We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best, but good customer service”
Review of Hotel V

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel V
Yellowknife
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not the best, but good customer service”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The room was OK (dated, rusty shower fixtures, cracked toilet), and we had a couple other screw-ups. However, after talking to customer service after our stay they did a great job of addressing our concerns. It is really handy to be a couple of minutes from the car rental return parkade if your flight is early, so location does count.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with us. Our staff is always willing to help in any possible way to make the guest’s experience, an incredible one. We are looking into remodeling and renovating our rooms as well for the comfort of our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    171
    125
    57
    62
See reviews for
152
145
75
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

You get what you pay for...an inexpensive stay and cheap parking at $5 day. If you plan on flying out early and you are on a tight budget then stay here. The rooms are decorated ok but not great and the ambient noise of traffic is not enough to keep you from sleeping. You do have to leave your car keys with the clerk at hotel if you plan on leaving your car parked for an extended period. I left my car for a week and had no problems at all. This place is near the airport and there is a shuttle but you have to make sure you are on the schedule to be picked up (communicate with the hotel clerk). We had our shuttle scheduled at 4 am but we did not get picked up unitl 4:30 am due to shuttle running behind. Don't expect a luxurious stay at this place but a clean and comfortable stay. One tip on early shuttle pickups is that the lobby is locked at 4 am and you have to wait outside or in your car for shuttle. I noticed other nearby hotels that had 24 hour lobbies but not this hotel. Something to keep in mind as it was raining and cold while we waited for shuttle.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davisito45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Thank you for your stay with us! We are so happy to know that you enjoyed our clean and neat rooms. Thanks again for your comments as your feedback matters to us. We hope to have you stay with us again on your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
green valley az
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Hotel is located in a seedy part of San Francisco. Room was very noisy, lots of riff raff staying at this hotel. Their sign read FREE DELUXE BREAKFAST.......that was a total joke. They were out of coffee and you had to stand at front desk and hope that someone would come out and fill the pots. Same thing happened with the orange juice the next morning. There were two tables in lobby for breakfast.....one was next to waste basket and you were practically sitting on top of it. I would never ever recommend This location to anyone, not even my worse enemy! Bad!

Room Tip: Don't think there is a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t7er5ri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment. We are deeply sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our breakfast; we have everything freshly made and warm, with various options to choose from. We will definitely make sure to have other coffee jars filled so that we do not have the issue of running out of coffee again and making anyone wait for it. Thanks again for sharing your review, as it is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

If you need a place to stay before flying out of SFO, this hotel is cheap, clean, 2 miles from the airport, has a free shuttle, and you can leave your car for very cheap ($5/day when I was there, free while you stay there). Steak house next door, not a great breakfast for me and no decaf except in the room. Even though you are by the freeway, I had the fan on and didnt hear anything or adjoining room noise.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our staff always makes sure to have the rooms nice and clean for each guest. We thank you once again for taking the time to post your comment; we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to sunny San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posen
Level Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I spent 3 nights in this hotel during my road trip through the USA. The location is bed and I had some problems with people at the fron desk. I have no idea why, but I had to pay $30 more at arrival even I prepaid for the hotel. On the other hand, breakfast was ok and the room was clean. I lost my plastic card to open the doors, but they replaced it quickly.
Rooms were clean. Overall, just an average, nothing special, but the location was bad for me.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pawel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Thank you very much for your review on our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our staff will always provide exceptional customer service, and we’re glad you got to experience that. We will look into the $30 fee you were charged, the matter has been forwarded to our Reservations Department for further review.

Thanks again for your comment and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to USA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South San Francisco hotels
0.6 km away
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airp...
#3 of 29 in South San Francisco
1,919 reviews
0.1 km away
Four Points By Sheraton San Francisco Airport
Four Points By Sheraton San Fran...
#14 of 29 in South San Francisco
146 reviews
1.1 km away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites...
#4 of 29 in South San Francisco
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Ramada Limited San Francisco Airport North
Ramada Limited San Francisco Air...
#6 of 29 in South San Francisco
913 reviews
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport
Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl...
#17 of 29 in South San Francisco
661 reviews
1.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 29 in South San Francisco
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V

Property: Hotel V
Address: 222 S Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080-6701
Region: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in South San Francisco
Price range (per night): $171 - $274
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel V 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V is brought you by Lifestyle Hotels, and offers an elegant retreat in a classic San Francisco Boutique environment. Blending world class hospitality with an inviting atmosphere, we promise you'll be pleased with your stay. Our newly renovated 53-room hotel was designed to cater to business and leisure travelers alike by providing a complimentary 24 hour airport shuttle, in-room coffee, microwave and refrigerator, and complimentary Wifi through out the hotel.Great location and phenomenal service! Close to Downtown, Golden Gate Park, the Convention Center, Fisherman's Wharf, shopping, Alcatraz, and the San Francisco Airport. - Visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Hotel South San Francisco
Howard Johnson Hotel Express
South San Francisco Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson South San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing