We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two hotels in one” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonora Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sonora Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Two hotels in one”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

I just spent two restful nights at the Days Inn in Sonora. As many have described, the hotel consists of two separate and very different sections. The main hotel is an old, historic building, which includes all of the general amenities (pool, breakfast, etc), while the other section (which I’ll call the “annex”) is a generic motel, virtually indistinct from any other aged bargain motel. It is a separate building across the street from the main hotel, and it only shares a name with the main hotel. Everything else is different. The main hotel is old and charming (quirky?), while the annex is nondescript.

The annex is a two story, L shaped building, so that every room has a nice view of the parking lot. Being on motorcycles, this was a good thing, to be able to keep an eye on them. The room had two queen beds, firm mattress, and a variety of pillow size/firmness (a nice touch). The room had a neutral smell (a pleasant surprise, since it looked like it could have smelled bad), all the lights worked, and was functional. The air conditioner was a blast from the past – the type you haven’t seen since visiting your grandmother’s house when you were a kid. It sits on what perhaps used to be a window, or just a hole in the back wall, and eventually it cools the room down, though it takes a while and is quite noisy. The path of the cold air, though, did travel right across where your head is while sleeping, which was a bit bothersome. The extra pillows made a nice vertical wall to block the cold air overnight.

In my room, the TV was downright lousy, barely watchable. I don’t know if that’s the exception or the rule.

The bathroom was pretty tight quarters. The shower is a small stall, and I think some larger people may have a hard time in there. The showerhead was very low. I’m 5’10” and the water stream hit me in the chest. I had to duck to get my head in the water.

The location of the hotel is its best attribute. It is in the heart of the old, historic downtown, which is cool. You can leave your car (or motorcycle) and explore it on foot. That counts for a lot.

The room was clean enough. There was nothing that stood out as gross, but it’s obvious that it gets lightly cleaned between use, and not a thorough cleaning you might associate with a $120 night hotel.

Overall, the Annex to the Days Inn was an acceptable stay. If it were not in a gorgeous touristy area, it would be price gouging to pay the kind of money for such a generic, nondescript, older place. Put the Annex anywhere in a non-tourist area and it is a $50/night hotel, at most. But, it is in a nice area, it affords you easy access to an enjoyable part of town, and there are no major faults with it. If you do go there, check your expectations, and you should be fine.

Again, this is only for the Annex. I did not stay in the main building, and because it is so different, you can’t use this description in deciding to stay in that building.

Room Tip: Study the reviews closely, as the hotel is comprised of two very different buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bay_Area_Maximo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    65
    59
    30
    32
See reviews for
47
76
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
libertinejvb
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

I couldn't recommend staying here. The room was very old, the bed small and the accommodations sparse. They have the beautiful bones of an old hotel but have done very little to maintain or improve the rooms for guests. While the bed was comfortable enough and the sheets and room clean, it has zero ambiance or comfort to its furnishings. The bedroom seemed cramped. The shower had to run for at least five minutes before it began to get warm.

I will say that the staff were friendly and helpful. But that was the only pleasant part of our stay. It was acceptable for the last-minute booking we needed, but my husband and I were generally disappointed and certainly wouldn't choose to stay there again.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel if you want a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank libertinejvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Beach, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

I've stayed here many times, and choose to do so due to location, but I have to say, I will really re-think it next time. The main hotel, old building, is in big need of updating. The carpet is very worn, the fixtures, the some of the bathroom fixtures. The place was fairly clean, but just everything felt old. The bed was not bad. The continental breakfast was one of the worst I've seen, and I'm not picky or expect much from a free breakfast. The staff took care of us as they had accidentally 'cancelled' our reservation and they put us up in anice room, they are well trained and friendly. So all in all...just barely 2 stars from me!

Room Tip: In the newer rooms, across the back street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gogoteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel_Eyez247, Front Office Manager at Sonora Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Thank you for taking them time to write a review about your stay with us. I am sorry that you did not have a good experience with our Historic building. I would like to let you know that we have just finished remodeling our Historic building with new carpets, new furniture, new televisions, new paint and new beds. There has been a tremendous change within our Historic building, There will be new pictures for you to view, I am currently working on them and they will be posted within the week. I do hope that you decide to give our Historic building one more chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silicon Valley, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

The Days Inn Sonora is a bit run-down, but it is clean and adequate as long as your expectations are modest. The location is great - right on the local main drag with the restaurants and tourist shops. The staff is friendly, efficient, and competent. The price was reasonable. The facilities desperately need a remodel, but they keep it tidy. They do have a roof-top pool that looked cool from a distance, but we didn't get a chance to look it over. The mattress was too hard for my taste. Our room (in the back section) had a microwave and small refrigerator. All in all, adequate, if humble.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinFieldGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
843 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

The main building of the hotel is in a historic building. There is a second wing in the back of the hotel that just looks super ugly and run down. Stayed in the main building. Good points include the fact that the hotel is centrally located, its characteristics are unique and historic, like an old fashioned elevator, there is a continental breakfast near the lobby, and the hotel has a small pool. The cost was very reasonable for our stay. Problems with the hotel: our room was not cleaned very thoroughly. It had a funny smell to it too. This was the only factor leading to a low rating. Besides that, the hotel is just old and cheap. Other guest rooms had some problems you would expect at an older hotel, AC (window units) not working, hot water not working. Furniture is run down. Wifi does not work throughout the hotel. Shower is weak. Bathroom amenities are fine and the size of our room was very large, but some others were smaller. Breakfast was cold cereal, instant oatmeal, toast, muffins, toaster waffles, danish, and some fresh fruit. Juice and coffee. Sonora is a nice little town to stay in if you are visiting the area. It is a cute town with some interesting shops, and a really good restaurant and wine bar (Diaomdback Grill). There is a nice coffee shop (Sonora Joe's) two door down the street from this hotel. There is some great nature nearby, including Yosemite about an hour or two away depending on where you are visiting. The road to Yosemite and nearby are in mountainous areas, and are curvy. If you are not used to driving on these types of roads, I would avoid coming into town at night when it is dark out.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hitcher84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora
0.2 km away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
4.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
0.4 km away
INNS of California-Sonora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Aladdin Motor Inn
Aladdin Motor Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
4.8 km away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
5.0 km away
Jamestown Hotel
Jamestown Hotel
#1 of 5 in Jamestown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonora Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonora Inn

Property: Sonora Inn
Address: 160 South Washington Street, Sonora, CA 95370 (Formerly Days Inn Sonora)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Price range (per night): $125 - $227
Hotel Class:2 star — Sonora Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonora Inn was built in 1896 and originally named the Hotel Victoria. The Inn has played host to notables and celebrities including Grace Kelly during the filming of High Noon and more recently Drew Barrymore while she worked on the film Bad Girls. The hotels architecture and finishes reflect the popular California Mission style of the 1920's that hosted Hollywoods elite during the golden era of tourism and film making. Centrally located in historic downtown Sonora, and with exceptional views from the roof top swimming pool, the historic California hotel is the perfect place for travelers with an interest in the historic Gold Rush and Yosemite National Park. There are countless adventures to be found in nearby historic towns, year round recreation attractions. Unique shops, local theater, boutique, wineries and both fine & casual dining. The Historic Sonora Inn towers 3 stories.The Historic Inn has recently been remodeled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC and Agoda so you can book your Sonora Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Sonora Hotel Sonora
Sonora Days Inn
Sonora Inn California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing