We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and Innkeepers”
Review of The Lost Whale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lost Whale Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
redding
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food and Innkeepers”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and the Inn. They made us feel very welcome and full! With their "tea " which was stuffed mushrooms, fresh prawns, artichokes hearts,olives,OMG chocolate covered strawberries, cheese and crackers, help yourselves to the full bar, and dinner too? WOW Stuffed petrale sole, their famous meatloaf "very good" stuffed chicken breasts, mashed potatoes, their salad with those caramelized pecans with a hint of cayenne, and don't forget the dessert platter, ask for that! Then into the spa we went . The barking seals all night long with the crashing waves and then in the morning the good coffee and the walk down to the beach and yet again the breakfast! What more do you want? The cat "Spooky" walked down all the way with my friend to the beach and they had a nice conversation, plus there's Moby the white big fur ball, and interesting people, couldn't ask for anything more!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doggonRedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    27
    15
    10
    1
See reviews for
72
173
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

If you ever find yourself wanting to visit California Redwoods country The Lost Whale Inn is the place to stay. Gary & Guia and their staff are excellent hosts. We spent 3 nights at the Inn and were sorry to leave.

Our room was the smallest they have, but a good size for us and had an ensuite bath. The room was nicely decorated. The evening we arrived -- and every evening -- there was an array of appetizers along with beer & wine available. The breakfast buffet was not to be believed. Every morning a fritatta, meats, fruits, french toast. Plenty to eat.

We were fortunate enough to some during the winter season when The Lost Whale also includes an evening meal. Entrees included filet mignon, salmon & stuffed sole. Not to mention the vegetarian lasagna & homemade meatloaf. Sides of potatoes & various vegetable were also included. Topping it all off with a selection of desserts from N.Y. cheesecake to chocolate mousse.

Do yourself a favor... STAY at the Lost Whale Inn

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinemont
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Came to Trinidad as part of our Sonoma/Napa vacation in May 2011 to see the Redwood forest. We only stayed here one night and thoroughly enjoyed it. We stayed in the Grey Whale room that was next to the stairs. Either everyone was quiet when we were there, or I was really tired, because I never heard anyone going up and down the stairs. The scenery and view is incredible. The sea lions barking on the rocks were comical to us. The Lost Whale Inn is what I envision when I think of a B&B. Highly recommend staying here and would stay here again if we get the opportunity.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinemontCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Absolutely charming Inn, gracious hosts, fantastic setting and fabulous food all made for a wonderful retreat at the Lost Whale Inn. The owners Guia and Gary were so warm and inviting and made us feel like family while we were there. I would highly recommend staying at the Inn to anyone who is looking for a secluded, cozy and welcoming stay with a breath taking view of the Pacific coast!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelucky1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My stay at The Lost Whale Inn was nothing but pleasant. I spent three wonderful nights in the Humpback Whale room, located upstairs. Each morning I was awakened to the sound of barking seals and scrumptious smells lurking below. The breakfast, more like a feast, is undoubtedly the most impressive spread I have ever seen! The owners, Gary & Guia, make everything from scratch. The homeade cinnamon rolls are to die for! Not to mention the breakfast potatoes, eggs benedict and french toast. The owners are extremely pleasant and accommodating. I truly felt like a guest visiting a home away from home. The view overlooking the ocean is stunning. The setting is serene, rustic and natural. Great views from both the hot tub and wood-burning sauna (my favorite). There are gardens, trees and large grassy areas located just steps outside the back door. Overall, my holiday getaway at The Lost Whale Inn was an experience I'll never forget. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ECMCNERNEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
0.1 km away
View Crest Lodge
View Crest Lodge
#1 of 4 in Trinidad
197 reviews
38.8 km away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
35.8 km away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.4 km away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
704 reviews
37.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
25.4 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lost Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lost Whale Inn

Property: The Lost Whale Inn
Address: 3452 Patricks Point Dr, Trinidad, CA 95570-9782
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Trinidad
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price range (per night): $278 - $280
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lost Whale Inn sits on a bluff overlooking Abalone Cove with five rooms, two suites and "the best breakfasts in Humboldt County." Selected as "One of the 10 Most Romantic Inns in America" by Sunset Magazine and listed as one of the top 25 weekend destinations by The Los Angeles Times, the Inn is a place to rejuvenate the human spirit, reconnect with nature and enjoy spectacular scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Lost Whale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lost Whale Hotel Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing