We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
USD 185
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/04/21
Booking.com
USD 186
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/04/21
Hotels.com
USD 185
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/04/21
PricelineUSD 186
eDreamsUSD 186
FindHotelUSD 185
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
69
105
48
15
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
69
105
48
15
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews doner yogurt convenient location hot chocolate donner pass comfortable stay gas station minute drive lobby snow ski microwave boreal winter northstar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2020

This is a convenient place to stay for visiting the nearby ski resorts, like Boreal. They provide breakfast with your stay which is nice for family with kids. While rooms do not come with kitchen, they do provide in-room microwave. Front desk is very courteous and helpful.

Room tip: Away from elevator
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wyc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2020

The lobby, halls and rooms had a very strong chemical smell - with an inoperable window in the room they assigned us. There was only one person working in the whole place, and she said there was no one to even call for help. (Not reassuring if there were to be an emergency.) The alternative room she finally (and angrily) offered us was on the ground floor, and had no security bar on the window, which meant we would not be able to use that while sleeping. So we had to leave, as I was starting to wheeze from all the chemicals in the air. But the lone staffer refused to refund our money, which is highly unusual. The next day, I called to talk to the manager, Jon Borden, and was surprised to find he was unapologetic, rude, insulting and untruthful. And, instead of removing the charge, as any other reasonable hotel would do, he had instead added a whole other room charge to our bill the next day! But American Express immediately elevated this to their Fraud Dept. I have also reported this to the Better Bus. Bureau, and will call the Chamber of Commerce in Truckee, bc it is a lovely and friendly town, and this manager and hotel are a stain on it that the town does not deserve.

Date of stay: January 2020
1  Thank Vacationer469741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2019

It must've been a very nice lodge 50 years ago, but now it's very dated, carpets worn out and unclean, beds sagging and lousy pillows. The lodge needs an upgrade asap. The walls are super thin, you can hear the next door neighbors TV and talk. The cleaning crew is very loud very early in the morning and they wake up guests with their talking and laughing. We had to complain. Not to mention the breakfast. Lousy as in most hotels. Had to eat out every day. The only bit of good was the fact that they don't accept dogs or pets at all and all the room windows open to let in fresh air.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2019

If snowed in and can't proceed past Donner Pass Rd, this is a convenient location to stop and rest. A gas station is located across the street for supplies such as tire cables (chains) and snacks. Ice is only located on 2nd floor.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2019

We participate in the Donner Historical Society walks each fall. We have found that this is the best place to stay. Easy check in, cordial and responsive staff, good rooms and satisfying breakfast. Great management! Thank you John

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pequodhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews