We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sleep at difficult time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We had problems in finding any place to sleep on the way from Nevada and this inn satisfied our needs fully. Friendly staff, good rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziolko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCI95, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Thank you for your review. We're so glad you had a pleasant stay and we look forward to seeing you again next time you pass through.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 166 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2012

Needed an overnight stay while on business. Booked the place with a low expectation and was pleasantly surprised upon arrival Very nice staff, exceptionally clean and comfortable. Easy to find, on the main road on the south end of town. Was even more thrilled to find indoor corridors -- as I drove through town, I didn't see a single other hotel with indoor corridors.

Will definitely, be my "go to" place in Susanville for any return trips.

Room Tip: pool is front and center, Rooms on the second floor and facing the back are probably the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Practicaltraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCI95, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thank you for your wonderful reveiw. We're glad you found our place so enjoyable. We look forward to having you stay with us next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The High Country Inn is generally the best place to stay in Susanville. The rooms are cleaned failry well, although not always perfectly. The rooms are large and in good condition. Matresses are good. Breakfast is ok. A lot of prisoner's families come to town and even though this is about the most expensive place to stay, they stay here too so you do have some of the low class and rude people making noise, but no worse than most motels. There is plenty of room in the parking lot. Properties under the same ownership, The River Inn and Super 8, have small parking lots that can be too full when the motels are full. The Inn is slightly further off the road than some in town so road noise isn't quite as bad, but Super 8 is better situated in that regard.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westerntravelwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCI95, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback. We hope you choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Upon arriving, we were instructed to enter a rear door. After 4 different sets of keys, we could never get the rear door to open. Since my wife is disabled, this was a big problem. There aren't any elevators and once we got inside, our keys wouldn't open the room door, either. The room we got was certainly spacious, but the appointments have seen better days. The refrigerator and microwave were stacked and looked like an afterthought. Wallpaper was peeling off the bathroom walls. The highly touted restaurant associated wasn't there any longer. It had been replaced by a Pizza Restaurant. Breakfast was standard; nothing special. Next time we head up this way, I think we'll stay in Reno and just drive a bit more.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimbo316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCI95, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

William Ellena, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review

April 24, 2012

We're sorry that you found our facility so disappointing. I can imagine how frustrating it was to have several sets of keys not work for you. Around the time of your stay we were experiencing some trouble with our keycard system but I'm glad to report that the issues with the system have been resolved.

Thank you for your feedback and we'll do everything we can to make necessary changes, repairs and upgrades to make our guest's stay more comfortable.

We seek to provide our guests with a wonderful experience and we hope you'll choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stopped here for 1 night on a road trip to Nevada. The staff was friendly, the room was very clean and the bed was super comfortable. Looking at the other hotels to choose from in this town, I would guess that is probably the nicest. We were within walking distance of the store and some restaurants. Our room was on the 2nd floor and even though there were families with small children around, we enjoyed a quiet's night sleep. The hotel seemed quite stuffy and humid in mid-October, but the a/c worked great in our room so it was fine.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Susanville hotels
0.6 km away
Best Western Trailside Inn
Best Western Trailside Inn
#4 of 8 in Susanville
465 reviews
3.4 km away
Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel
1.7 km away
River Inn
River Inn
#6 of 8 in Susanville
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Super 8 Susanville
Super 8 Susanville
#2 of 8 in Susanville
465 reviews
2.9 km away
Roseberry House Bed & Breakfast
1.9 km away
Diamond View Motel
Diamond View Motel
#7 of 8 in Susanville
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville

Address: 3015 Riverside Dr, Susanville, CA 96130-4569 (Formerly High Country Inn)
Region: United States > California > Susanville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
Price Range: $119 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Susanville
Country Inn Susanville
Susanville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing