We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing new under new ownership ”
Review of Michael's on Main

Michael's on Main
Reserve with OpenTable
Michael's on Main is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 36 Restaurants in Soquel
Price range: USD 30 - USD 30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Bay Ave
Description: Nestled along Soquel Creek, our historic property has a creek-side outdoor patio, and our Fireside Dining Room features floor-to-ceiling windows with a wonderful view of the creek. Our menu is based on a simple philosophy. We have americana cuisine. If it has ever washed up on America's shores, you just might find it on our menu! We always have a daily fresh local seafood catch; we also have pasta specialties, steaks, chicken adn vegetarian creations, vegetaria
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

Nothing has changed since new Michael took over from old Michael. I've been hoping for an update to the restaurant whether it be a remodel or dramatically improved menu or something nice happening in the bar. But so far, more of the same. Maybe even less so.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank soquelanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2017

This is a large space, fortunately broken up into several cozier spaces. It is pleasantly decorated, and the service was attentive when we were there. The menu is interesting throughout, but we were attracted by the appetizers, and almost made a meal of them. The chicken wings and wontons were superb, and the seared tuna was a very generous helping of delicious, high quality fish. The salmon entre was excellent. Throughout, flavor were original, complex, and subtle.

Date of visit: February 2017
2  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

We have been wanting to try Michaels on Main ever since Michael and Colleen Harrison took over. It fell on Valentines night that we were able to do so. Not an easy night to judge a restaurant. We fell in love. The creekside setting even after the storms was picturesque. The service was fantastic. Michael recommended a wine that was stellar. The menu was prix fixed with a trio of appetizers and desserts. Quite impressive for the price. I enjoyed the seafood pasta and my husband the steak. I expected something simple like fettuccine with fish. What I got was striped ravioli that had been handmade on site. Can't wait to return and bring friends!

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JeriLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017

Barb and I have enjoyed Michael's on Main for many years. And it keeps getting better. Michael and Colleen Harrison, the new owners, have made a very good restaurant an excellent one.

Our favorites? Pistachio Crusted Salmon, baked and drizzled with mint vinaigrette over wild mushroom risotto (me) and Towering Pork Osso Buco – Slow simmered in red wine tomato citrus and served over orange-scented soft polenta (Barb).

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

For the last several years, Michael's on Main with Michael Clark, chef, was already a favorite due to the amazing streamside location on the Soquel River and the good points of the dining. But another Michael, Michael Harrison, has recently taken over as owner (from December 20th 2016), and it is even better now! We happened to attend on New Year's Eve when they offered a limited menu of starters, entrees, and desserts, but our selections were all excellent in quality, and the price was lower than expected for holiday elegant dining, We would have preferred no live music from the bar, and had to wait almost a half hour to be seated, but once we were seated, everything was great. We'll be back!

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michael's on Main also viewed

 

Been to Michael's on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing