We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Felt like home”
other travellers have booked this property
 view from the south
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
 view from the south
House from entry driveway view from south
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
view from the south
House from entry driveway
view from south
view from fireplace to stairs
view from stairs to fireplace
kitchen
dining/sunroom
pond from porch
the pond
Loft (master) bedroom
Master bathroom
Master bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Trinidad, Humboldt County, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jpiorier
wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Felt like home”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We couldn't have asked for better accommodations! This cabin met all our needs perfectly and any slight criticism I could even offer seems like a trivial observation- I understand the other comments about the butcher block; but it wasn't excruciatingly inconvenient to use a coaster :) My husband and I wanted to stay on the coast with our two small children and this cabin was paradise! I don't even know where to start with my review, so I'll just start at the beginning.....

We were unfamiliar with the area so using Tripadvisor's map feature, I actually found this cabin based on a general location. I booked it before we even knew any details about Trinidad. Lesley was very prompt in her responses to my inquiries and followed up with me closer to our arrival. Cindy, the property manager, was fabulous. She met us at the cabin shortly after we called to let her know we were at the Trinidad exit. She gave us a quick tour of the home and gave us some great insight into the surrounding community.

The cabin: The layout was nice and everything was in great condition. It exceeded our needs! Though only two bedrooms, the living space is spacious and generous, with ample seating and plenty of floor space (again; two kids!). Though nicely furnished and decorated, there were no personal items in the cabin; allowing for a "blank slate" similar to that of a hotel or resort- I have rented some places through airbnb, tripadvisor, or vrbo that are so cluttered with family trinkets that it is difficult to get comfortable without feeling intrusive. This cabin was sparse enough in decor that we could really feel at home. The main room, with loft, adds great drama with the tall stone fireplace. There are skylights everywhere and the entire cabin was gorgeously naturally lit. The rooms were nice. We didn't use the second bedroom, as both kids wanted to stay on the futon in the loft by us. Which was fine, because the loft is HUGE and accommodated us all easily. There was a massive closet, plenty of drawers and dressers, and the master bathroom was great. With the baby gate at the top of the stairs and the netting in front of the open woodwork railing, we felt very comfortable up there.

The bedding, linens, and towels were fantastic. The owners provided high quality bedding that is luxurious and ample. There were more pillows and blankets than we could possibly use (except for forts!). The towels and toiletries provided were nice quality as well. It was great to not have to worry about those little details. (*Though I do wish there had been a few colored towels, as we felt weird using nice white towels for some of our dirtier adventures). The master bathroom was fabulous. The large walk-in shower was great. Skylights in the bathroom over the jacuzzi tub and rainfall showerhead, with pebble tiled floor- awesome!

The kitchen was absolutely perfect! It had everything you could possibly need. My husband cooked some great meals and any tool or gadget he needed was available (*we couldn't find de-boning tweezers for fresh fish- but c'mon! Who cares! There was a citrus zester.) There were tons of dishes and pots and pans and every feature you might have in your own home. There was a dishwasher and garbage disposal; range stovetop, oven, microwave, coffee pot, coffee grinder, toaster...you name it. There was even a french press! We only went out to eat twice during our entire vacation. There is a great grocery store in town and we were able to cook all our meals. The available pantry items in the cabin made dinnertime easy. We didn't need to waste money on items like ketchup or olive oil that we would use and have to leave behind. The fridge had salad dressing, jams, etc. There were seasonings and spices in the cupboards; again, there was hardly a thing we desired.

The property itself was gorgeous. Beautifully landscaped and maintained and so enjoyable. Though the owners were concerned about our small children by the pond, we found it to be a charmer detail; children as young as ours shouldn't be left unattended anyways, so it was never an issue for us. The property is set back slightly from the road with just enough privacy. Tons of gorgeous plants and trees all around, and grassy areas for play as well. The porch and patio/deck were great. It was extremely relaxing.

Trinidad as a location: what a great choice! The perfect mix of city amenities and small-town charm. Town was bustling during our visit, but it was peak vacation time and we were told that it was busier than usual, as inlanders were escaping the smoke of the forest fires. The grocery store had great selection. There was a gas station, a few shops, a couple nice restaurants/coffee shops, post office, etc. The best part was how centrally located the town is to so many great daytrips. We went to Eureka one day, Patricks Point (saw sealions and seals and explored tidal pools at low tide), Clam Beach (sandy beach where we didn't get to clam but chased waves and tiny crabs), The Redwood National Forest (we took the Trillium Falls loop near Orick; perfect for families. It was only about 2.5 miles with slight grading. Not too intense but had gorgeous views!), Crescent City (rocky shores and lighthouses)....just to name a few! Best vacation of our lives. I think we will come back next year. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spacious and gorgeous, amazing gourmet kitchen, beautiful landscaping, tons of natural light, great master suite
Liked least: white carpet? eh. not my first choice for a woodsy cabin :)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2016
Thank you for this comprehensive and wonderful review. I do hope you'll return again. When the kids are older they can kayak in the lagoons and swim in the inland rivers, like the Trinity. We can hardly wait for our own trip back to Trinidad in mid July. Have a great summer wherever you go. Best, Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usatravel...
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The highlight of our road trip”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My family and I loved this cabin and its magical surroundings. We felt at home during the stay, and wish we had more time to spend here. Cindy was so helpful and made all the needed arrangements before our arrival. I would recommend this rental place to anyone who plans to travel this way. Thank you for sharing your place with us Lesley! Our family made memories here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cabin design and layout, the grounds and surroundings.
Liked least: That we couldn't spend more time here.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2016
Thanks for your nice review, USA traveler 1013!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus A
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“A great vacation in an amazing location”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The Log Home is a great location to relax. Even if it's close to a road and the 101 it's a very quiet place. Specially for us as a family with two kids (6 and 8) it was perfect to have two separated bedrooms, so it was possible to let the day fade away on the porch. The facility is absolutely above board and leave nothing to be desired. It's a good base location to bike/hike in the redwoods (a bunch of very nice trails are reachable in short distance by car) and the beach in Trinidad is a lovely one (5min by car). The garden is a great place for the kids just to jump off the house and play.

The Log Home is definitely one of our Top5 accomodations in California.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2016
Thanks for your review, I agree the porch is a great place to unwind in the twilight or any time of day. Glad to hear that you both biked and hiked, and went to the beach. Your review makes me realize how much we miss being there ourselves. I hope you could hear the seals barking at night from the house. Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emailm
Sacramento
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quiet and peaceful”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I met my parents at this house for a two night stay and it was wonderful. Cindy, the property manager was there finishing up cleaning and showed us around. She is AWESOME! The owner is wonderful as well. I would recommend this place to anyone. It is a quick drive to the ocean and the store. The pond with fish is adorable and the house is lovely. A perfect end to the summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was great and it was very quiet.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2016
I agree with you it's so peaceful to hear mostly natrual sounds, and only the occasional car. I wish the pond had more fish though, the racoons keep eating them. Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dougr114
Graeagle, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The home was well-furnished, clean and had a very pleasant outside area with beautiful flora, fish pond, trees, etc.”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The owner, Lesley, was really nice to deal with and was helpful with some special requests. The property manager, Cindy, met us when we arrived and also took care of some special needs, questions, etc. All in all, a very nice place to stay. Hopefully, we can rent the same property next year for our annual fishing trip to Trinidad.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property manager, Cindy and the grounds...beautiful!
Liked least: Taking shoes off when entering...not a big deal and the carpet is nice.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2016
Hi Doug, Sorry it didn't work out this year. Hey we added a blender just for your morning smoothies. We hope to see you next year. Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing