We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
AU$635
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
JeanMost
Sydney, Australia
Utterly charming
Review of The Charlie
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Aug 2016via mobile
Sooo much better than hotels in beverly hills. I love this place. Very roomy and a lovely charming individuality in each suite. Why would you stay in a hotel when you could stay here? All the rooms are great and its on a private and quiet street.
Date of stay: August 2016Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$486
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Official Site
1.0 km from The Charlie
Pool
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
AU$523
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$523
1.0 km from The Charlie
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
AU$940
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Hotel Website
  • Expedia.com
    AU$940
1.0 km from The Charlie
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
AU$708
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$765
1.2 km from The Charlie
Free Wifi
Pool
Official Site
AU$819
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$732
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.1 km from The Charlie
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
AU$549
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Hyatt.com
1.1 km from The Charlie
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
AU$603
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
  • Expedia.com
    AU$603
1.6 km from The Charlie
Pool
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    AU$620
  • Official Site
0.7 km from The Charlie
Pool
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$804
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$777
  • Priceline
1.0 km from The Charlie
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$299
  • Algotels
0.8 km from The Charlie
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in West Hollywood
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
218
42
27
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
218
42
27
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen washer dryer hidden gem private patio off street parking central garden private parking melrose avenue modern amenities living room bygone era los angeles sun deck sized bed large bedroom an enjoyable stay home away from home
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2016

The West Hollywood location is good, and the people that work here are very nice. Free parking when you book through the website.The place is charming, but they really need to address the housekeeping issues. I noticed that the kitchen appliances could have used a better cleaning, the glasses had spots, and worst of all - the shower was not properly cleaned or maintained.

The shower head had pink slime and hard water stains (see pic), and it shot water out the side. In addition, there was black, stained grout in several areas of the shower (see pic). I feel that these problems should have been addressed. If they do any kind of inspections of the property, they would notice some of the obvious maintenance issues. The bathroom light was connected to an insanely loud fan that went higher and lower in noise volume. Overall, the lighting was too dim, and there were some switches that did nothing.

The Kleenex and toiletries are not very high quality, and there was no hand soap provided for the half bath downstairs or the kitchen. Oddly, there was a bottle of lotion in the half bath, not soap. I ended up buying cleaner to take a stab at the shower head so I wouldn't be so grossed out. I removed most of the pink slime, but the water stains were staying. I elected to avoid maid service during my stay. Why would I want this housekeeper to come by?

The painted floors may have been the reason for the terrible squeaky noise when you walked around. It happened to both of us.

The bed was hard as a rock, like the hardest bed I've ever encountered, but it slept well. However, on our last night someone made a lot of noise in the room above us. It sounded like they were repeatedly moving a rolling luggage around the room. So loud. Other than that, it was quiet.

While I liked the location and felt this was a fairly good value, I would hesitate to stay again because of the maintenance and housekeeping issues. How much effort does it really take to replace a shower head and clean the grout? These are not cheap rooms, and I would expect a higher attention to detail.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank moonslice
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Masha T, Manager at The Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2016

Dear moonslice,

Thank you for your detailed feedback. We value your opinion and apologize that your experience with us did not live up to your expectations. We are pleased to hear our staff was friendly and that you took advantage of making the booking directly through our website in order to receive the complimentary parking. The kitchens indeed are supplied with glassware and typical water stains from the in-room dishwasher are not uncommon. Thank you for bringing attention to the grout in the bathroom--this of course has been resolved, and we encourage guests to approach management directly with any concerns, so that we may address them in a timely manner. We are pleased to hear that you had a restful night on the newly-replaced mattress, and we hope to be of service to you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Very relaxing and beautiful experience. Very clean and tranquil. Very well appointed. Staff friendly and accommodating. There was a balcony and parking could be found close by. No dining options but there is a kitchen in each unit.

Room tip: Apartment style. Perfect for a home away from home feeling and if you want to be in West Hollywood.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brett G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Masha T, Manager at The Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2016

Dear Brett G,

Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear your experience at The Charlie was wonderful, and we hope to see you again in the very near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We had a lovely stay at the Charlie, a hidden gem in West Hollywood. It's located on the residential side off Melrose Avenue along a shaded street. Nice, quiet neighborhood, great location. We planned ahead to prepare dinner and breakfast in our room because of the full kitchen, however there was no bakeware, dish towel or a potholder in our unit. We brought a roll of paper towels and suggest you do, too. There is a coffee pot, however bring your own coffee unless you want to purchase the coffee in the room. The room, kitchen and bathroom areas are very clean and nicely decorated. Blackout curtains would be a nice addition to the bedroom/living room windows as the light shines through the windows at night (we stayed in the Steve which is the studio apartment). The bed and bedding were comfortable. We enjoyed the small patio area outside our room and the walkways, fountains and outdoor seating areas. It is very private and gated and we loved the historical aspect of the Charlie.

Date of stay: August 2016
1  Thank G4139FIkimberlyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Masha T, Manager at The Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2016

Dear G4139FIkimberlyr,

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you've decided to utilize the in-room kitchen! Each suite is supplied with an array of pots and pans, however should something be missing, we always encourage guests to approach management or housekeeping staff with any additional requests! We do not supply paper towels given that we strive to be a green establishment, however, we do provide kitchen towels, sponges, dish soap, etc. We hope you will consider us again on your next trip to Los Angeles!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

A perfect location in Hollywood, snuggled into a residential neighborhood. We had the smallest suite, the Betty, and it was plenty large! A commodious living room cum kitchen
and smaller bedroom and very pleasant bathroom.
I loved that one could open wide the leaded-glass casement windows and look down upon a charming leafy courtyard. In the hushed atmosphere the fountain was the only noise we heard.
I also liked the fact that the hotel felt quite discreet.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CanYouForgiveHer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Masha T, Manager at The Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2016

Dear CanYouForgiveHer,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are pleased to hear that you've found our establishment to be quaint and charming! And we hope to be of service to you again in the very near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

We stayed at The Charlie for 3 nights in July 2016; a delightful charmingly quirky oasis located in a quiet residential street in West Hollywood.

We were allocated 'The Clark' which is a wonderful spacious and light two bedroomed cottage which we found very comfortable and well equipped with a full kitchen and laundry facilities etc. However, as lightsleepers we found the air-conditioning unit unbearably noisy at night which was a shame as this marred our otherwise amazing stay.

The Charlie is well located in WeHo within easy and safe walking distance of the many shops and restaurants on Melrose Avenue and Santa Monica Boulevard.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MrsLightsleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Masha T, Manager at The Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2016

Dear DorsetSullivans,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at The Charlie and for your review! We are glad to hear you've found The Charlie's location to be superb and that the Clark suite was to your liking! However, we are sorry to hear that you found the AC unit to be noisy. We have added on rubber padding in hopes of lessening the noise and are closely working with our AC repair company on other potential solutions. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews