset Plaza. Saddle Ranch Chop House across the street was really fun and we walked to the Abbey for brunch with friends. Great time supported by a great hotel. We stayed in the big Two-bedroom Suite - it was gorgeous with a nice sitting room between the two bedrooms with two queens in each. A bathroom in each bedroom and TVs in each - perfect for our family of 4. Only complaint is some brief noise above us very early. Think it may have been cleaning? Sounded like moving furniture. The exercise room is right next door so there was a tiny bit of noise also from the people working out in the one bedroom that shares a wall with that area. We had to be up early anyway, so we were ok. Recommend getting a room that faces out over pool and you should be good to go!! Great place that will be our go-to every time we are in LA.

Room Tip: Room overlooking pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaferDavis_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a few days before starting a drive up the Pacific Coast Highway and we were very impressed. Rooms were super comfy and also quiet considering where the hotel was located. Lovely outdoor pool in the middle of the hotel which was super warm. Great location for both Sunset Plaza and Hollywood although the later is further than it looks on the map. Breakfast was good although the breakfast room can get a little crowded at peak times so best get in early. Service as you would expect was very friendly and efficient. The only downside is the parking charge at $18 a night which was a bit steep but probably the norm for LA.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank NeiloWhitstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Good hotel in a central location. All the staff members we encountered were extremely helpful and professional. The only downside was the lack of bars and places to eat within walking distance. As we only stayed 2 nights this wasn't a big issue for us but it might be for those staying longer. Parking at the hotel for $18 a night was reasonable compared to what other people we met who were staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank juliecassin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Nice tub & shower combination, double queen room, renovated nicely with a small kitchen area and ample closet space overlooking the pool. Room #214. Free breakfast at 7 am.
We've been here a few times and have never been disappointed.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank exlongislandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#11 of 19 in West Hollywood
459 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,751 reviews
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
3,094 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#14 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,015 reviews
West Hollywood
The Jeremy West Hollywood
The Jeremy West Hollywood
#8 of 19 in West Hollywood
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel

Address: 8400 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: $317 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Mediterranean inspired hotel centrally located between Hollywood and Beverly Hills. Just minutes from famous beaches, Universal Studios and Walk of Fame. Daily sightseeing tours are available from the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Hollywood
West Hollywood Best Western
Best Western Sunset Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing