We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,268)
Filter reviews
2,268 results
Traveller rating
1,155
827
191
66
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,155
827
191
66
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool area breakfast room paper plates french doors great location saddle ranch beautiful courtyard yogurt free breakfast bus stop universal studios comedy store parking garage large bathroom hollywood blvd stayed here for nights beverly hills
Filter
Updating list...
1,317 - 1,322 of 2,268 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2012

LA on a whole was no way what we imagined the images of glitz and glam which were constantly exposed to were few and far between apart from a couple of hours in Rodeo Drive.

Anyway the hotel was a gem room was clean and comfortable, with a beautiful view, breakfast was sensational......eggs, waffles, bacon, cereals, beagles plus there was a 24hr tea and coffee station.

Another bonus was the laundry room and as we had 8 days of our 16 day trip down it was so convienent and only cost 4 dollars to was and dry. Staff were hit and miss verging on condesending at times.

The best thing by far was the pool and courtyard area bliss!! A suntrap, beautifully maintained,
flowers cascading off every level.......just a quiet little spot for some time out!!

Location is advertised as central however since LA is just a jumble of boulavards and random streets im not sure its possible. Takes ages to walk anywhere from it resulting in taxi bills

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiestyfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

This hotel is fantastic!! The rooms were beautiful; the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was included and it was good. I love to get outside to tan & swim as much as i can so i required a good pool area. Which this hotel has. It is stunning outside and looks lovely at night also. Room Service is actually from The Saddle Ranch across the road.. We had it 4 times in 8 nights because we fell in love with it. Still to this day it is my favourite restaurant. If you stay here you must eat there or just order in. This is a great location, although it is depending on what you plan to do while you’re in Hollywood. We spent most of our time on tours/at theme parks (which pick up and drop off at the hotel anyways) or on Hollywood Blvd (this is only a quick and cheap trip in a cab). I highly recommend this hotel to anyone that is planning a trip to LA.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlyssaGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Made reservations a few hours before arriving. Spoke with Lucy who was very professional and friendly. Gave us a room overlooking the pool and let us know that if we were not happy with that room she would give us a different one - we were happy! Beautiful decor, very clean, comfy bed, loved the Bath & Body Works products! Breakfast was wonderful - eggs, waffles, bacon, sausage, potatoes, bagels, pastries, yogurt, fruit, juice, coffee, etc....The prior evening we went for a swim which was refreshing and then a walk across the street for dinner to Saddle Ranch Chop House - a show all by itself! Everyone at the hotel was friendly and professional. Overall, would stay again!

Room Tip: Pool View!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kindergarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This was my second stay at the sunset plaza. And as always, a delightful one.

Rooms: I stayed in a King Room. It was great. The bed was a great size, and a very generous amount of linen & pillows which I always find when staying in Best Westerns. For this particular property, it has a very boutique feel about it. The king room had ample cupboard space with an in room safe. Inside the cupboard there was extra pillows if needed. The rooms had a doorbell out the front which was a really nice touch. There is a small kitchenette with microwave and tea and coffee facilities with a mini fridge.
the TV is a very decent size with a good variety of channels and in house movies at a small fee. There is also a desk space, and a single seat sofa with foot rest. The rooms are very quiet, there is no outside noise. The air-conditioner. works fine and is simple to use

Location: You cant get much better. Located on the iconic sunset strip, the property is in close proximity to great shopping, great food and cool hang outs. The saddle ranch directly across the street is a must! Its a short car ride or taxi ride to the beverly centre and within walking distance of the shopping district on sunset strip.

The front desk will provide you with tour options and tickets. The breakfast is really great, and better than most hotel continental breakfasts. providing waffles, bacon, eggs, sausages, croissants, muffins etc. There is a single computer located near the lobby, which you can access the internet and print off documents etc. The staff are extremely friendly and welcome you warmly each time you enter the lobby. The pool area is great, and the laundry facilities even better. They have coin operated laundry for a very small fee, and they also have a dispenser which provides you with washing detergent.If you have no time to do your own laundry, never fear you can leave it in the laundry bag you will find provided in your room, take it to the front desk and they will do it for you providing you give them a tip.

Overall, I am an avid fan of best westerns, and this property never lets me down. its clean, its in a safe location and they provide all the amenities you need. The pool area is great, the rooms are a very generous size. This time around I stayed with my partner, but first time was with my family so it really suits all style of travel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RoseyPosey93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Sometime one wonders how a Best Western hotel can take on the Hyatts and Mondrians but this Sunset plaza hotel does it in style. Other than the simple stuff like not having room service ( I like many travellers am not too hot on this!) the rooms and toilets are excellent,very clean and have a nice warmth about them. If you are fortunate enough to get a room on level one then you will be happy to be in the surrounding tranquility of the heated pool. The location can't be beaten with the likes of the House of Blues and the crazy Saddle Ranch ten metres away. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful too. Certainly worth checking in to check it out!

Room Tip: Get one on level one and you can literally crawl out of your comfy bed in to the pool!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarishSamtani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding the Sunset Plaza Hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I would just like to mention that we do provide Room Service through the highly rated Saddle Ranch Restaurant from 11am to 1am. A room service menu is provided in each guest room. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.

Fred Gholi,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews