We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (970)
Filter reviews
970 results
Traveller rating
739
155
40
20
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
739
155
40
20
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting room murphy bed sister property poolside grill hot air balloons soaking tub wine tasting private patio vineyard views south coast beautiful property pool side room service beautiful room get away temecula wine country huge bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 970 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2018

My husband & I have stayed at this resort while house hunting in Temecula, and had planned to stay in the future; until this trip. When I made our reservation, I was unaware that they offered a Murphy bed room as bungalow. The picture in my reservation confirmation was very misleading; it showed a king size bed with a headboard (as in the picture above). No such luck! We have had to stay on basically a sofabed (very uncomfortable) masquerading as a real bed. 3 nights under these circumstances is 3 nights too many! DO NOT BOOK THIS ROOM! Also, this resort doesn't have dedicated parking. If you arrive late, you will have to do as we did; move your luggage, wine, etc. from parking that isn't adjacent to your room.

As seasoned travelers, my husband and I never expected to be sleeping like college students again. The front desk assured us they would move us on the third night- never heard a word from them. If we weren't house hunting in Temecula, we would have decamped to San Diego. Needless to say, we will be searching for better accommodations in the future. Again, DO NOT BOOK THE SUITE THEY CALL THE M. BUNGALOW. YOU WON'T BE HAPPY UNLESS YOU'RE 20.

Room tip: Don't be fooled by the pictures. Avoid the M. Bungalows!!
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank heidi e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WineResortMarketing, Manager at Carter Estate Winery and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2018

Hi heidi e -
Thank you for your review of Carter Estate Winery and Resort. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your comments. We apologize that you were left feeling disappointed regarding the room type you booked. Our King Murphy beds are unique and offer guests the opportunity to customize the room layout to fit their needs. I regret that we were unable to provide an alternate room type as we were fully committed over the holiday weekend. I can't stress enough how important your feedback truly is as we strive to provide the utmost in quality service and ensuring every experience is a memorable event. Should you give us another opportunity in the future, we would look forward to welcoming you back to Carter Estate Winery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2018

This place is our favorite to stay at when visiting the Temecula Wine Country. Came for a wedding at Peltzer and immediately booked out stay at Carter cause their hospitality is above and beyond and the vineyard facing bungalows are picturesque. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Connector41628171255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WineResortMarketing, Manager at Carter Estate Winery and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2018

Hi Connector41628171255 -
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Carter Estate Winery and Resort. We are so happy to hear you had an amazing getaway and our customer service always goes above and beyond your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back as our guest again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

Had a wonderful time at your resort and looking forward to out next trip. Especially like the location in regards to the balloons which we were able to see form our patio. Service was great and the wine tasting was great as well.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NorthStar61161728924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

We stayed in a two bedroom king bungalow with our daughters. They took care of all the arrangements for our stay. We had a very comfortable room with a king bed, couch, fireplace, table & chairs overlooking the vineyard. The patio was a wonderful place to sit especially in the morning to watch the hot air balloons flying over in the morning. The bathroom was big with a whirlpool tub & a shower stall. Our daughter's room was also nice. Not as big but we spent most of our time in the bigger room. We had breakfast delivered to our room one morning & ate out on the patio & watched the hot air balloons take off in the area across from the vineyard. We really enjoyed our stay & hated to have to leave.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MommamurphyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

We loved the Carter Estate Winery and Resort, and it's great layout. It was perfect for our large wedding group. The staff was great and very personable. The food and drinks were very good too. I would highly recommend it.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vacation11007682792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WineResortMarketing, Manager at Carter Estate Winery and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2018

Hi Vacation11007682792 -
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Carter Estate Winery and Resort. We are so happy to hear you had a great getaway and would highly recommend our resort. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back as our guest again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews