We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in great prices from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
113
34
8
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
113
34
8
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews poker room creek state park family owned lake tahoe knotty pine small kitchenette cold night cozy cabins minute drive coffee maker full kitchen stayed one night queen bed gas fireplace we've stayed nice room grocery store
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2021

I had the pleasure and privilege of staying at Tamarack Lodge for more than 2 years. That in itself is testimony to how great Tamarack Lodge is.
From the moment I arrived, the owners Gerard and Frederique Fenech, went above and beyond to make my stay happy and comfortable. Gerard and Frederique, their children, their labrador Indie and housekeeping manager Anita made me feel so welcome. They were always friendly and accommodating.
The location of Tamarack is fantastic. It is situated in the forest and if you are lucky you get to see beautiful bears. I saw many. The Lodge is within walking distance from Lake Tahoe, very close to town and close to the ski resorts.
I can highly recommend Tamarack Lodge. When I return to Tahoe City I will definitely be staying at Tamarack again as I look forward to creating more beautiful memories at this wonderful Lodge.
Thank you to the Fenech family for a most memorable stay.

Date of stay: March 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank W4011NMsuzanneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2020

Gerard, one of the owners and General Manager lives on site. Thus be assured, when you check in, your needs as a guest will always be a priority. There many styles of accommodations from which to choose; all are immaculately maintained. "Rest Assured" your sleep will not be interrupted by another inconsiderate guest. The Lodge has quite the explicit guest contract which essentially says "hotels are for sleeping." Special parking needs can be accommodated if requested in advance...yes, endless customer service is the hallmark here.

Room tip: Share your needs at reservation time and more than likely you will be accommodated.
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Firehousecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2020 via mobile

My daughter and I had a quick weekend stay here. We stayed in cabin 19. It has a small kitchenette. It’s at the back of the property and quiet. Very clean and Covid conscious. The owner is very nice and accommodating. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Voyager640932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2020 via mobile

Stayed one night based on recommendation from another resort. Stayed in lodge not in one of the many cabins. Large room very clean, nice beds. Owner friendly and helpful with sightseeing recommendations. Very Covid aware and cautious.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Mikefrommentor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2020 via mobile

As my family can attest, I am one of those "been there, done that" people. There is such a lot of beautiful world to experience & explore, & never enough time. But this historic, continually updated, comfortable, clean & friendly inn is an affordable base for all of the joy the Lake Tahoe area offers. So I should keep it a secret. But the amazing heir & innkeeper, along w/his lovely wife & family, deserves to keep on succeeding. Fully equipped, modern kitchens are almost necessary in this time of Covid. Spotless cleanliness even more so. ALL of Tanarack's Lodge rooms & cabins sparkle, down to the windows! Their beautiful bear comforters can only be,washed so many times, so have been removed for now. But even the blankets are washed after every guests' stay. (You bundle linens, blankets & towels separately in large canvas bags when leaving.) Gourmet coffee & teas provided. You can read @ the history of this property on Trip Advisor & their web site. Gerard's history is in my review of Oct., 2018. (Just as interesting.) Tamarack Lodge is the essence of the whole Tahoe loop, & just 1 mile S. of Tahoe City -- the center of accessibility to all of its beauty. With Goldilocks bed (not too hard, not too soft), a great rain shower w/plenty of hot water, & a programmable thermostat (quiet heater).
Do not expect AC! You are in the forest, at 6000' + altitude!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank callucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews